LibGuides: Nurse Practitioner Toolkit: After Graduation

Free Databases

If you're employed in Manitoba...

Winnipeg Regional Health Authority (WRHA)

If you are employed by the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority (WRHA) you may be entitled to access the WRHA Virtual Library. The WRHA VL licenses a number of resources for WRHA staff to access remotely.

Manitoba's Rural Health Regions

If you are employed by one of the health regions outside of Winnipeg or the city of Brandon, you maybe able to access Library Services and resources through the MHIKNET Library Service. This service will provide you with Literature Searches and Document Delivery to your desktop in addition to many other services. There is no remote access to electronic databases and journals for clients of this service.

MHIKNET Library Service

Manitoba License to UpToDate

Manitoba Health pays for a provincial license to UpToDate for healthcare providers and students at Manitoba Health, Seniors and Active Living, the University of Manitoba, the Regional Health Authorities of Manitoba, CancerCare Manitoba, Diagnostic Services of Manitoba, and Doctors Manitoba.

UpToDate - FAQ and Access

If you're employed outside Manitoba...

If you are emplyed outside of Manitoba, check with your employer to find out what library services you are entitled to. Lisenced Health Professionals working in Saskatchewan have access to electronic library resources through SHIRP. You may also have access to resources through your professional association.

Canadian Sources for Clinical Practice Guidelines

Accelerating Change Transformation Team
Practice guidelines produced in alignment with Alberta's Primary Health Care Strategy
BC Guidelines
BC Guidelines are clinical practice guidelines and protocols that provide recommendations to B.C. practitioners on delivering high quality, appropriate care to patients with specific clinical conditions or diseases
Canadian Cardiovascular Society
Guidelines and position statement library. Can filter documents by year, type, or topic
Canadian Diabetes Association
Clinical practice guidelines for prevention and management of diabetes
Canadian Family Practice Guidelines
Canadian Guidelines on Sexually Transmitted Infections
From the Public Health Agency of Canada
Canadian Hypertension Education Program (CHEP)
Guidelines for diagnosis & assessment and prevention & treatment. Also includes helpful resources and tools
more...less...
A mobile app of the guidelines is available on Android and Apple
Canadian Immunization Guide
From the Public Health Agency of Canada. Provides the most up-to-date information about vaccinations in Canada
Canadian Paediatric Society
Canadian Paediatric Society position statements and practice points have clinical guidance and policy recommendations for paediatricians, family physicians, nurses, government officials and others. They also include links to other relevant documents and resources, including information for parents
Canadian Respiratory Guidelines
Provided by the Canadian Thoracic Society
more...less...
Note: As of August 2017, the Canadian Respiratory Guidelines website was under construction. Use contact information provided on site to request copies of guidelines
Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care
The Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care (CTFPHC) appraises guidelines produced by other organizations as a complement to the production of CTFPHC clinical practice guidelines. The focus of the critical appraisal is on the quality of the methods used, with a commentary section that outlines some points for primary care practitioners to consider should they choose to implement the recommendations
Canadian Urological Association Guidelines
Read the CUA statements and check box to gain access to guidelines
Cancer Care Manitoba
This site includes cancer management guidelines & clinical regimen reference orders.
Choosing Wisely
See the Nurse Practitioner section.
Clinical Practice Guidelines for Nurses in Primary Care
The Clinical Practice Guidelines have been prepared by Health Canada's First Nations and Inuit Health Branch (FNIHB) for use by community health nurses employed by Health Canada providing primary care in isolated, semi-isolated, and remote First Nations communities
OneHealth National Web Portal: Clinical Practice Guidelines
Nurses working in Indigenous communities can request access to this online collection of practice guidelines.
Osteoporosis Canada
Website contains links to the 2010 Clinical Guidelines for Diagnosis and Management of Osteoporosis in Canada as well as other resources such as the FRAX
Professional Boundaries and the Nurse-Client Relationship: Guidelines for Nurses
From the College of Registered Nurses of Nova Scotia
Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario
There are currently 50 published guidelines as well as a toolkit and educator's resource to support implementation
Rourke Baby Record
Evidence-based health supervision guide for primary healthcare practitioners of children in the first five years of life
SOGC Guidelines - Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Canada
You need to be signed into your library account to access Full-Text. To access Full-Text, click Full-Text HTML or PDF link and scroll to bottom of new page. Select Institutional Access Visit ScienceDirect and follow the links to get the Full-Text article.
Trans Primary Care
Rainbow Health Ontario's website provides guidelines on planning for and managing patients who wish to start hormone therapy. Additional resources are also available on the site.
TREKK (Translating Emergency Knowledge for Kids)

Credit

Many of the links above are gathered from a list of PG lists and descriptions by Kevin Read, Health Sciences Librarian at the University of Saskatchewan (used with permission).