Skip to main content
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the MĂ©tis Nation. More

Stobie Family fonds: MSS 159, PC 177, TC 136 (A.08-20)

William and Margaret Stobie:

An Inventory of Their Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Robert Ross
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2008)

Finding aid encoded by Robert Ross (February 2009)
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
William and Margaret Stobie
 
Title:
Stobie family fonds
 
Dates:
1898-2005
 
Quantity:
2.3m of textual records, 0.13m of photographic images
 
Language:
English.

Return to Top


Biographical Sketch:

William Stobie was born June 1st, 1911 in London, England. He obtained a B.A. and M.A. from the University of Toronto and briefly did graduate work at the University of Illinois before returning to the University of Toronto to continue course work for a Ph.D. in English. In 1938, William married Margaret Roseborough, also a Ph.D. in English. That year he obtained an appointment to the faculty of DePauw University in Greencastle, Indiana. The couple next moved to Missouri where William taught at the University of Missouri and Margaret taught at the Christian College for women. In 1944 they embarked on a two-year stint at Cornell University. In 1946 both Margaret and William joined the English Department of the University of Manitoba as assistant professors. William's area of expertise was Nineteenth-Century English writers. He participated in a lecture for University on Air in 1947 on the poet Frank Scott. William was the President of the Winnipeg Little Theatre Group in 1955-1958. He was active in the University unions and was President of the staff association of UMSU during the Harry Crowe affair. William sat on several university committees including the University College Building Committee. He attained the rank of Associate Professor and full professor in 1967. He was the director of Summer and Evening session from 1965-1976. William Stobie retired in 1976 after 30 years with the English Department.

Dr. Margaret (Peg) Roseborough was born in Vermillion, Alberta on February 26th, 1909. She received a B.A. from the University of Alberta in 1930. Margaret was awarded an IODE Overseas Fellowship and did an Honours Degree in English at King's College University of London in 1933. She returned to Canada completing an M.A. in 1934, and a Ph.D. in 1937, at the University of Toronto. The following year she published An Outline of Middle English Grammar with MacMillan's, and taught at Victoria College. In 1938, she married William Stobie. The couple moved to DePauw University in Indiana in 1938. From there, they moved to Missouri where Margaret returned to teaching at Christian College a Women's Institution. William and Margaret Stobie taught at Cornell University for two years from 1944-1946 before joining the English department at the University of Manitoba. Margaret was forced to retire from teaching with the inception of the nepotism law in 1950. She spent the next several years acting, producing and directing local theatre as well as working for the CBC in various dramatic roles and as a book reviewer on Critically Speaking. In 1958 she took an appointment at United College, but resigned in protest over the dismissal of Harry Crowe at the end of the year. In 1959 she was hired by St. John's College. From 1962-1965 she was on the executive of the College's Chapter of CAUT. In 1966 she attained the rank of full professor. Two years later she became a member of Senate and in 1971 she was appointed to the Research Grants Committee and Research Board. Margaret was the first women appointed to the academic panel of the Canada Council and was a board member of the Associations of Universities and Colleges of Canada. She wrote two more books, A Critical Study of Frederick Philip Grove Twayne Publisher (1973), and The Other Side of the Rebellion (1986). She was appointed to Professor Emeritus in 1975. Margaret Stobie died July 15, 1990. The University of Manitoba holds a lecture in Dr. Stobie's memory.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

This accession consists primarily of William Stobie's academic papers and biographical materials, Margaret Stobie's manuscripts, and personal photographs of William Stobie’s early years. The accession consists of a manuscript and photographic collection. The Manuscript collection is divided into eleven series consisting of Biographical Materials, Correspondence, Academic Writing/Manuscripts - Margaret Stobie, Miscellaneous Writing - William Stobie, Academic Writing - William Stobie, Class Notes - William Stobie, Lecture Notes - William Stobie, Academic Reference Materials, Research Notes - Margaret Stobie, Publications, Oversized Materials, and Photograph & Tape Collections. The photographic collection consists of 206 photographs, and 77 photo negatives. The tape collection consists of one tape.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into 12 Series.

  • Biographical Materials
  • Correspondence
  • Academic Writing/Manuscripts - Margaret Stobie
  • Miscellaneous Writing - William Stobie
  • Academic Writing - William Stobie
  • Class Notes - William Stobie
  • Lecture Notes - William Stobie
  • Academic Reference Materials
  • Research Notes - Margaret Stobie
  • Publications
  • Oversized Materials
  • Photograph & Tape Collections

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

Some folders have been deemed confidential.

Return to Top


Related Papers

Other accruals include Margaret Stobie's Bunji Language interview tapes and transcripts Tc 24 (A.80-17), Stobie's interview tapes regarding Frederick Philip Grove Tc 2 (A.82-42) and Mss 13, Pc 109 - the textual records and photographs for Stobie's Grove research. Mss 159 (A.98-51) pertains to Margaret Stobie's research with the Bunji dialect (1965-1969), the North Studies Project (1965-1977), the creation of the Manitoba Theatre Centre (1950-1982), and William Stobie's involvement with the University of Manitoba's academic unions (1949-1976). Mss 159, Pc 177 (A.03-92, A.04-94) consists primarily of Margaret Stobie's research and publication drafts, publications, and early photographs of the Stobies.

Return to Top


Other Finding Aids

Margaret Stobie fonds - Mss 13, TC 2 (A.82-42), TC 24 (A.80-17), PC 109

Stobie Family fonds - Mss 159 (A.98-51), Mss 159, Pc 177 (A.03-92, A.04-94).

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

Biographical Materials 1898-2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
1 1 The Ledger of Charles Stobie 1898-99
  2 Wooden Plaque made by W. Stobie 1924
  3 Diary of W. Stobie 1924
  4 School Certificate & Awards List of City of Westmount Public Schools 1925
  5 Academic Transcripts of W. Stobie from City of Westmount High Scool 1926-27
  6 Westmount High School Annual 1926
  7 Westmount High School Annual 1927
  8 Westmount High School Annual 1929
  9 Notebook from Runnymede Collegiate 1928-30
  10 Issues of "The Horizon," W. Stobie Editor & Author 1928-30
  11 Draft of an editorial for "The Horizon" 1928-29
  12 Petition, Runnymede Collegiate Institute 1928-30
  13 High School Medals & Life Saving Penant of W. Stobie 1928-1932
  14 University of Toronto Faculty of Arts Class & Prize Lists 1931-34
  15 William Stobie's Academic Transcripts & Master's Thesis Abstract, U of T 1932-36
  16 American Legal Documents 1936-40
  17 University of Illinois Transcripts 1937
  18 Cornell University Course Calendar & Faculty List 1946-47
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
2 1 Notebook 1948-1960
  2 Day Planners/Diaries 1957-1976
  3 Passports, Licences, etc. 1960-1995
  4 Address Book 1979-1994
  5 Account of Charge & Discharge of Intromissions of the Executor of A. N. Stobie Estate 1980
  6 Real Estate Documents for 824 Dorchester Avenue 1985
  7C William Stobie's Will & Assets 1990
  8 Tenancy Agreement for 8C 221 Wellington Crescent 1990
  9C Last Will & Testament of William Stobie 1993
  10 Victoria Hospital Discharge Slips, St. Boniface Hospital Documents 2001, 2007
  11 Edited Copy of Stobie Family Fonds Finding Aid, U of M, with corrections by W. Stobie 2003
  12 Documents relating to Roseborough Family 1909-1966
  13 Article about Margaret Stobie 1944
  14 ACTRA Documents 1963-1986
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
3 1 List of Articles & Radio Shows by M. Stobie 1970
  2 Certificat d'études de Lettres françaises 1973
  3 Notebook 1975-1990
  4 Biography & Curriculum vitae 1978
  5 Description of M. Stobie's Health by W. Stobie 1990
  6 Margaret Stobie's Obituaries from Winnipeg Free Press 1990
  7 Ontario Middle School Examination Booklets 1929
  8 "20 Years for Fighting Hunger," Communist League of Canada Pamphlet No. 2 1933
  9 St, John's College Graduation Dinner Program 1960
  10 History of the Southwood Gold & Country Club 1990
  11 Eulogies for Gordon Smith 1995-2005

Return to Top


Correspondence 1916-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
3 12 Personal Correspondence 1931
  13 Letters between William & Margaret Stobie 1931-1979
  14 Letter & Jubilee Issue of "The Varsity" 1931
  15 Letters to W. Stobie from Max Patrick 1934
  16 Letter from Mary Jane Chrysler 1934
  17 Personal Correspondence 1935
  18 Letter to the Department of Immigration of Canada 1935-1946
  19 Personal Correspondence 1936
  20 Letters to Margaret Roseborough from William Stobie 1936
  21 Letters from Margaret Roseborough to William Stobie 1936
  22 Personal Correspondence 1937
  23 Personal Correspondence 1939-1941
  24 Personal Correspondence 1944
  25 Personal Correspondence 1946
  26 Zech Case - Letters & Newspaper Clippings 1946
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
4 1 Letters from Parents, Esp. A. Stobie 1946-1969
  2 Christmas Card from Charles Louis comfort 1948
  3 Personal Correspondence 1950-59
  4 Letter from Adele Wiseman 1951
  5 Letters from J. O. Turner 1952-53
  6 Personal Correspondence 1960-69
  7 Letters from Molly M. Quarrie 1965-79
  8 Personal Correspondence 1970-79
  9 Personal Correspondence 1980-89
  10 Christmas Cards 1987
  11 Correspondence with Jamie Reidford 1988-2001
  12 Personal Correspondence 1990-99
  13 Letters Sent to W. Stobie on the Occasion of Margaret's Death 1990
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
5 1 Letters from Dorothy (Stobie) Langelier 1994-2004
  2 Cards to William Stobie 2005
  3 Correspondence to W. Stobie 2005-06
  4 Letters by W. Stobie 1976-2003
  5 Correspondence to Margaret Roseborough/Stobie 1916-1945
  6 Documents Re: "Pleasant Plain Incorporated," by M. Stobie 1955-57
  7 Correspondence between M. Stobie & Vgreville Observer 1976
  8 Correspondence between M. Stobie & Publishers Re: "Bremner's Furs" Manuscript 1981-82
  9 Correspondence Re: F. P. Grove 1982-87
  10 Correspondence with Paul Hjartarson Re: F. P. Grove 1984-87
  11 Correspondence with Newest Publishers Re: "The Other Side of the Rebellion" 1984-87
  12 Correspondence with J. F. Caplette Re: "Bremner's Furs" 1985
  13 Correspondence Re: Gabrielle Dumont's Birth 1988-89
  14 Correspondence Re: "Pope & Czar" Article 1988-89
  15 Letters & Contract from Newest Publishers to M. Stobie 2000-05
  16 Academic Correspondence to William Stobie 1936
  17 Academic Correspondence 1946-49
  18 Academic Correspondence 1950-59
  19 English Associations Correspondence & Conference Papers 1955-58
  20 Academic Correspondence 1960-69
  21 University of Manitoba Interdepartmental Correspondence 1961-64
  22 Correspondence Regarding Grad Studies in Humanities & Social Sciences 1962-63
  23 Academic Correspondence 1980
  24C Correspondence Re: the Margaret & William Stobie Purchase Fund 2003-05
  25 Letter to William Stobie from Emoke J. E. Szathmary 2006

Return to Top

Academic Writing/Manuscripts - Margaret Stobie 1931-1989
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
6 1 Draft of Essay on early Canadian Politics 1931-39
  2 Margaret Roseborough's Master's Thesis 1934
  3 Notes & Drafts of "Our Man at Beaver Lake" 1950-1970
  4 Manuscript: "Nine Days & Nights: A Brief Chronicle" 1965-1989
  5 Drafts & Notes for "Bremner's Furs" 1975-1985
  6 Drafts & Notes for "Bremner's Furs" 1975-1985
  7 Draft: Part One: The Sakatchewan Line ("Bremner's Furs") 1980
  8 Draft & Notes for Part Two: Council & Assembly (Bremner's Furs) 1980-85
  9 Manuscript: "Yesterday They were Saying...The Great Debate of 1890" (Incomplete) 1975-1985
  10 Manuscript: "Yesterday They were Saying...The Great Debate of 1890" 1975-1985
  11 Article on 1890 Parliament of Canada 1979
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
7 1 Manuscript: "The Language Debate of 1890" 1975-1985
  2 Manuscript: [The Language Debate of 1890] 1975-1985
  3 Manuscript: [The Language Debate of 1890] 1975-1985
  4 Manuscript: [The Language Debate of 1890] 1975-1985
  5 Article: "Yesterday, Today...& Tomorrow: The Language Debate for 1890" 1979
  6 Submission to Playwriting Competition 1983
  7 Short Story: "Gabrielle" 1989
  8 Draft of "And After That" from "A Matter of Jurisdiction" 1985-89
  9 Manuscript: "A Matter of Jurisdiction: When Justice Came to Calgary" Chapters 1-5 1989
  10 Manuscript: "A Matter of Jurisdiction: When Justice Came to Calgary" Chapter 6 1989
  11 Manuscript: "The Citizens Assembled" from "A Matter of Jurisdiction" 1989
  12 Index to "The Other Side of the Rebellion" 1989

Return to Top


Miscellaneous Writing - William Stobie 1925-1970
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
8 1 Transcript of Poetry 1925-1940
  2 Untitled Play 1931-34
  3 Play, "Please Shut the Door" 1931-34
  4 Notebook Containing Two Poems 1935-1955
  5 Article: "Remarks on Recent Poetry" 1936
  6 Article & Drafts: "Royal Regalia of Scotland" 1953
  7 Book reviews Published in the Winnipeg Free Press 1948-1950
  8 Drafts of a Review of E. M. W. Tillyard's "Shakespeare's Problem Plays" 1949
  9 Draft of a Review of Raymond Knister's Poetry 1949
  10 Draft of a Review of Hamish Henderson's "Elegies for the Dead in Cyrenica" 1948-1955
  11 Drafts of a Review on P. Blondel's A Candle to Light in the Sun" 1961
  12 Draft of a Review of Fred Bosworth's "The Atonement of Ashley Morden 1964
  13 Drafts & Article: "The Causerie" 1954
  14 Notes & Draft Article on Canadian Art 1950-1970
  15 Draft Article on Television Programs 1955-1965
  16 Draft Article on Stratford Shakespeare Festival 1961
  17 Transcript from Radion Address on F. R. Scott's Poetry 1947
  18 Lecture Defending Tennyson 1948-1970
  19 Materials for Lecture on New Translation of Cervantes' "Don Quixote" for Social & Cultural Activites 1950
  20 "Teaching Freshmen English" Radio Address for University on the Air 1954
  21 Speech on Honours Programs - ACUTE Roundtable Discussion 1960-69
  22 Notes on Talk given to Teacher's Convention 1963
  23 Notes for Career Talk Given at Provencher Collegiate 1965

Return to Top


Academic Writing - William Stobie 1931-1969
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
8 24 Notes & Essay: "The Conditions under which the Elizabethan Playwrite, Publisher, & Printer Worked" 1931-34
  25 Notes & Essay on Wordsworth & Godwin 1931-38
  26 William Stobie's Master's Thesis 1935
  27 Notes on Frances Bacon for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  28 Notes & Essay on Keble for PhD Thesis 1935-38
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
9 1 Notes & Essay on Newman for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  2 Notes & Essay on Macauley for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  3 Notes & Essay on Taylor for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  4 Notes & Essay on Masson for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  5 Notes & Essay on Carlyle for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  6 Notes & Essay on Dobell for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  7 Notes & Essay on Bagehot for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  8 Notes & Essay on George Brimley for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  9 Notes & Essay on J. S. Mill for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  10 Notes & Essay on de Quincey for PhD Thesis 1935-38
  11 Essay on John Keble 1935-38
  12 Essays on Newman & Macauley 1935-1938
  13 Essay & Presentation Cards on Sir Henry Taylor 1935-38
  14 Essay on David Masson 1935-38
  15 Notes & Essay on Kant & Carlyle 1935-38
  16 Essay on Sidney Dobell 1935-38
  17 Essay on Walter Bagehot 1935-38
  18 Essay & Outline on George Brimley 1935-38
  19 Notes & Essay on John Stuart Mill 1935-1965
  20 Notes on John Stuart Mill 1935-1946
  21 Notes & Essay on Thomas De Quincey 1935-38
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
10 1 Notes on David Masson & Matthew Arnold 1935
  2 Notes & Essay on Leigh Hunt 1935-1946
  3 Essay: "The Importance of Rhythm in the Symbolist Movement" 1937
  4 Essay on Samuel Butler 1939
  5 Notes & Essay on Eneas Sweetland Dallas 1946
  6 Notes & Essay on Association Poetry Theory & Allison 1948-1960
  7 Notes & Essay on Thomas Brown 1950-51
  8 Essay on George Meredith & Articles 1956-1964
  9 Essays on Early Victorian Literature & Wordsworth 1960-69
  10 Drafts of Master's Thesis Introduction 1935
  11 Drafts of Master's Thesis Introduction & Conclusion 1935
  12 Submitted Thesis Outline 1935
  13 General Thesis Notes 1937
  14 Thesis Notes 1937
  15 Thesis Notes 1938

Return to Top


Class Notes - William Stobie 1931-1978
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
11 1 Class Notes for General Science Course 1931-34
  2 Class Notes for Politics Course taught by Kirkwood 1931-35
  3 Notebook - European History Course 1931-38
  4 Class Notes & Essay fir English Satire Course 1931-38
  5 Class Notes for Pre-romantics Course taught by Woodhouse 1931-38
  6 Class Notes for Philosophy Course 1931-38
  7 Class Notes for Shakespeare Course 1931-38
  8 Class Notes for European History Course 1932-33
  9 Class Notes for Romantics Course taught by Bernbaum 1936-37
  10 Class Notes for English Themes Course taught by Alfred W. Rothermel 1936-37
  11 Class Notes for Symbolism Course taught by Regis Michaud 1937
  12 Notebook & Term Paper for French 127 1935-1938
  13 Notebook 1931-1950
  14 Cumulative Bibliography of Romanticsim 1931-1946
  15 Miscellaneous Class Notes 1931-34
  16 Miscellaneous Writing & Notes 1934-1946
  17 Miscellaneous Academic Documents 1934-1996
  18 Class Notes for Introductory Spanish Course taught by Gordon 1977-78

Return to Top

 

 

Lecture Notes - William Stobie 1931-1976
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
12 1 Lecture Notes for English 223 Course 1946-1971
  2 Lecture Notes for First Year English Course 1955
  3 Lecture Notes & Reading List for English 3b 1965-1970
  4 Lecture Notes & Articles for English Course 1966-67
  5 Lecture Notes for Eglish 444 Course, 19th Century Thought 1967-68
  6 Lecture Notes & Articles on 18th Century English Literature 1946
  7 Lecture Notes on Canadian Novels 1948
  8 Lecture Notes on the Historical Novel 1946-1960
  9 Lecture Notes on Neo-classicism 1965-66
  10 Lecture Notes on 19th Century Critical Theory 1968
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
13 1 Lecture Notes for History of Criticism Course 1962-64
  2 Lecture Notes, Reading Lists, & Articles for History of Criticism Course 1963-1970
  3 Bibliography of J. G. Lockhart's Critical Writings 1935
  4 Bibliographies for History of Criticism Course 1962-64
  5 Lecture Notes & Articles on Plato 1939-1976
  6 Lecture Notes & Article on Aristotle 1968
  7 Lecture Notes on Rhetoric & 4-fold Exegesis, Horace & Longinus 1954-1963
  8C Lecture Notes & Essays on Sir Philip Sidney 1931-1963
  9 Lecture Notes on John Dryden 1965
  10C Lecture Notes & Essays on Joseph Addison 1960-63
  11 Lecture Notes & Article on Wordsworth's "Prelude" 1948-1975
  12 Lecture Notes & Article on Wordsworth's "Prelude" 1948-1975
  13C Lecture Notes & Essays on Wordsworth 1964-1971
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
14 1C Lecture Notes & Essay on S. T. Coleridge 1941-1971
  2C Lecture Notes & Essays on William Hazlitt 1960-69
  3C Two Essays on William Hazlitt 1945-1950
  4C Lecture Notes & Essays on Walter Pater 1946-1976
  5C Essay on Walter Pater 1967
  6C Lecture Notes & Essays on Matthew Arnold 1952-1971
  7 Notes & Essay Drafts on T. S. Elliot 1935-1950
  8C Lecture Notes & Essays on T. S. Elliot 1946-1960
  9C Lecture Notes & Essay on I. A. Richards 1954-55
  10 Notes & Articles on F. R. Leavis 1964
  11C Lecture Notes & Essay on Northrop Frye & Anatomy of Criticism 1957-1973
  12 Lecture Notes on C. Brooks 1962-64
  13 Lecture Notes on William Epson 1948-1970
  14 Lecture Notes on E. Wilson 1950-1965
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
15 1 Lecture Notes on the Chicago Critics 1950-1970
  2C Essay by Student on New Criticism 1955
  3 Lecture Notes on Robert Browning 1946-1970
  4 Lecture Notes on Lord Byron & Examination Instructions 1946-1975
  5 Lecture Notes on sean O'Casey 1965-1976
  6 Lecture Notes on S. T. Coleridge 1960-1975
  7 Lecture Notes on Robertson Davies 1946-1960
  8 Lecture Notes & Article on Charles Dickens' "Great Expectations" 1955-1962
  9 Lecture Notes on Sidney Dobell 1935-1948
  10 Lecture Notes on George Elliot & "Middlemarch" 1960
  11 Lecture Notes on T. S. Elliot 1948-1975
  12 Lecture Notes on Henry Esmond & Thackery 1948-1969
  13 Lecture Notes & Course Outlines for John Keats 1946-1976
  14C Essays on G. H. Lewis 1946-1955
  15C Lecture Notes & Articles on Katherine Mansfield's "The Fly" 1946-1975
  16 Lecture Notes on George Meredith 1955-1970
  17 Notes on Milton & Liberty 1925
  18 Lecture Notes on J. H. Newman 1956
  19C Essay on Coventry Patmore 1945
  20 Lecture Notes on Sir Walter Scott 1956-1970
  21 Notes on Sartre & Cantor's Diagonal Logic 1948-1955
  22 Lecture Notes on Percy Shelley 1946-1976
  23 Lecture Notes on Tennyson's "In Memoriam" 1946-1976

Return to Top

Academic Reference Materials 1931-2005
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
16 1 King Alfred's Translation of Bede's Chronicle 1931-39
  2 Notes on Romanticism & Liberal Movement in English Literature 1938-1950
  3 Notes on & Excerpts of Blackwoods Magazine 1938-1946
  4 Excerpts of an article by John Keble on Sir walter Scott d.1877 1946-1960
  5 Letter from Lord Byron to M. Galignani d.1819 & Excerpt from Haliburton's "The Clockmaker" d. 1950 1950
  6 Lists of Books for Doctoral Comprehensive Examination 1941-42
  7 Examination Questions 1941
  8 Notes on, & Essay by, Ebenezer Elliot 1944
  9 Reading List & Final Examination Questions for English Poetry Course 1946-1970
  10 "19th Century:" Dickens Bibliographies & Excerpt from Mollck's "New Republic" 1946-1976
  11 Unknown Early Modern English Manuscript 1950-1960
  12 Copy of Discolus by Menander 1954-1965
  13 Summer Session Correspondence Course Outlines 1970-1976
  14 Cum Novo Cantico by Barbara Straszynski 1971-73
  15 Cue Cards with Bibliographic Citations 1946-1976
  16 Miscellaneous Articles 1937-2005
  17 Miscellaneous Newspapers & Journals 1957-1979
  18 Newspaper Clippings about Travel Destinations 1981

Return to Top


Research Notes - Margaret Stobie 1884-1989
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
17 1 Research on early Calgary & Articles 1989
  2 Notes on Beaver Lake & Vegreville from The Bulletin Newspaper 1889-1921
  3 Typed Excerpts from Vegreville Observer & Unknown Journals 1914-1916
  4 Typed Excerpts from Vegreville Observer & Unknown Journals 1917-1922
  5 Typed Excerpts from Vegreville Observer & Unknown Journals 1923-1925
  6 Notes from/on the Rgina Herrald, The Bulletin, & Calgary Herald 1884-1895
  7 Notes on the Travis Commission of 1887 1985-89
  8 Copy of George Murdoch's Journal 1885
  9 Entries from George Murdoch's Diary & Correspondence with Glenbow Museum 1985
  10 "Granite" Miscellaneous Articles 1940-1970
  11 Miscellaneous Research Notes 1965-1989

Return to Top


Publications 1919-1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
18 1 "Some Tendencies in Pronunciation of the English Language in America," by M. Roseborough 1935
  2 "The Influence of Morphology on Middle English Alliterative Poetry," by M. M. Roseborough Stobie 1940
  3 "Chaucer's Shipman & the Wine," by M. R. Stobie 1949
  4 "Patmore's Theory & Hopkins' Practice," by M R. Stobie 1949
  5 "'Frederick Philip Grove' and the Canadianism Movement," by M. R. Stobie 1972
  6 "Grove & the Ants," by Margaret Stobie 1978
  7 "Document in Disillusion," by M. Stobie 1963
  8 "Skeletal Novel," by M. Stobie 1966
  9 "Letters from the Mennonite Reserve," by Margaret Stobie & F. P. Grove 1974
  10 "Grove as Correspondent," by M. Stobie 1976
  11 "British Women," by M. Stobie 1983
  12 "Leah," by M. Stobie 1983
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
19 1 "Out to Pasture," by M. Stobie 1984
  2 "A Reading of the Prelude, Book V," by William Stobie 1963
  3 "The Complexities of the English Simple Present," by Elizabeth Cowper, Margaret Stobie Lecture 1996
  4 Oral Lessons in French Textbook for Junior Classes, Part V 1919
  5 "The Prophet's Man," by Geoffrey B. Riddehough, Signed Copy 1926
  6 "Canada & the United Stated Neutrality," by B. K. Sandwell 1939
  7 A Proposal for the reorganization of the Secondary Schools of Manitoba 1970
  8 The Secondary School: Report of the Core Committee on the Reorganization of the Secondary School, Province of Manitoba 1973

Return to Top


Mss 159 & Pc 177: Oversized Materials 1885-2003
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
20 1 Dry-mounted Enlargement of Stobie Purchase Fund Stamp 2003
  2 Photocopies of the Calgary Herald 1886
  3 Photocopies of the Calrgary Tribune & Notes 1885
  4 Bachelor & Master of Arts Diplomas of William Stobie 1934-35
  5 Bachelor of Arts Diploma of Margaret Roseborough 1933
  6 Master of Arts Diploma of Margaret Roseborough 1934
  7 Doctorate Diploma of Margaret Roseborough 1937
  8 Watercolour Portrait of M. Roseborough 1937
  9 Sketches by Comfort 1936
  10 Poster from Barker Fairley 1979

Return to Top


Pc 177: Photograph Collection 1925-2004
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
1 1 William Stobie's Sketchbook 1925-26
  2 Postcards of Percé, Quebec 1925-1934
  3 Photograph Album - William Stobie 1928-1931
  4 Photographs taken by William Stobie 1928-1931
  5 Negatives of Photographs taken by William Stobie 1928-1931
  6 Unsigned Watercolour Painting 1930-1950
  7 Pencil Sketches of James Greig Reidford 1931-34
  8 Graduation Portraits of William Stobie 1934
  9 Photographs of the Stobies & Friends 1935-2000
  10 Scenic Pastel Drawing by Roseborough 1935-1975
  11 Photos taken at a Cabin 1947
  12 Photo of William & Margaret 1948-1960
  13 Photographs of Children of Rinehart Publishers Employee 1952
  14 Portraits of William Stobie 1954
  15 Margaret Stobie in two MTC Roles 1962
  16 Margaret Stobie at National Archives Building, Ottawa 1967
  17 Drawings of U of M Campus by L. Sirluck 1970-76
  18 Copies of Old Stobie Family Photos 2004
  19 Postcards of Art 1950-2004

Return to Top


Tc 136: Tape Collection 1984
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                
1 20 Tape: "Neighbours," by M. Stobie: Radio Play 1984

Return to Top