Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Steve Snyder fonds (Guy Maddin): MSS 171, PC 186, TC 146 (A.08-28, A.09-63)

MSS 171, PC 186, TC 146 (A.08-28, A.09-63)

Steve Snyder:

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives and Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Emma Prescott
University of Manitoba
330 Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
(September 2009)

Finding aid encoded by Emma Prescott (September 2009)
Finding aid written in English. 

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of Steve Snyder

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Related Materials

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

Steve Snyder (Guy Maddin) articles, correspondence, photographs and audio-visual material 1984 - 2009

Photographs PC 186 1984 - 2004

Audio visual material TC 146 2004

Artifacts

Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba
330 Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3T 2N2
Creator:
Steve Snyder (Guy Maddin)

Title:
Steve Snyder fonds (Guy Maddin)

Dates:
1984 - 2009

Quantity:
0.254m

Identification:
MSS 171, PC 186, TC 146 (A.09-63, A.08-28)

English

Return to Top

Biography of Steve Snyder

William Steven Snyder obtained B.A.O. and M.A. degrees from the University of Idaho before completing a Ph.D. from the University of Florida. In 1976, he was hired by the University of Manitoba's English Department to teach Film Studies and is currently an associate professor. In 1980-1981, he enrolled in a filmmaking course at the San Francisco Art Institute and began making short films. He has maintained a long friendship with the internationally acclaimed local filmmaker, Guy Maddin, helping him in most of his projects. He worked as a photographer on Maddin's first film, The Dead Father, and has acted in others including Archangel. For the film shot of Careful, he was the project's official diarist. In 2005, Snyder appeared as a newspaperman in Jeff Solylo’s movie, East of Euclid.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds consists of original artwork from Maddin, published articles, photographs, scripts written by other people, and correspondence including emails to and from Maddin. It also contains audio-visual material including films made by people other than Maddin as well as artifacts from one of the films.

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

There are no restrictions on access to this material

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

There are no restrictions on the use of the material

Return to Top

Related Materials

Mss 171, Pc 186 (A.99-67, A.99-84, A.00-43, A.01-35, A.04-109)

Return to Top

Custodial History

The contents of the fonds were donated to Archives & Special Collections by Steve Snyder in 2009

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

Steve Snyder (Guy Maddin) articles, correspondence, photographs and audio-visual material [ 1984 - 2009 ]

Box Folder  
1 1 Guy Maddin’s original artwork [n.d.]
  2 Published article – When in Winnipeg: The Stop Smiling Interview with Guy Maddin. Issue 292007
  3 Published article – The Pleasures of Melancholy: An interview with Guy Maddin. Summer2004
  4 Published article – Dikemaster’s Daughter excerpts and storyboards. 1997
  5 Published article – Bears on Broadway. May 2008
  6 Script of Spring Chickens: a baseball movie by Matt Holm, written by Ian Handford 2001
  7 Cowards bend the knee storyline. Written by Guy Maddin. 2002
  8 Maddin and Herzog: Brothers of the ice! Written by Andrew O’Hehir 2008
  9 Correspondence. 2006, 2008 - 2009
  10 Correspondence 2007 - 2009
  11 Correspondence. 2006 - 2007
  12 Correspondence. 2009
  13 Correspondence. 2006

Return to Top


Photographs PC 186 1984 - 2004

Box Folder  
1 14 Unidentified people in a baseball enclosure. [1984]
  15 Pictures of Maddin and other people by Snyder 1985, 1987 – 1988
  16 Correspondence and photocopy of photograph of Steve Snyder and Guy Maddin filming Dead Father. [1986]
  17 Pictures from the set of Heart of the World and Archangel. [1990 & 2000]
  18 George being ‘made up’ on set of Carefull. [1990]
  19 Pictures of Maddin by Snyder. 1993 & 1999
  20 Pictures of Maddin and other people in a house. 1999
  21 Postcard – Snyder to Maddin. [n.d.]
  22 Ian Handford and unidentified person. [1980 - 1989]
  23 Guy Maddin and George Toles in North Dakota and Maddin during Rotisseree draft 1985 - 1986
  24 Postcard of Snyder and Maddin 1986
  25 George Toles and John Paiz at Gimli Hospital screening. [1988]
  26 Guy Maddin in Minnesota. 1988
  27 Maddin and Bob Nixon 1989
  28 Photos from Archangel Set. Taken by Snyder. [1990]
  29 On the set of Carefull. Taken by Snyder. [1990]
  30 New York Film Festival – on the way to meet Jay Hoberman of Village Voice. 1992
  31 Unidentified people in a bar. 1999
  32 Story Board shots for Heart of the World. [2000]
  33 Photos from Erin Street and Downtown set of Saddest Music in the World. [2003]
  34 Bob Nixon and Family – Early Maddin collaborator 2004
Box Folder  
2   WAIT – by Zarah Laszlo [n.d.]
The Jealous Room – by Zarah Laszlo [n.d.]
The Flight – by Zarah Laszlo [n.d.]
The Falling Man – by Zarah Laszlo [n.d.]
A smell – by Donna Szoke [n.d.]
Latent Greatness – by Jeff Solylo [n.d.]
Taking a walk with Dad – by Shereen Jerrett [n.d.]
Cowards – pixilated footage pre-edit copies for Guy (Maddin?). 2002
Preludes – Commercial short films including “The Heart of the World” for 25th Anniversary of the Toronto International Film Festival. 2000

Return to Top

Audio visual material TC 146 2004

Box Folder  
2   Audiocassette Phone conversation between George Toles and Guy Maddin 2004

Return to Top

Artifacts
 

Box Folder  
2  
Artifacts [n.d.]
  • Blue and yellow painted clothespins from a Guy Maddin movie

Return to Top