The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
A literature review summarizes and analyzes available research on a specific topic. By identifying and analyzing current research, the writer can identify themes, gaps and/or inconsistencies to demonstrate where future research is needed. Results can be demonstrated either chronologically, thematically or conceptually (Cronin, Ryan, & Coughlan, 2008).
Cronin, P., Ryan, F., & Coughlan, M. (2008). Undertaking a literature review: a step-by-step approach. British Journal of Nursing 17(1), 38-43. DOI: 10.12968/bjon.2008.17.1.28059.
This page is based on the How to Write a Literature Review Guide.
1. Formulate your research question
2. Search the literature
3a. Read the selected resources.
3b. Analyzing the selected resources.
4. Write
5. Citing your references properly
For more help, see the How to Write a Literature Review Guide
Steps adapted from Cronin, P., Ryan, F., & Coughlan, M. (2008). Undertaking a literature review: a step-by-step approach. British Journal of Nursing 17(1), 38-43. DOI: 10.12968/bjon.2008.17.1.28059.
Cronin, P., Ryan, F., & Coughlan, M. (2008). Undertaking a literature review: a step-by-step approach [Review]. Br J Nurs, 17(1), 38-43. https://doi.org/10.12968/bjon.2008.17.1.28059
Wakefield, A. (2015, Mar 18). Synthesising the literature as part of a literature review. Nurs Stand, 29(29), 44-51. https://doi.org/10.7748/ns.29.29.44.e8957
Lingard, L. (2018, Feb). Writing an effective literature review : Part I: Mapping the gap. Perspect Med Educ, 7(1), 47-49. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40037-017-0401-x
Lingard, L. (2018, Apr). Writing an effective literature review : Part II: Citation technique. Perspect Med Educ, 7(2), 133-135. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40037-018-0407-z
Baker, J. D. (2016, Mar). The Purpose, Process, and Methods of Writing a Literature Review. Aorn j, 103(3), 265-269. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.aorn.2016.01.016
Leite, D. F. B., Padilha, M. A. S., & Cecatti, J. G. (2019). Approaching literature review for academic purposes: The Literature Review Checklist. Clinics (Sao Paulo), 74, e1403. https://doi.org/10.6061/clinics/2019/e1403
Randolph, J. (2009). A Guide to Writing the Dissertation Literature Review Practical Assessment, Research, and Evaluation, 14(13). https://doi.org/ https://doi.org/10.7275/b0az-8t74
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy the Matrix Method by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix Method, Fifth Edition describes the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. The goal of this text is to serve as a resource for students who need a practical, step-by-step set of instructions for how to organize, conduct, and write a synthesis of literature on a topic of their choice.Key Features: Includes author hints for conducting a reviewCaroline's Quest details the process for conducting a reviewMethod Maps provide a visual approach for conducting a methodological reviewData Visualization reviews the history of data visualization to communicate scientific findings Features websites and e-tutorials for citing reference materials
The Literature Review by
This new edition of the best-selling book offers graduate students in education and the social sciences a road map to developing and writing an effective literature review for a research project, thesis, or dissertation. Organized around a proven six-step model and incorporating technology into all of the steps, the book provides examples, strategies, and exercises that take students step by step through the entire process: Selecting a topic Searching the literature Developing arguments Surveying the literature Critiquing the literature Writing the literature review The second edition includes key vocabulary words, technology advice, and additional tips on when and how to write during the early stages--including the use of journals and memoranda--to make the literature review process a success.
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Whether you are new to literature reviews or working with new types of data, this book takes the guesswork out of writing your literature review. From deciding how much literature to include to managing your data, assessing your sources, and writing results, it outlines a step-by-step process that works with any data. To help you choose best approach for your research, this book includes: · Worksheets and decision aids to help you plan and organise your literature review · Worked examples and case studies to show you what - and what not - to do in practice · Troubleshooting tips and answers to all your frequently asked questions · Online access to a literature review starter template, an exercise workbook, project diary template, and a source credibility checklist. The perfect project support for any social sciences student, this edition also includes a new chapter on analysing mixed methods research.
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by
The Third Edition of Conducting Literature Reviews: From the Internet to Paper provides readers with an accessible but in-depth look at how to synthesize research literature. Bestselling author Arlene Fink shows researchers how to justify the need for and significance of research, and explain a studyâe(tm)s findings. Key Updates to the Third Edition Presents nearly a hundred new online examples and references from the social, behavioral, and health sciences Offers a revised and updated list of online articles databases Includes case studies in the use of major online databases Expands the exercises at the end of the chapter to include more online searching Clarifies some of the basic concepts of research that are essential in making judgments about the quality of research methods Incorporates more examples and clearer explanations of the differences between research design validity (internal and external) and measurement validity Introduces the major formal systems for evaluating the literatureâe(tm)s methodological quality Provides more qualitative research examples and information on how to evaluate their quality Illustrates in greater detail how to write up reviews and how others have done it Contains nearly 100 Power Point Slides linked to each of the five chapters available at www.sagepub.com/fink3einstr qualified instructors who adopt the book The text also discusses the use of Boolean operators for simple and advanced searches, tells readers how to use bibliographic software to organize literature reviews and search "The Virtual File Cabinet.âe Intended Audience This text is for graduate students in the social science, health, educational, and business fields. It is also appropriate for anyone who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and/or prepare strategic plans and grant proposals.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by 