The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Inventory prepared by Margaret Stobie
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1968)
Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2005)
Finding aid written in English.
Dr. Margaret (Peg) Roseborough was born in Vermillion, Alberta on February 26th, 1909. She received a B.A. from the University of Alberta in 1930. Margaret was awarded an IODE Overseas Fellowship and did an Honours Degree in English at King's College University of London in 1932. She returned to Canada completing an M.A. in 1934, and a Ph.D. in 1937, at the University of Toronto. The following year she published An Outline of Middle English Grammar with MacMillan's, and taught at Victoria College. In 1938, she married William Stobie. The couple moved to DePauw University in Indiana in 1938. From there, they moved to Missouri where Margaret returned to teaching at Christian College a Women's Institution. William and Margaret Stobie taught at Cornell University for two years from 1944-1946 before joining the English department at the University of Manitoba. Margaret was forced to retire from teaching with the inception of the nepotism law in 1950. She spent the next several years acting, producing and directing local theatre as well as working for the CBC in various dramatic roles and as a book reviewer on Critically Speaking. In 1958 she took an appointment at United College, but resigned in protest over the dismissal of Harry Crowe at the end of the year. In 1959 she was hired by St. John's College. From 1962-1965 she was on the executive of the College's Chapter of CAUT. In 1966 she attained the rank of full professor. Two years later she became a member of Senate and in 1971 she was appointed to the Research Grants Committee and Research Board. Margaret was the first women appointed to the academic panel of the Canada Council and was a board member of the Associations of Universities and Colleges of Canada. She wrote two more books, A Critical Study of Frederick Philip Grove Twayne Publisher (1973), and The Other Side of the Rebellion (1986) . She was appointed to Professor Emeritus in 1975. Margaret Stobie died July 15, 1990. The University of Manitoba holds a lecture in Dr. Stobie's memory.
Scope and Contents of the Papers
The tape collection consists of a description of the original project for linguistic study of the Scotch-Cree dialect called Bungi ; transcriptions of all tapes as made by the Indian History Film Project, and the spectrograms and analysis of Margaret Stobie's dialectal study.
This collection is organized into two series
Without restriction by the Indian History Film project for research purposes in the development of a film series depicting the history of Canada from the Indian point of view. It may be used by the public and for research and educational purposes subject to the following restrictions:
1. Copyright remains with Prof. Stobie and/or the University of Manitoba.
2. No duplication of tapes without permission of Prof. Stobie and/or the University of Manitoba.
3. No publication without permission of Prof. Stobie and/or the University of Manitoba.
4. When quoting please credit the "Margaret Stobie Collection, Department of Archives and Special Collections, University of Manitoba".
5. Any and all royalty agreements to be negotiated with the University of Manitoba.
Other accruals include Margaret Stobie's interview tapes regarding Frederick Philip Grove Tc 2 (A.82-42) and Mss 13, Pc 109 - the textual records and photographs for Stobie's Grove research. Mss 159, the Stobie family fonds, (A.98-51) pertains to Margaret Stobie's research with the Bunji dialect (1965-1969), the North Studies Project (1965-1977), the creation of the Manitoba Theatre Centre (1950-1982), and William Stobie's involvement with the University of Manitoba's academic unions (1949-1976). Mss 159, Pc 177 (A.03-92, A.04-94) consists primarily of Margaret Stobie's research and publication drafts, publications, and early photographs of the Stobies. Mss 159, Pc 177, Tc (A08-20) consists primarily of William Stobie's academic writings, personal correspondence, and Margaret Stobie's research and drafts for her books.
The material was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Margaret Stobie in 1978.
Margaret Stobie fonds - Mss 13, Tc 2 (A.82-42), Pc 109
Stobie Family Fonds - Mss 159, Pc 177, Tc 136 (A.98-51, A.03-92, A.04-94, A.08-20)
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 | Background Material and Introductory |
| 2 | Spectographic Speech Patterns | |
| 3 | Transcriptions - Series A (3B; 10A) - B (1A-8B) | |
| 4 | Transcriptions - Series B (9A-16A), 2 unidentified | |
| 5 | Transcriptions of all tapes as made by the Indian History Film Project |