Organic Chemistry: Starting Sources for Physical Property Data

Please Note: Users are advised to clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource, until further notice.

This handbook is a classic reference source for chemistry. It includes a wide array of data for chemistry and includes physical property information for inorganic and organic compounds. The data is also critically reviewed.

The Merck Index is an authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. The index also includes information on over 500 named organic reactions.

Please Note: Users are advised to clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource, until further notice.

This carefully edited database contains physical properties for more than 300,000 organic compounds. This database is included in the Combined Chemical Dictionary as well. You can use this dictionary if you only need to search for information on organic compounds.

Please Note: Users are advised to clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource, until further notice.

The Combined Chemical Dictionary includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds including analytical reagents, carbohydrates, inorganic and organometallic compounds, natural products, organic compounds and natural products.
The Combined Chemical Dictionary is a part of the CHEMnetBASE service and contains all those records published in:
•Dictionary of Organic Compounds
•Dictionary of Natural Products
•Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
•Dictionary of Drugs
•Dictionary of Analytical Reagents

ChemSpider is a free database that includes chemical data from a variety of open databases, private individuals and chemical supplier catalogues. It includes predicted and experimental values. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Since the data is not reviewed before it is added to the database there is the possibility of errors in the information. Registered users with curation rights can review and remove erroneous data or mark it for master curation. Users can also post comments on a record – a Master curator will then review these comments and try to resolve any issues raised.

The NIST Chemistry Web Book contains property data on a large number of organic compounds and a few common inorganics. This resource is maintained by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

PubChem is an open chemistry database that focuses on providing biological activity information of chemical substances. Data is collected from various authoritative sources and then compiled into the Compound database. PubChem also includes laboratory chemical safety data.

This database includes close to 500,000 chemical substances of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes. Compounds are selected from the CAS Registry database (included in SciFinder). The database is provided by CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society.

Please Note: Users are advised to clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource, until further notice.

Properties of Organic Compounds contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.

SDBS is a free site organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan.

The NIST Chemistry Web Book contains property data on a large number of organic compounds and a few common inorganics. This resource is maintained by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

ChemSpider is a free database that includes chemical data from a variety of open databases, private individuals and chemical supplier catalogues. It includes predicted and experimental values. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Since the data is not reviewed before it is added to the database there is the possibility of errors in the information. Registered users with curation rights can review and remove erroneous data or mark it for master curation. Users can also post comments on a record – a Master curator will then review these comments and try to resolve any issues raised.