Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Steve Snyder fonds (Guy Maddin): MSS 171 (A.01-35)

MSS 171 (A.01-35)

Steve Snyder:

An Inventory of His Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Kendra Mikula
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
(2001)

Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (July 2006)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Steve Snyder

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions on Use

Related Materials

Custodial History

Other Finding Aids

Detailed Description of the Collection

Archangel, 1989

Scripts, ca. 1990

Careful, 1991

Oversize, 1991, n.d.

Film Reels, n.d.

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
Creator:
Steve Snyder

Title:
Steve Snyder fonds

Dates:
1989-1991

Quantity:
80 cm of textual records and other material

Identification:
MSS 171 (A.01-35)

English

Return to Top

Biography of Steve Snyder

William Steven Snyder obtained his B.A.O. and M.A. degrees from the University of Idaho before completing a P.H.D. from the University of Florida. In 1976 he was hired by the University of Manitoba's English Department to teach Film Studies and is currently an associate professor. In 1980-1981 he enrolled in a filmmaking course at the San Francisco Art Institute and began making short films. He has maintained a long friendship with the internationally acclaimed local filmmaker Guy Maddin, helping him in most of his projects. He worked as a photographer on Mr. Maddin's first film The Dead Father and has acted in others including Archangel . For the film shot of Careful , he was the project's official diarist. In 2005 Snyder appeared as a newspaperman in Jeff Solylo’s movie, East of Euclid .

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds consists of a copy of the film Archangel as well as the log books and continuity books for Careful given to Mr. Snyder by director, Guy Maddin, and producer, Greg Klymkiew. The log books detail every aspect of the shoot and were integral to Mr. Snyder's work as diarist on the film. There is also a draft of a script that Mr. Maddin wrote on teen pregnancy and a script draft by Paul Donovan.

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into five series: Archangel ; Scripts; Careful ; Oversize; and Film Reels.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on the use of this material.

Return to Top

Related Materials

MSS 171, PC 186 (A.04-109); Unprocessed material (A.99-67, A.99-84, A.00-43)

Return to Top

Custodial History

The contents of the fonds were donated to Archives & Special Collections by Steve Snyder in 2001.

Return to Top

Other Finding Aids

Printed and on-line finding aids exist for MSS 171, PC 186 (A.04-109).

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

     Archangel, [ 1989 ]

Box Folder  
1 1 Page of notes for Archangel, 1989

Return to Top

     Scripts, ca. 1990

Box Folder  
1 3 Script: The Tom Shoebridge Story, by Paul Donovan, ca. 1990
  4 Script for teen pregnancy comic book for the Social Planning Council, written by Guy Maddin, ca. 1990

Return to Top


      Careful, 1991

Box Folder  
1 5 Maddin's instructions to editors' for the cutting copy, Careful, 1991
  6 Maddin's descriptions of footage, Careful, 1991
  7 Maddin's descriptions for audio, Careful, 1991
  8 Maddin's instructions for changes to slash print, Careful, 1991
  9 Maddin's instructions for colouring, 1991
  10 Log sheet/continuity book, n.d.
  11 Log sheet/continuity book, n.d.
  12 Log sheet/continuity book, n.d.
Box Folder  
2 1 Log sheet/continuity book, n.d.
  2 Continuity daily shooting summary, n.d.
  3 Log/coding book, n.d.
  4 Camera/sound reports, n.d.

Return to Top


Oversize, 1991, n.d.
 

Box Folder  
3 1 2 posters for East of Euclid, n.d.
  2 Set drawings by Dean Smallwood for Careful [7], 1991
  3 Photographs of title cards for Careful, 1991

Return to Top


Film Reels, n.d.
 

Careful, Sync Roll No. 17, 16 mm mag. soundtrack (350 ft), n.d.
Careful, Sync Roll No. 17, 16 mm col. pos. workprint (350 ft), n.d.
Careful, Sync Roll No. 28, 16 mm col. pos. workprint (525 ft), n.d.
Careful, Sync Roll No. 28, 16 mm mag. soundtrack (525 ft), n.d.
Careful, M.O.S. Roll No. 25, 16 mm col. pos. workprint (600 feet), n.d.
Archangel, B&W camera original neg., 16 mm (475 ft), n.d.
Archangel, B&W camera original neg., 16 mm (300 ft), 26 June 1989
Archangel, B&W camera original neg., 16 mm (500 ft), 24 July 1989
Archangel, B&W camera original neg., 16 mm (300 ft), 17 July 1989
Archangel, B&W camera original neg., 16 mm (200 ft), 21 July 1989

Return to Top