LibGuides: Mechanical Engineering: Articles / Databases

Key Mechanical & Manufacturing Databases

You may also wish to consult the more general databases list.

Here is a list of science and engineering journal abbreviations

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Engineering Village provides a searchable index of engineering literature and patent information. This database abstracts the wide range of all engineering disciplines covering journal articles and conference proceedings. The database includes Compendex Web which covers engineering literature from 1884 to the present and the INSPEC Archive which includes older electrical and computer engineering, computer science and physics literature.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Scopus Search Help
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.

Google Scholar
Peer-reviewed papers, theses, books and articles from academic publishers, societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Other Databases

The following databases are full-text journal collections from specific publishers.

ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage: University of Manitoba Libraries access does not include ASME Standards.

The ASME Digital Collection (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) provides access to many of ASME's publications from a single interface: journals, conference proceedings, and eBooks. Users can search across multiple publication types at once, refine searches by topic, citation, etc., or choose from ASME's Topic Collections. Content is peer-reviewed and covers all engineering disciplines, with archival content back to the 1950s for select titles.
IEEE Xplore: IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
Please Note: IET Electronic Library (IEL) is now available under IET Journals.

The IEEE provides access to the full text of ejournals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and technical standards of: the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers). Subject areas include electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, bioengineering, and communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.
Materials Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window
The Materials Science Collection includes full text journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as: high performance polymers; molecular modeling characterization and evaluation of polymers, polymeric drugs and drug design; polymeric functionalization ; natural polymer modification; enzyme modeling by polymers; membranes for biological use ; liposome stabilization and cell modeling.
SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
SAE Mobilus includes access to SAE technical papers, SAE Journals from 2008, Edge Research Papers, SAE current standards and specs and SAE magazines.