The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Inventory prepared by Vladimira Zvonik
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2008)
Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2008)
Finding aid written in English.
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Collection
Detailed Description of the Collection
Biographical information, 1969-2005
Environment - Energy Resources - Technologies, 1989-2005
Environment - Hydropower, 2000-2004
Environment - Oil and Gas, 1983-2004
East Side Lake Winnipeg Broad Area Planning Initiative, 2002-2004
Edward Richard Schreyer, a former Governor General of Canada and Premier of Manitoba was born on December 21, 1935 at Beausejour, Manitoba. He received his B. Ped in 1959, BA in 1960, B. Ed in 1962, and MA in 1963. Ed Schreyer was the youngest MLA elected to the Manitoba Legislature at the age of 22. He represented the constituency of Brokenhead and held that position until 1965. In 1965 he ran for the Federal election as the NDP Member of Parliament for Springfield (1965) and Selkirk (1968). In June 1969, he was elected Leader of Manitoba NDP and the youngest Premier of Manitoba (1969-1977) at the age of 33. During his terms as Premier, he also served as Minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro (1971-1977). As Minister of Hydro Manitoba, he was involved in numerous crucial decisions regarding environment assessment and analysis, energy management, and emissions control.
In 1979 at the age of 43, Schreyer became the first Manitoban to be appointed as Governor General. As Governor General he traveled to over 30 aboriginal committees of the Arctic and made state visits to countries as Germany, Greece, Japan, Sweden, etc. He was also appointed High Commissioner to Australia, Papua New Guinea, and Solomon Islands. Diplomatic Foreign Service provided him with international experience and gave him understanding of global resources and trade patterns.
He had returned to Canada in 1989 and taught classes on the Energy Resources and Global Economy at the Canadian ad European Universities: the University of Winnipeg - Energy and Resource Geography of the USSR (1989-1990); the Simon Fraser - Canadian Resources and Public Administration (1991); the University of Victoria - Energy and Resource Economics (1992-94); the University of British Columbia - Canadian Energy Resources in Global Context (1995); the University College of Cape Breton - Society & the Environment; the University of Kiel, Germany - Resource Management & Canadian Federalism(1997); the University of Trier, Germany - Energy & Strategic Resources in Global Context (1998); the University of Marburg, Germany - Problems of International Resource Management (1999); and the University of Dresden - Canadian Resources Geography (2000). He became Chancellor of Brandon University in 2002.
Ed Schreyer's past experiences deriving from both the North America and European sources gives his broad insight into issues dealing with the energy resource consumption and environmental impact. He holds Honorary Degrees from the University of Manitoba, McGill University and Simon Fraser University in Ottawa. Ed Schreyer is a recipient of the Canadian Public Service Award, Ottawa (2001) and the Golden Jubilee Medal (2002). He is also Companion of the Order of Canada (1984). In the past decade he has served as a chairman or a director of several charities and institutions: the Canadian Shield Foundation; the Habitat for Humanity Canada; the International Institute of Sustainable Development; the Winnipeg Library Foundation; St. Boniface General Hospital; and many more. He returned to politics in 2005. He is still frequently asked to be a guest speaker at the public fundraising events.
Scope and Contents of the Collection
The accession contains Ed Schreyer's biographical info; speeches; research material and conferences re: environmental issues, energy resources and new technologies; East Side Lake Winnipeg Broad Area Planning Initiative papers; and various newspaper and internet articles re: environmental issues and energy management.
This collection is arranged into ten series:
One folder is marked confidential.
One folder is marked confidential.
The fonds was donated by Mr. Schreyer to the University of Manitoba in 2006.
MSS 145, PC 153, TC 99 (A1989-46, A1992-52, A2003-63)
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Ed Schreyer's biographical information written by Ed Schreyer, 2001 |
| 2 | Ed Schreyer recipient of the Canadian Public Service Award, Ottawa, 2001 | |
| 3 |
The Golden Jubilee Medal presented to Ed Schreyer and Lily Schreyer, 2002 (photocopy) |
|
| 4 | Various newspaper articles about Ed Schreyer, 1969-2004 | |
| 5 | Announcements, Invitations, Political Events, 2001-2005 | |
| 6 | Brandon University - Installation of the Rt. Honourable Edward R. Schreyer as Chancellor, October 19, 2002 | |
| 7 | Brandon University - Convocations, 2004-2005 | |
| 8 | Habitat for Humanity, Ottawa - Ed Schreyer Work Projects, 1999- | |
| 9 | Photographs |
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 10 | Presentations, Speeches, 1998-2002 |
| 11 | The Development of Manitoba's Political Landscape by Ed Schreyer 2004 | |
| 12 | Clean Environment Commission Presentation, April 8, 2004 | |
| 13 | Energy Resources their Use and Misuse in North America - 2004 Eaton Lecture presented by Ed Schreyer, May 7, 2004 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 2 | 1 | Canadian Petroleum Association Confidential Letter to the Premier Ed Schreyer, October 15, 1974 |
| 2 | Correspondence 1972-1987 | |
| 3 | Correspondence, 1997-1999 | |
| 4 | Correspondence, 2000 | |
| 5 | Correspondence, 2001 | |
| 6 | Correspondence, 2002 | |
| 7 | Correspondence, 2002-2003 | |
| 8 | Correspondence, 2003 | |
| 9 | Calendars, Itineraries, 2002-2004 | |
| 10 | Correspondence, 2004 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 1 |
Correspondence - Energy Resources, 2002-2004 (includes articles) |
| 2 | Calendars, Itineraries, 2005 | |
| 3 | Correspondence, 2005-2006 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 3 | 4 | Environment Act Proposal - Westlake Regional Water Supply System, 1989-2005 |
| 5 | The World Bank IUCN Workshop - Large Dams - Papers tabled at the workshop, April 10-11, 1997 | |
| 6 |
Information about dams, energy and water resources, 1999 (WCD in the Media) |
|
| 7 | WCD Work Programme |
| Box | Folder | |
| 4 | 1 | International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD), 2002-2003 |
| 2 | IISD - Correspondence, Minutes, Reports, 2003 | |
| 3 | IISD Board Meeting, June 2003 | |
| 4 | IISD Board Meetings, Annual Report, 2003-2004 | |
| 5 | IISD Strategic Plan 2005-2010, June 10-11, 2004 | |
| 6 | IISD Minutes, 2005 | |
| 7 | 30th Anniversary of Western Economic Opportunities Conference 1973, 2003 | |
| 8 |
International Energy Agency - 24th Annual Workshop, September 7-10, 2003 Collaborative Project on Enhanced Oil Recovery |
|
| 9 | Epcor Studies by K. Taft, Parkland Institute, the University of Alberta, 1998-1999 | |
| 10 | Full Cost of Thermal Power Production in Eastern Canada by H.D. Venema and S. Barg, July 2003 | |
| 11 | Better Way to Get from here to there (hydrogen economy) by D. Morris, 2003 | |
| 12 | Solar Energy by J.R. Bolton, University of Western Ontario, 1974 | |
| 13 | Future of Energy - Simmons & Company International, April 22, 2004 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 1 | Energy Forum - Hyforum 2004 - Clean Energy for 21st Century, May 25-28, 2004 |
| 2 | Conference Board of Canada: North American Power Markets, Toronto, January 28, 2004 | |
| 3 |
24th Annual North American Conference USAEE/IAEE, July 8-10, 2004 Energy, Environment and Economics in New Era |
|
| 4 | U.S. Department of Energy's Aquatic Species Program: Biodiesel from Algae, 1980-1996 | |
| 5 | North America the Energy Picture - the North Enerty Working Group, June 2002 | |
| 6 |
Natural Gas Technologies II: Perspectives on Natural Gas Supply by D. Hughs, 2003 (Geological Survey of Canada) |
|
| 7 | Energy Disclosed: Abundant Resources and Unused Technology, the University of Missouri-Columbia, 2004 | |
| 8 | Ideas and Projects, 2000-2002 | |
| 9 | Articles - Energy Resources and Technologies, 2004 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 5 | 10-11 | Hydropower and the Environment International energy Agency - Technical Report, 2000 |
| 12 | United Nations Environment Programme, 2003 | |
| 13 | Articles - Hydropower, 2004 | |
| 14 | Articles - Hydride Batteries and Electric Vehicles, 2003-2004 | |
| 15 | Battery Technology - tables, 2000 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 6 | 1-2 | Assiniboine South-Hespeler Area Study, 1987 |
| 3 | International Institute for Sustainable Development - Annual Report, 2003-2004 | |
| 4 | Acid Rain, SOE Bulletin no.99-3, Fall 1999 | |
| 5 | Norway Review, 2003 | |
| 6 | "Efficiency Manitoba", 2003 | |
| 7 | Emissions Trading in Manitoba - Task Force Report, January 2004 | |
| 8 | International Development Research Centre - Altered States: Globalization, Sovereignty, and Governance, 2000 | |
| 9 | Eating Fossil Fuels by D.A. Pfeiffer, 2003 | |
| 10 | Red River Basin Commission - 22nd Annual Conference, January 12-14, 2005 | |
| 11 |
Manitoba Council for International Cooperation (MCIC), December 1998 Manitoba Leading the Way Presentation to the Manitoba Government |
|
| 12 | Institute of Urban Studies - Conference Proceedings, University of Manitoba, 1998 | |
| 13 |
Climate Change, Kyoto, Japan, December 1997 Deadline for the World's Environment (ERT) |
|
| 14 | Sierra Club of Canada, 2003 | |
| 14 | Articles - Global Environment, 2001-2002 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 1 | Natural Gas Supply to Vancouver Island - Technical Report, 1983 |
| 2 | Second International Workshop on Oil and Gas Depletion (ASPO), 2003 | |
| 3 | Oil and Gas Industry - Simmons & Company International, 2004 | |
| 4 | Implementation of the Techthol/Iotech Process at Mohawk Oil's Minnedosa Ethanol Distillery - Final Report, August 1, 1986 | |
| 5-6 | Oil and Gas - ASPO Newsletter, no.29 -30, 2003 | |
| 7-8 | Articles, 2003-2004 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 8 | 1 | Briefing Book, 2002-2003 |
| 2 | Map Index, 2003 | |
| 3 |
Final Changes to Recommendations & Chapter 7.0, 2004 (includes correpondence) |
| Box | Folder | |
| 8 | 4 | Erebus, Terror - Canada's Historic Arctic Shipwrecks, 1993 |
| 5 | J. Douglas Crane - Family History, 1998 | |
| 6 | 2002 Beaubien Award - Arthur L. Charbonneau, P. Eng. | |
| 7 |
Vancouver Port Authority, 1990-2004 (confidential) |
|
| 8 | Sierra Club of Canada - 2004 Federal Election | |
| 9 | Canadian Shield Foundation, 1997-2000 | |
| 10 | St. Boniface General Hospital - Board of Directors Meeting, 2003 | |
| 11 | 389 Main Street Heritage Corporation, 2003 | |
| 12 | Airships to the Arctic Symposium II, October 21-23, 2003 | |
| 13 | Habitat for Humanity Canada, Discussion Paper, October 2003 | |
| 14 | Articles, 2000-2002 | |
| 15 | Articles, 2005 |
| Box | |
| 9 |
By the Banks of the Brokenhead by Karmel Schreyer and John James Schreyer, Chameleon Press, 2004; Rural Life: Portraits of the Prairie Town, 194 6 by P. James Giffen, University of Manitoba Press, 2004; Interreligious and International Peace Council: Inaugural Meeting, October 1-4, 2003 , New York. |