Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

William H. McEwen fonds: Finding Aid (MSS SC 178 (A.03-54))

William H. McEwen fonds

An Inventory of his papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. G. Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(December 2003)

Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (December 2003)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - Mss Sc 178 A.03-54 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
 
Creator:
William H. McEwen
 
Title:
William H. McEwen
 
Dates:
1931-1985
 
Quantity:
12.5 cm of textual records
 
Identification:
Mss Sc 178 A 03-54
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Biography of William H. McEwen

William Harvard McEwen was born on February 7, 1902 in Owen Sound, Ontario. He received a BSc from the University of Saskatchewan in 1921 and obtained an MSc the following year. He furthered his education by receiving an M.A. in 1924 and PHD in 1930 from the University of Minnesota.

He taught at Regina College from 1925-1929. In 1930 he joined Mount Allison University as an assistant professor of mathematics, by 1933 he was a full professor and head of the department. He came to the University of Manitoba in the fall of 1946 as head of Mathematics Department. In 1949 he was named the Dean of Graduate Studies a position he held until 1964. Upon his retirement, Dr. McEwen was made a professor emeritus in 1967.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds contains articles, speeches and course notes.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Restrictions on Master of Science oral exam analysis

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds was donated by Dorothy Paul, the niece of W.H. McEwen in 2003.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

 

William H. McEwen 1931-1985
 
Box Folder  
1 1 Articles 1931-1953
  2 Speeches 1946-1953
  3 Dunham Jackson 1888-1946 A Biographical Memoir by William Hart, Jackson was McEwen's advisor at the University of Minnesota 1959
  4 Course notes [1950]
  5 CMSc. oral analysis exam by Eric Mendelsohn 1966
  6 Article about the name McEwen in the Capri Free Press Laguna Beach, California 1984
  7 Correspondence with his brother 1985

Return to Top