Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Healthcare Apps Toolkit: PubMed

The best free or nearly free apps for healthcare including point of care, drug, medical calculators, healthcare specialities, keeping current (browsing tables of content of journals or monitoring RSS feeds), for patients, and for productivity.

PubMed Apps

The most heavily used and popular database for finding articles in the health sciences.  There are a number of apps available for using the database on mobile devices.  No one is perfect so you might want to try them to see which works best for you.

PubMed for Handhelds via the U.S. National Library of Medicine

PubMed for handhelds logoType of App: PubMed
Cost: Free
Availability: Anyone
Access: Using iTunes

PubMed for Handhelds (PubMed4Hh) is an app for discovering relevant health information at the National Library of Medicine. Includes the following elements.  Linking to online journals holdings of the UM Libraries is not possible with this app.

  • PICO (Patient, Intervention, Comparison, Outcome): search with a well-formulated clinical query
  • askMEDLINE: a free-text, natural language search tool
  • Consensus Abstracts: Search using PICO or askMEDLINE then select concurring abstracts from journals. View selected TBLs and Abstracts in one page.
  • CQs: Use Clinical Queries to search journal articles. Indicate Category (therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis, clinical predictions guideline) and Emphasis (specific, sensitive) to focus search strategy.

PubMed on Tap

PubMed on Tap logoType of App: PubMed
Cost: Free for limited version.  $2.99 for full version allowing access to UM Libraries journal holdings
Availability: Anyone
Access: Using iTunes

PubMed On Tap searches PubMed to find and display reference information. Store references (with pdfs) in your personal and searchable library. Free version of the app that lets you search for articles in PubMed.  Permits limiting to free articles.  For those affiliated with UM or WRHA, the paid version permits integration  with the UM’s electronic  journal holdings to provide access to full text.

Add the  following to “Settings-> Library Proxy”: http://proxy1.lib.umanitoba.ca/login?url=%@ to access full-text of UM Libraries online journal holdings

UnBound Medline

Type of App: PubMed
Cost: Free
Availability: Anyone
Access: Using iTunes