Physician Assistants

Below are a list of the most popular apps available through the Library via our subscriptions to online resources. Instructions for adding each installing each app are provided.  Also please note that the main University of Manitoba Libraries website is mobile friendly. You may bookmark it or add to your IOS homescreen by going to http://umanitoba.ca/libraries/

To find a convenient list of other free and paid apps recommended by the health sciences librarians and healthcare providers, visit the Mobile Toolkit

Type of App: Point of Care
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students; WRHA staff; Manitoba RHA staff
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

Clinical reference resource designed to provide quick access to synthesized medical information. Mobile app is available to UM faculty, staff and students; WRHA staff; Manitoba RHA. Installation instructions:

Type of App: Drug
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices
 

Full-text collection of 15 clinical drug information databases, and over 1600 drug monographs. Includes an excellent tool for checking drug interactions.  A limited number of accounts are available through Library's subscription (these are offered on a first come first served basis). 

Type of App: Drug
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Using the Apple App Store or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

CPS is Canada's authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care, providing health care professionals with online and mobile access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug and therapeutic information. Installation instructions:

1. Get the UML Organization Code
2. Go to: Register for CPS Mobile and click Not yet registered (link).
3. Register using the Organization Code and either a umanitoba.ca or myumanitoba.ca email address.
4. Once your password has been set, visit the "profile" icon located at the top right of the page and select Profile from the dropdown menu.
5. Scroll down to the Set Mobile Enterprise Code section. Enter the organization code and set a CPS password. Click on Next (button).
6. Once your registration is complete, go to the Apple App Store or Google Play from your device and search for CPS by CPhA
7. Once installed, enter your email address and the password created during registration to activate the app

Type of App: Point of Care
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Using the Apple App Store or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

60+ medical titles including Harrison's Online, Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst's The Heart, Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, and the Lange educational library series.  Installation instructions:

1. Go the UM Libraries A to Z Database Listing
2. Click one of the links to either AccessMedicine or AccessEmergencyMedicine or AccessPharmacy.
3. You may be asked to authenticate with your UMNetID and password (UM email login).
4. Click on My Profile (see upper right-hand side of screen).
5. Click on Sign In or Create a Free Access Profile (you are creating a free Access profile).
6. Follow the instructions on screen to create your Access userid and password.  If you are prompted to add an email address use your UM email.  You may also need to confirm your account via email. 
7. Once you have created a free account, download and install the Access app (from one of the supported app stores) onto your device.
   1. iOS
   2. Android
8. After you have installed the app, open it on your device.  You will be prompted to sign in.  
9. Sign in using the userid and password you created in step 6.  You should now have access for the next 90 days. This will give you access to all the content in the three Access products we have.

To renew your Access app (every 90 days):

1. Go to one of our Access products (AccessEmergencyMedicine, AccessMedicine or AccessPharmacy) through the UM Libraries website (on a web browser).  
2. This may require you to authenticate yourself with your UMNetID and password as in step 3 (see above).
3. And then sign into My Profile using the Access userid and password you created in step 6 (see above).  This will then renew you for another 90 days.

Type of App: Drug
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Mobile friendly website which is optimized to smart phones. Installation instructions:

More than 30 references that are central to pharmacy education including the complete current edition of the most comprehensive text on pharmacotherapy available today, DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach

1. Go the UM Libraries A to Z Database Listing
2. Look for the link to Access Pharmacy in A Section
3. Bookmark the URL to this mobile friendly website
4. Alternatively, for iPhones add to your homescreen by tapping on the Sharing Icon and then Add to Home Screen.
   

Name: ClinicalKey
Type of App: Point of Care
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

More than 1000 medical textbooks in all specialties, access to full-text journal articles, procedures videos, practice guidelines and more.

Note: if you already have an account with Mendeley, Scopus, ScienceDirect or SciiVal, you already have an Elsevier account that can be used for CliinicalKey. Skip the registration information below, login and start at step 3 below.

Installation instructions:

1. Go the www.clinicalkey.com
2. Look for Register link in the upper right corner. Register for an account. Be sure to use your umanitoba.ca or myumanitoba.ca email account during registration.
3. Once you have registered, click on Remote Access in upper right corner drop down menu
4. Enter your umanitoba.ca or myumanitoba.ca email address
5. Visit iTunes or Google Play to download the app.
6. Select ‘Global’ from the Choose Edition Screen
7. Select ‘Clinical Key’ from the Choose Role Screen
8. Once installed enter the login and password you created on Clinical Key to activate the app.

Type of App: Keeping Current
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students

Access: Using iTunes or Google Play for various smart phones and mobile devices

Browse your favorite journals in your medical specialty or, monitor a topic (keywords) of interest appearing in top journals.  The app enables you to use your institutional login (UMNet ID and Password) to access fulltext of journal articles easily. The app has social integrations, a commenting section, and other features — letting you know the key articles your colleagues are reading.

1. Go to the iTunes store and download the Read by QxMD app OR Google Play and download the Read by QxMD app.
2. Once installed on your phone or tablet, click Get Started and add your Profession, Specialty and Location. 
3. Create your feed: add topics you would like to follow, by keyword, collection or journal.
4. Create an account with your email.
5. Add library information to get access to PDFs from our collection; top right hand menu, called Institutional Access. Add University of Manitoba, then your UMNetID and password.
6. View PDFs of articles from within the app or email to yourself for later.

Type of App: Keeping Current
Cost: Free
Availability: UM Faculty, Staff, and Students
Access: Using iTunes or Google Play

Use BrowZine to easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from the University of Manitoba, or through Open Access publishers, covering all disciplines. Installation instructions:

1. Go to the iTunes store and download the BrowZine app OR Google Play and download the BrowZine app.
2. Once installed on your iPhone or iPad, choose University of Manitoba as your Library
3. Enter your UMNetID and Password
4. Select Biomedical and Health Sciences to view available journals by medical discipline or specialty
5. Add journals of interest available from the UM Libraries to your Bookshelf
6. Link to fulltext of articles from each issue