LibGuides: Soil/Waterways/Flood Plains: Soils

Subject Headings

Soil Mapping

Soil Classification

Soils Manitoba

Soil Erosion Manitoba

Soil Degradation Manitoba

Tip: Use advanced search options to combine a subject and keyword search.

Browse the Shelf

S 590-599.9 Soils

TA 703-712 Engineering geology

TA 715-787 Earthwork Foundations

Maps, Data, and GIS

GIS & Geovisualization - A guide to some of the mapping resources available through the University of Manitoba Libraries.

Data Visualization - a guide for data visualization support.

GISHub Access

Sign-in to ArcGIS Online

Access Libraries GIS data

Winnipeg Historical Maps - This Flickr collection includes maps covering Winnipeg transportation, growth and boundaries, zoning and planning, and geological engineering.

Workshops

Data Visualization Workshops on GitHub.

For more information please contact:
Meg Miller
GIS & Data Visualization Librarian Elizabeth Dafoe Library Meg.Miller@umanitoba.ca

Books

Geological Engineering Maps & Reports for Urban Development of Winnipeg
Call Number: RES TA 705.4 C32 W5

Finding Articles

American Geophysical Union (AGU)
Over 50 years of Earth and space sciences research from AGU’s preeminent books. Access to research from 1956 through 2008 with a new year added every year provides a rich historical foundation for current work across the Geosciences. The University of Manitoba does not have access to Current Releases.
CAB Abstracts
The CAB Abstracts database covers the subject of agriculture. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, animal science, agricultural economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, soil science and veterinary medicine.
GeoRef
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 60,000 references a year. GeoRef contains over 1.8 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.

Components include:
- BIOSIS Citation Index (2010-present)
- BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)
- Current Contents Connect (1998-present)
- Data Citation Index (1900-present)
- Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
- KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)
- MEDLINE® (1950-present)
- Preprint Citation Index (1991-present)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index (1637-present)
- SciELO Citation Index (1997-present)
- Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)
- Zoological Record (1864-present)
Web of Science Search Help

Websites

Canadian Soil Information Service
The Canadian Soil Information Service (CanSIS) manages and provides access to soil and land resource information on behalf of the federal, provincial, and territorial governments.
Manitoba Agriculture
Web Soil Survey
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soi

Soil/Waterways/Flood Plains: Soils