LibGuides: Graduate Student Resources: Citation Searching

Which One Do You Use?

These are the strengths of each resource:

Web of Science

- sciences, social sciences, humanities and arts coverage

- older publications

- conference proceedings

Scopus

- interface design/search features

- recent content (1996-)

- the sciences

- conference proceedings

Google Scholar

- number of articles found

- international/multilingual coverage

- coverage of citatiions in books and other non-journal sources

Cited Reference Searching

Cited reference searching is complementary to subject (keyword) searching.

If you have a journal article that is relevent to your research, finding articles that have cited it is easily carried out with the databases below.

These are the primary citation resources, although some subject specific databases such as SciFinder Scholar (chemistry) have links to citing articles.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to current and retrospective information from approximately 8,700 international journals. A unique feature of Web of Science is the ability to find articles that cite a previously published work. Web of Science includes an expanded version of Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database.
Scopus is integrated with, and can simultaneously search Scirus which covers science-related Web pages and institutional repositories. Scopus is able to track cited references: you can use it to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.

Tutorials

Web of Science Cited Reference Search Tutorial

Choose Web of Science Core Collection for cited reference searching.

Databases within Web of Science Core Collection include:

Web of Science (includes Social Science and Arts & Humanities Citation Index)
Book Citation Index
Conference Proceedings Citation Index
Current Chemical Reactions
Emerging Sources Citation Index
Index Chemicus

Scopus Tutorial s