Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse the Shelf
S 590-599.9 Soils
TA 703-712 Engineering geology
TA 715-787 Earthwork Foundations
GIS/Spatial Data - A guide to some of the mapping resources available through the University of Manitoba Libraries.
Winnipeg Historical Maps - This Flickr collection includes maps covering Winnipeg transportation, growth and boundaries, zoning and planning, and geological engineering.
For more information please contact:
GIS Environmental Studies Librarian Elizabeth Dafoe Library 204-474-7134 email@example.com
American Geophysical Union (AGU)
Over 50 years of Earth and space sciences research from AGU’s preeminent books. Access to research from 1956 through 2008 with a new year added every year provides a rich historical foundation for current work across the Geosciences. The University of Manitoba does not have access to Current Releases.
The CAB Abstracts database covers the subject of agriculture. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, animal science, agricultural economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, soil science and veterinary medicine.
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
The Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management database is a collection of subfiles that index journal articles, conference papers, reports, books, and government publications in the field of environmental sciences. Subject areas covered are toxicology, pollution, environmental engineering, water resources, microbiology, and bacteriology.
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 60,000 references a year. GeoRef contains over 1.8 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Web of Science (all databases)
Web of Science is a a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.
BIOSIS Citation Index (2010-present)
BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)
Current Contents Connect (1998-present)
Data Citation Index (1900-present)
Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)
Russian Science Citation Index (2005-present)
SciELO Citation Index (1997-present)
Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)
Zoological Record (1864-present)
Canadian Soil Information Service
The Canadian Soil Information Service (CanSIS) manages and provides access to soil and land resource information on behalf of the federal, provincial, and territorial governments.
Web Soil Survey
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soi