Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Steve Snyder fonds (Guy Maddin): MSS 171, PC 186 (A.04-109)

MSS 171, PC 186 (A.04-109)

Steve Snyder:

An Inventory of His Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Heather Beattie
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
(2005)

Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (July 2006)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Steve Snyder

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions on Use

Related Materials

Custodial History

Other Finding Aids

Detailed Description of the Collection

Personal Papers, 1993-2004

Film Reviews and Publicity, 1997-2004

Photograph Collection (PC 186), ca. 1980-2004

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
Creator:
Steve Snyder

Title:
Steve Snyder fonds

Dates:
ca. 1980-2004

Quantity:
4 cm of textual records and other material

Identification:
MSS 171, PC 186 (A.04-109)
English

Return to Top

Biography of Steve Snyder

William Steven Snyder obtained his B.A.O. and M.A. degrees from the University of Idaho before completing a P.H.D. from the University of Florida. In 1976 he was hired by the University of Manitoba's English Department to teach Film Studies and is currently an associate professor. In 1980-1981 he enrolled in a filmmaking course at the San Francisco Art Institute and began making short films. He has maintained a long friendship with the internationally acclaimed local filmmaker Guy Maddin, helping him in most of his projects. He worked as a photographer on Mr. Maddin's first film The Dead Father and has acted in others including Archangel . For the film shot of Careful , he was the project's official diarist. In 2005 Snyder appeared as a newspaperman in Jeff Solylo’s movie, East of Euclid .

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds includes letters written to both Steve Snyder and Guy Maddin, pages from a diary Mr. Snyder kept while on the set of Heart of the World , a treatment for Cowards Bend the Knee , and articles and reviews of Mr. Maddin's work. There are 55 photographs, mainly taken by Mr. Snyder on the sets of Mr. Maddin's films. There are also 73 videocassettes with footage from the filming of Dracula , The Saddest Music in the World , and other recent films by, or featuring, Guy Maddin. Two audio cassettes are also included in this accession.

Return to Top

Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into five series: Personal Papers; Film Reviews & Publicity; and Photograph Collection (PC 186), which is divided into three subseries.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on the use of this material.

Return to Top

Related Materials

MSS 171 (A.01-35); Unprocessed material (A.99-67, A.99-84, A.00-43)

Return to Top

Custodial History

The contents of the fonds were donated to Archives & Special Collections by Steve Snyder in 2004.

Return to Top

Other Finding Aids

Printed and on-line finding aids exist for MSS 171 (A.01-35).

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

      Personal Papers, [1993-2004]

Box Folder  
1 1 Correspondence, 1993-2004
  2 List of sound effects for Odilon Redon , ca. 1995
  3 Diary, 2000
  4 Letters to Guy Maddin, [2000?]-2004
  5 Treatment of Cowards Bend the Knee , 2002

Return to Top


      Film Reviews and Publicity, 1997-2004

Box Folder  
1 6 Maddin's Twilight of the Ice Nymphs, 1997
  7 Maddin's Heart of the World, 2001
  8 Brochure for Guy Maddin retrospective, 2002
  9 Maddin's Dracula, 2003-2004
  10 Maddin's The Saddest Music in the World, 2004
  11 Maddin's Cowards Bend the Knee, 2004
  12 Postcard for Maddin's From the Atelier Tovar, n.d.
  13 Solylo's East of Euclid, 2004

Return to Top

Photograph Collection (PC 186), ca. 1980-2004
                               Photographs, ca. 1980-2004
 

Box Folder  
1 1 Greg Klymkiw, ca. 1980
  2 Archangel set, 2000
  3 Heart of the World set, photographs by Snyder, 2000
  4 Guy Maddin, ca. 2001
  5 The Saddest Music in the World set, photographs by Snyder, 2004
Videocassettes, 1999-2004
Box Folder  
1  
  • #6 - And so to Bed - NFB documentary featuring interview with Maddin, 1999
  • #7 - The Heart of the World, 2000
  • #8-19 - Dracula screening cassettes (16 mm), 2001
Box Folder  
2  
  • #20-25 - Dracula screening cassettes (16 mm), 2001
  • #26 - Dracula Super 8 tape, VHS with time code - Tape 1, Copy 1
  • #27 - Dracula Super 8 tape, VHS with time code - Tape 1, Copy 2
  • #28 - Dracula Super 8 tape, VHS with time code - Tape 2, Copy 1
  • #29 - Dracula Super 8 tape, VHS with time code - Tape 2, Copy 2
  • #30 - Dracula First Fine Cut, 2001
  • #31 - Dracula Rough Assembly, 2001
  • #32 - Isabella Rossellini on David Letterman, Guy Maddin discussing video for It's A Wonderful Life on Sundance's Sonic Cinema, tryouts for The Saddest Music in the World, first fine cut for Dracula, 2001
  • #33 - Cowards Bend the Knee Rough Assembly, 2001
Box Folder  
3  
  • #34 - Cowards Bend the Knee silent, 2001
  • #35 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #1, 2001
  • #36 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #2, 2001
  • #37 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #2, revised audio, 2001
  • #38 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #3, 2001
  • #39 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #4, 2001
  • #40 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #5, 2001
  • #41 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #6, 2001
  • #42 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #7, 2001
  • #43 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #8, 2001
  • #44 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #9, 2001
  • #45 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #10, 2001
  • #46 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #11, 2001
  • #47 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #12, 2001
Box Folder  
4  
  • #48 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #13, 2001
  • #49 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #14, 2001
  • #50 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #16, 2001
  • #51 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #17, 2001
  • #52 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #18, 2001
  • #53 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #19, 2001
  • #54 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #20, 2001
  • #55 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #21, 2001
  • #56 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #22, 2001
  • #57 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #22A, 2001
  • #58 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #24, 2001
  • #59 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #26, 2001
  • #60 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #27, 2001
  • #61 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #28, 2001
Box Folder  
5  
  • #62 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #29, 2001
  • #63 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #30, 2001
  • #64 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #31, 2001
  • #65 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #32, 2001
  • #66 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #34, 2001
  • #67 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #35, 2001
  • #68 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #36, 2001
  • #69 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #38, 2001
  • #70 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #39, 2001
  • #71 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #41, 2001
  • #72 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #42, 2001
  • #73 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #43, 2001
  • #74 - The Saddest Music in the World screening cassettes - Reel #46, 2001
Box Folder  
6  
  • #75 - The Saddest Music in the World dub of DBeta master, teaser, 2003
  • #76 - The Saddest Music in the World 16 mm film transfer, 2003
  • #77 - The Saddest Music in the World exposure and colour footage test, 2003
  • #78 - Sombra Dolorosa, silent, 2004
  • #79 - Guy Maddin and Elise Moore at 50th wedding anniversary of Elise's parents, n.d.

Audio Cassettes, 1995, 2004

Box Folder  
6  
  • #1 - Odion Redon DAT, sound effects, 1995
  • #2 - Bookworm, Michael Silverblat interviews Guy Maddin in L.A. for The Saddest Music in the World, 2004

Return to Top