The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Steve Snyder fonds (Guy Maddin)
Call Number: Mss 171, Pc 186, Tc 146 (A.99-67, A.99-84, A.00-43, A.01-35, A.04-109, A.08-28, A.09-63)
Title: Steve Snyder fonds (Guy Maddin).
Dates: [ca.1980] - 2008.
Extent: 1.78 m of textual records and other material.
Biographical sketch: William Steven Snyder obtained B.A.O. and M.A. degrees from the University of Idaho before completing a Ph.D. from the University of Florida. In 1976, he was hired by the University of Manitoba's English Department to teach Film Studies and is currently an associate professor. In 1980-1981, he enrolled in a filmmaking course at the San Francisco Art Institute and began making short films. He has maintained a long friendship with the internationally acclaimed local filmmaker, Guy Maddin, helping him in most of his projects. He worked as a photographer on Maddin's first film, The Dead Father, and has acted in others including Archangel. For the film shot of Careful, he was the project's official diarist. In 2005, Snyder appeared as a newspaperman in Jeff Solylo’s movie, East of Euclid.
Custodial history: The fonds was donated to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Steve Snyder in 1999 (A.99-67, A.99-84), 2000 (A.00-43), 2001 (A.01-35), 2004 (A.04-109), 2008 (A.08-28), and 2009 (A.09-63).
Scope and content: The fonds consists of correspondence, a notebook, photographs, and articles. The fonds also includes a copy of the film Archangel, as well as the log books and continuity books forCareful given to Steve Snyder by director, Guy Maddin, and producer, Greg Klymkiw. The correspondence contains emails to and from Guy Maddin. The log books detail every aspect of the shoot and were integral to Snyder's work as diarist on the film. There is also a draft of a script that Maddin did on teen pregnancy and a script draft by Paul Donovan. The 2004 accession includes pages from a diary Snyder kept while on the set of Heart of the World, a treatment for Cowards Bend the Knee, and articles and reviews of Maddin’s work. There are 55 photographs, mainly taken by Snyder on the sets of Maddin’s films. There are also 67 videocassettes with footage from the filming of Dracula,The Saddest Music in the World, and other recent films by, or featuring, Guy Maddin. Also included are 2 audio-cassettes and 7 drawings. The 2009 accession consists of original artwork from Maddin, published articles, photographs, scripts written by other people, and correspondence including emails to and from Maddin. It also contains audio-visual material including films made by people other than Maddin as well as artifacts from one of the films. In total, the photograph collection consists of 141 photographs, 10 film reels, and 76 videocassetes. The tape collection consists of 1 audio-cassette.
Restrictions: There are no restrictions on this material.
Accruals: Further accruals are expected.
Finding aid: Printed finding aids are available in the Archives reading room and on-line finding aids are available at the links below:
MSS 171, PC 186, TC 146 (A.08-28, A.09-63).
We greatly acknowledge the financial support of the Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism and the Heritage Grants Advisory Council in the creation of this finding aid.