The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
To locate journal articles by author, title or subject search a database like SciFinder, Web of Science, PubMed, Scopus, or the Libraries' search box. When searching these databases you should see a Check Library Access button which will link to the full-text of the electronic journal article if it is available at the University of Manitoba Libraries. To access these databases go the the Articles/Databases tab on the Chemistry subject guide.
To link to full-text journal articles in SciFinder-n click on the Full Text button. You will also need to enable pop-ups in your browser in order for this feature to work.
Locating Journal Articles Based on Citations
When you already have a journal citation, follow the instructions listed below.
Remember that the purpose of a citation is to provide you with the information you need to find a resource. You will typically see citations in a references section, literature cited section, bibliography, or on a course syllabus. The below shows a sample citation and names the different parts based upon a specific material type, such as journal article.
Important Note: Different citation styles arrange the parts differently and may include or drop certain parts. Refer to a specific citation style when you need to create a citation. Chemistry citations often do not have an article title included in the reference.
There are many ways to search for a journal article. One option is to use the Search Citation form.
Information below shows how to locate this citation: Ackermann, L. et.al. (2010). Org. Lett., 12, 1004-1007.
1. Enter the journal abbreviation into CASSI to determine the full name of the journal. (http://cassi.cas.org)
If option 1 does not get the journal article for you contact the chemistry librarian for help.
Some reference books like the Combined Chemical Dictionary or the Dictionary of Organic Compounds have some non-standard journal abbreviations. Listed below are the abbreviations along with the full journal name for some of the titles.
| Abbreviation | Full Name |
|---|---|
| Acta Cryst. | Acta Crystallographica |
| Annalen | Justus Liebigs Annalen der Chemie |
| Chem. Comm. | Journal of the Chemical Society. Chemical Communications |
| J.A.C.S. | Journal of the American Chemical Society |
| J.C.S. | Journal of the Chemical Society |
| J. Het. Chem. | Journal of Heterocyclic Chemistry |
| J.O.C. | Journal of Organic Chemistry |
| Tet. Lett. | Tetrahedron Letters |
2. Click on the Advanced Search button below the Find Materials search box on the UM Libraries' homepage.
3. Click on Search Citation near the top right-hand corner. On mobile phones or smaller screens click on the ... to see the Search Citation option.
4. Make sure that Article is selected. Fill in the information that you have about the journal article in the starred fields only. Include the full journal name and then click on Submit. Note: If you have either a DOI or a PMID for the journal article, you can just fill in the DOI or PMID field and leave the rest of the form blank.
5. Click on the link beside the Full text available note. You will need to login with your UMNetID and password the full-text of a journal article if you have not done so already. Sometimes you will need to search or browse through the e-journal website to locate the specific article.
Sometimes the link to the full-text journal article takes you to the main page of the website but not to the article. If you do not see the article you are looking for on the journal webpage, you will need to locate the specific year, volume and page number to get to the actual article.
If the journal citation includes an article title, you can search the article title in the Library Search box.