Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Sol Sinclair fonds: MSS 86 (A.89-35)

Sol Sinclair

Sol Sinclair:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Heinz Kattenfeld
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1993)

Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (August 2002)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 86 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Sol Sinclair

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Arrangement of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Other Finding Aids

Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical and Educational Materials 1932-1986

Papers 1947-[1984?]

Radio Talks and Addresses 1939-1976

University Material 1939-1973

Government and Professional Assignments 1941-1978

Outside Lectures1949-1972

Correspondence1937-1975

Agricultural Research Material, Notes & Statistics1939-1965

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg MB R3T 2N2

Creator:
Sol Sinclair

Title:
Sol Sinclair fonds

Dates:
1932-1986

Quantity:
4 m of textual records

Identification:
MSS 86

Language
English.

Return to Top

Biography of Sol Sinclair

CHRONOLOGY OF IMPORTANT DATES

1905 Solomon Sinclair born in Rocanville, Saskatchewan on 14 January

1932 Received B.Sc. from the University of Saskatchewan

1933 Married to Elsie Osten on 5 February

1937 Received M.Sc. from the University of Saskatchewan

1945-1953 Assistant Professor, Associate Professor and Professor, Department of Economics, University of Manitoba

1951 Fellowship, Canadian Social Science Research Council

1953 Ph.D. in Agricultural Economics, University of Minnesota

1953-1966 Professor and Head, Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management, University of Manitoba

1966-1968 Advisor to the Minister of Agriculture, Kenya

1974 Professor Emeritus, Department of Agricultural Economics, University of Manitoba

1976 Honourary degree LL.D. (Doctor of Law), University of Manitoba

1986 Solomon Sinclair Farm Management Institute established

1988 Solomon Sinclair passed away on 2 October at the age of 83

BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCH

Solomon Sinclair was born in Rocanville, Saskatchewan on 14 January 1905. He grew up on a farm at Lipton, Saskatchewan. He received his primary and secondary education at the Herzl School and he obtained a teaching certificate at Regina Normal School in 1922. He taught in a rural school for two years before returning to his home farm and running the operation until 1930. He registered in the Faculty of Agriculture at the University of Manitoba in 1924 and then transferred to the University of Saskatchewan in 1926 after a lapse of one year on the farm. The Great Depression and poor crop conditions prevented Sol Sinclair from attending classes from 1928 to 1930. He returned to the University of Saskatchewan in 1930 and graduated with a BSA in 1932. The following year he married his wife, Ellie Osten.

While pursuing his M.Sc. degree, which he received in 1937, he was employed as a zone farm manager for the Confederation Life Association. From 1940 to 1945 he worked for the Prairie Farm Assistance Act, where he drafted the legislation and regulations and organized the office, field staff and procedures designed to assist farmers.

Sol Sinclair's career at the University of Manitoba began in 1945 as an Assistant Professor of Economics. He taught courses in agricultural economics, developed a research program, and established a major undergraduate and M.Sc. program in Agricultural Economics.

Sol Sinclair obtained a Ph.D. in Agricultural Economics at the University of Minnesota in 1953. In the same year he was appointed Professor and Head of the one-man Department of Agricultural Economics and Farm Management in the Faculty of Agriculture at the University of Manitoba. Under Dr. Sinclair's headship the Department increased to ten full-time academics with supporting staff, and by 1960 it was the first Department in Canada to offer a Ph.D. program in Agricultural Economics. Dr. Sinclair developed the premier department of agricultural economics in Canada.

Dr. Sinclair took a two-year leave to serve as economic advisor to the Minister of Agriculture in Kenya from 1966 to 1968. In 1968 he returned to the University to establish the Natural Resources Institute's (N.R.I.) two year graduate program in resource management. Dr. Sinclair developed the course program, designed the criteria for student admission and evaluation, defined the form and content of the Practicum and created the committee formats for the academic, research and evaluation tasks. He retired from Agricultural Economics in 1973.

In addition to his stellar academic career he has also served on numerous private and government committees and commissions, and he has received many honours and awards. Dr. Sinclair was awarded fellowships from the Canada Council in 1951 and 1961, made Professor Emeritus in 1974 and an honourary Doctor of Law in 1976 at the University of Manitoba. He was also granted the Order of Arctic Adventurers by the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories in 1976. In 1986 the Solomon Sinclair Farm Management Institute was established.

His professional assignments include the following: chairman of the Board of Review for the Prairie Farm Assistance Act from 1955 to 1961; member of the Fisheries Research Board of Canada from 1962 to 1966 and 1972 to 1977; chairman of the advisory committee to the Freshwater Fish Marketing Corporation from 1969 to 1977; and consultant on the UNESCO Panel of Experts on the establishment of the United Nations University from 1972 to 1976. Dr. Sinclair was involved with professional and public service groups too numerous to list here. He also wrote and researched about 140 papers between 1945 and 1975, many of which are included in this collection.

Dr. Sinclair was responsible for the establishment of the Department of Agricultural Economics at the University of Manitoba and its reputation as the best agricultural economics program in Canada. His involvement on several governmental advisory and research boards continued his support of desirable research and economic management programs. Dr. Sinclair made numerous contributions to his Faculty, to his students, to the University, to the community, and to his own profession both nationally and internationally.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

This collection contains most of Sol Sinclair's papers, which were written for public use between 1945 and 1975. Many of his handwritten drafts, notes, research materials and statistical data are also included. The collection's main emphasis is on the papers, essays and articles researched and written by Dr. Sinclair.

Correspondence relating to Dr. Sinclair's professional activities is also included. The majority of the correspondence relates to his duties with the University of Manitoba, other institutions, and government committees.

Dr. Sinclair's role in the development of Agricultural Economics at the University of Manitoba and his contribution to Canadian agriculture and fisheries is well documented in this collection.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 8 series.

  • Biographical and Educational Materials 1932-1986
  • Papers 1947-[1984?]
  • Radio Talks and Addresses 1939-1976
  • University Material 1939-1973
  • Government and Professional Assignments 1941-1978
  • Outside Lectures 1949-1972
  • Correspondence 1937-1975
  • Agricultural Research Material, Notes & Statistics 1939-1965

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged according to three main areas: The University of Manitoba, government committees, and research papers. The main focus of this collection is on the papers and agricultural essays, and the reports to various government bodies.

Sol Sinclair's papers and correspondence have been arranged chronologically in order to follow Dr. Sinclair's development as a major scholar of Agricultural Economics.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

This collection is open to all researchers.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

Researchers must confer with the University Archivist before publishing anything other than fair use excerpts. Users must abide by the laws of copyright as amended by Parliament from time to time.

Return to Top

Custodial History

The collection was donated to the Department of Archives and Special Collections on 15 August 1989. The gift was given by the Department of Agricultural Economics and received was received as A.89-35.

Return to Top

Other Finding Aids

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

     Biographical and Educational Materials 1932-1986

Box Folder  
1 1 Biographical material - includes birth certificate and CV's, 1960-1986
  2 BSA thesis in Farm Management, 1932
  3 Paper - "Canadian Farm Credit", 1937
  4 Thesis Research - includes corresp. and research notes, 1940-52
  5 Term Papers - "General Aspects of an Agricultural Policy for the United States", 1943. "Crop Acreage and yield Estimating, Method and Problems", 1943.
  6 Course notes, Ph.D. exams, Ph.D. program and grade transcript, 1941-43

Return to Top


Papers 1947 - [1984?]
 

Box Folder  
1 7 "Horse Survey", 1947
  8 "Economics of Housing", 1949
  9 "Canadian Agriculture Without British Food Contracts", Contracts", 1950
  10 "Farmers' Responses in Milk Production to Changing Changing Prices", 1950
  11 "Future Markets for Canadian Farm Products", 1950
  12 "Canadian Agricultural Price Policy", 1950
  12 "The Incidence of European Agricultural Policy on Canadian Agriculture", 1950
  13 "Sampling for Agricultural Statistics in Canada", 1951
  14 "The Importance of Barley in the Canadian Economy", 1952
  15 "Some Aspects of Research on Co-operative Organization", 1952
  15 "Labour Use in Crop Production", 1952
  16 "Marketing Board Value Studied by an Economist", 1953
  16 "An Economist Looks at Marketing Boards", 1953
  17 "Statistical Service for the Fisheries of Maritime Provinces", 1953
  18 "Economic Aspects of Vegetable Marketing", 1954
  19 "The State of Agriculture in Western Canada Today", 1954
  20 "Some Aspects of Farm Finance in Manitoba", 1954
  21 "The Role and Function of Farm Organization", 1954
  22 "An Addition to Human Treasures", 1954
  23 "Certain Economic Aspects on the Production and Marketing of Manitoba Fish", 1954
  24 "Government Action for Long Term Credit for Farmers in Western Canada", 1955
  25 "Outlook for Canadian Agriculture", 1955
  26 "Status of Marketing Manitoba Vegetables in the Winnipeg Area", 1955
  27 "Some Observations on Matters of Farm Management in Manitoba", 1955
  28 "Government Action for Long Term Farm Credit in Western Canada", 1955
  29 "Some Basic Thoughts on Crop Insurance", 1955
  30 "Meeting the Challenge of our Times", 1955
Box Folder  
2 1 "Importance of Management to the Modern Farm", 1955
  2 "Marketing Trends as they Affect the Consumer", 1955
  3 "Commentary on W.J. Anderson's "The Effect of Technological Progress on Input-Output Ratios in Agriculture", 1955
  4 "Agricultural Extension and Advisory Services", 1955
  5 "Influence of Technical Change on Agricultural Production", 1955
  6 "Cropping Practices on Some Small Farms in Manitoba", 1955
  7 "Farm Management Extension", 1955
  8 "The Consumers' Stake in Food Marketing", 1955
  9 "Contribution to Managra ", 1955
  10 "Agricultural Credit", 1955
  11 "Farm Practices on Small Farms in Manitoba", 1955
  12 Topics for Discussion by study groups of the Manitoba Women's Institute--What the wife should know about Her husband's business affairs, for better farm and home planning", 1956
  13 "The Farmer as A Businessman", 1956
  14 "Learn to Live on your Income", 1956
  15 "Wheat in International Trade", 1956
  16 "Tobacco Study", 1956
  17 "Some Indications of the Change in the Economics Structure of Canadian Agriculture", 1957
  18 "The Economic Conditions of Agriculture in Manitoba", 1957
  19 "Changing Cost Patterns in Canadian Agriculture", 1957
  20 "Agriculture in the Canadian Economy", 1957
  21 "What About Low Farm Income", 1957
  22 "Here's a Close Look at Farm Income", 1957
  23 "The Role and Function of Consumer Credit", 1957
  24 "What Value is Organization to the Farmers of Manitoba", 1957
  25 "What to Look for in a Farm Account Book", 1958
  26 "Canadian Agriculture in the North American Economy", 1958
  27 "Elements of Land Utilization as they Affect Real Estate Value", 1958
  28 "The Operations of P.L. 480 as Viewed from Canada", 1958
  29 "The Operations of P.L. 480 as Viewed from Canada", 1958
  30 "The New and Theory for Farms", 1958
  31 "National Marketing Policy for Canadian Agriculture", 1958
  32 "Questions and Answers" (Free Press Weekly), 1958
  33 "Changes in the Markets for Food and Their Effect on Farming", 1959
  34 T.V. Program--C.B.C., script and charts, 9 February 1959
  35 "Farm Integration Contracts", 1959
  36 "Agricultural Adjustment Problems", 1959
  37 "How Well off are Western Canadian Farmers", 1959
  38 "General Trends in Farming", 1959
  39 "The Challenge to Co-operatives in Modern Farming", 1959
  40 "Manitoba's Economy, Growth in Agriculture", 1959
  41 "Canadian Agriculture", 1959
  42 "A Framework for Agricultural Economics Research", 1959
Box Folder  
3 1 "Vertical Integration", 1959
  2 "Know Your Business Better", 1959
  3 "Current Challenge to Co-operators", 1959
  4 "Export Prospects for Agricultural Products", 1960
  5 "Impact of Economic Growth on Agriculture", 1960
  6 "Next Decade in Canadian Agriculture", 1960
  7 "Needed Adjustments in Agriculture", 1960
  8 "International Trade Factor in a National Agriculture Marketing Policy", 1960
  9 "Content, Purpose and Method in Farm Organization", 1960
  10 "Canadian Wheat and the Japanese Economy", 1960
  11 "Year End Review", 1960
  12 "The Challenge to the Co-operative Movement from the 12 Economic Point of View", 1960
  13 "The Question of Financing the Farm", 1960
  14 "Farm Production Contracts", 1961
  15 "The Role of Organization in Our Communities", 1961
  16 "The Position of Agriculture in a Growing Economy", 1961
  17 "The Impact of Economic Growth on the Demand for Agricultural Products", 1961
  18 "The Impact of Economic Growth on Farm Organization", 1961
  19 Book Review--"Seeds That Grew"--in the Manitoba Co-operator , 13 July 1961
  20 "Agriculture in the E.E.C.", 1962
  21 "The Common Agricultural Policy of the E.E.C.", 1962
  22 "An Agricultural Policy for Europe", 1962
  23 "Farm Adjustment Processes in Europe", 1962
  24 "The Common Agricultural Policy of the E.E.C.", 1963
  25 "The Challenge of the European Common Market", 1963
  26 "The Common Market Agricultural Policy", 1963
  27 "The Agricultural Policy of the Common Market", 1963
  28 "Some Implications of the Common Market to Canadian Agriculture", 1963
Box Folder  
4 1 "The Outlook for Beef and Pork", 1964
  2 "A Canadian Views the World Grain Export Situation", 1964
  3 "Are Farm Price Supports the Answer?", 1964
  4 "The Old Customers and the New - Will a New Export Pattern for Canadian Wheat Appear?",1964
  5 "Economic Guideposts for Sound Agricultural Policy", 1964
  6 "Canadian Agricultural Policies, Past and Present", 1964
  7 "The Challenge of the Common Agricultural Policy", 1964
  8 "Bigness: Problems and Opportunities", 1964
  9 "Britain's New Cereal Import Policy", 1964
  10 "Recent Changes in Economic Foreign Trade Policies", 1965
  11 "A North American View of the Community Wheat Price", 1965
  12 "Agricultural Development in Kenya", 1968
  13 "Economic Guidelines for Present and Future Resource use in Canadian Agriculture", 1969
  14 "Overcoming World Hunger", 1969
  15 "Environmental Quality Control", 1970
  16 "Agricultural Economics at the University of Manitoba 1980-1984" [1984?]

Return to Top


Radio Talks and Addresses 1939-1976
 

Box Folder  
4 17 Saskatchewan Young Liberal Radio Programs, 11 January 17 1939 - 28 February 1940
  18 Radio programs-- 1946-1964

(includes drafts and 18 correspondence)

  19 Addresses:

- "Credit is your Business", 15 October 1953

- Introduction of Dr. Bartley C. Crum at the Youth Aliyah Dinner, 3 November 1955

- Convocation, University of Manitoba, 20 October 1976

Return to Top


University Material 1939-1973
 

Box Folder  
4 20 Sol Sinclair's notes and outlines, as a student, 1940-41
Lecture Notes:
Box Folder  
4 21 Agricultural Policy, 1943
  22 Corporate Finance, 1943
  23 Marketing, Accounting & Finance Seminar, 1943
  24 Agricultural Economics, 1943
  25 International Commercial Policy, 1943
  26 Advanced General Economics, 1943
Box Folder  
5 1 Economics/Marketing, 1945-45
  2 Farm Management, 1947
  3 Ag. Econ. 511, Land Economics, 1950
  4 Ag. Econ. 501, 1954
  5 Economies of World Agriculture, 1956
  6 Introduction to Ag. Econ., 1958
  7 Economies of World Agriculture, 1960-64
  8 Agricultural Price Policy, 1961
  9 Ag. Econ. 701, 1964-65
Box Folder  
6 1 Agricultural Price Policy, 1969-73
  2 Economies of World Agriculture, 1973
  3 Co-operative Organization, 1973
  4 Co-operative Organization, 1973
  5 Course outlines, 1961-63
  6 Reading lists, 1970
  7 Exams, 1945-72
Correspondence:
Box Folder  
6 8 Lecture date for outside speakers, 1947-49
  9 Letters of recommendation, 1968-71