The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Call Number: Mss 198, Pc 187, Tc 110, Mf 25, Rbr Pg 34 R845 1991 (A.91-53, A.99-36, A.04-97)
Title: J.B. Rudnyc'kyj fonds.
Dates: 1790, 1826-1853, 1880, 1903-1994.
Extent: 10.37 m of textual records and other material.
Biographical sketch: Jaroslav Bohdan Rudnyc'kyj was born on November 28, 1910 in Peremysl', Ukraine. Rudnyckyj graduated with a Ph.D. from the University of Lviv in 1937, specializing in Slavic philology and the onomastics (geographical place names) of eastern Europe. To continue these and other studies abroad, he left his homeland in 1937, staying for short periods in Berlin, Munich, Rome, and Paris before lecturing in Slavic philology at the Ukrainian Free University and at Charles University in Prague. In 1949, shortly after his immigration to Canada, he was appointed Chairman of the new Department of Slavic Studies at the University of Manitoba, a position he held until 1976. Rudnyc'kyj not only published widely and extensively but was also instrumental in developing a major Slavic collection for the University of Manitoba Libraries. He was interested in the philologies and literatures of East European languages, in the Slavic experience in Canada, and in the origin of place names. Rudnyc'kyj's publications consist of hundreds of articles and reviews, etymological dictionaries, translations, travel diaries, and onomastic studies. Rudnyc'kyj died in Montreal, Quebec on October 19, 1995.
Custodial history: The first accession (A.91-53) was donated by J.B. Rudnyc'kyj to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections in 1991. The second accession (A.99-36) was donated by Library and Archives Canada to Archives & Special Collections in 1999. The third accession (A.04-97) was donated to Archives & Special Collections by Library and Archives Canada in 2004.
Scope and content: The first accession consists of manuscripts, photo albums, and personal papers documenting J.B. Rudnyc'kyj's academic interests, his work as a member of the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism, and his service as head of the Department of Slavics from 1949 to 1976. The second accession consists of newspaper clippings and published materials relating to Rudnyc'kyj's academic career.
The textual material in the third accession pertains to J.B. Rudnyc'kyj's personal and professional life. This material includes correspondence, notes, receipts, minutes, agendas, programs, publications, maps, papers, essays, exams, galley proofs, drafts, financial ledgers, index cards, and posters primarily relating to Rudnyc'kyj's career as an educator, academic scholar, and author in the fields of linguistics and onomastics, as well as his organizational affiliations and his personal life. The microfilm collection consists of 35 reels of J.B. Rudnyc'kyj's library and other literary works. The photograph collection contains 26 photographs, primarily including photographic reprints of literary works. The fonds also includes 1 audio-cassette of a Radio-Canada International Ukrainian language broadcast in which J.B. Rudnyc'kyj discusses his involvement in the Bilingual/Bicultural Commission.
Source of supplied title: Title based on provenance of fonds.
Restrictions: Numerous files have been classified "Confidential" because they contain personal information. The use of these files is restricted to those researchers who have made successful applications to view the records in accordance with the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. All other records are available for use.
Accruals: No further accruals are expected.
Separated materials: An extensive book and pamphlet collection was removed from the 2004 accession and given to the Slavic Collection in the Elizabeth Dafoe Library for processing. The microfilm, photograph, and tape collections have been separated from the textual material so that they may be stored under the appropriate conditions and for ease of reference.
Finding aid: A printed preliminary inventory of the 1999 accession is available in the Archives' reading room and an online finding aid for the 2004 accession is available at the link below: