LibGuides: Design & Ecology: Articles

Online Journal Articles

The titles below are online journals (note the coverage period, as you may have to use some earlier issues in print):
Architect
ARQ
De arquitectura
Dwell
Grey Room
Houses
Journal of Architecture
Livraisons d'histoire de l'architecture
Residential Design & Build
Space and Culture

EBSCOhost Full Text This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Please Note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage for more information.

SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of SAGE journals, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.

Architecture/Landscape Architecture/Urban Planning

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database. It includes numerous full-text periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a number of journals and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in searchable PDF format.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Please Note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage for more information.

SAGE Journals Online provides online access to the full text of SAGE journals, spanning the humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.

Sustainable Resources/Environmental Science/Geography

BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
With BIOSIS Citation Index you get a comprehensive view of life sciences research, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new Biosis Citation Index combines the unique Biosis content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing only the Web of Knowledge platform can provide.

Web of Science Search Help
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 8

The CAB Abstracts database covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense.
It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, animal science, agricultural economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, soil science and veterinary medicine.
CAB Abstracts Search Help
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly.

Components include:
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
- Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)
- Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)
- Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)
- Index Chemicus (1993-present)
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)
Web of Science Search Help
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Scopus Search Help
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Established by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive database in the geosciences and continues to grow by tens of thousands of references a year and includes references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

Construction & Materials

Construction Journal 1907-1934

Compendex Web This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts the wide range of all engineering disciplines covering journal articles and conference proceedings with over 2,600 sources world-wide, adding 220,000 annually. The database covers from 1884 to the present and is updated weekly. The Web-based search interface is easy to learn, with access by keyword, author, title words, subject headings, author affiliation, and/or journal title. One can limit by year, discipline or type of document.

Newspapers

Globe and Mail: Canada's heritage from 1844 This link opens in a new window
Coverage: most recent 3 years not included; Sunday issues not included. To access Sunday content, search by article title at the Globe & Mail website

Canada's Heritage From 1844 contains over 150 years of content from Canada's national daily newspaper, including every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice, and more.
Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.