Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

J.B. Rudnyc'kyj fonds: MSS 198, MF 25, PC 187, TC 110 (A.04-97)

J.B. Rudnyc'kyj:

An Inventory of His Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Brett Lougheed
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2N2
(June 2005)

Finding aid encoded by Brett Lougheed (July 2005)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 198, MF 25, PC 187, TC 110 (A.04-97) converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
331 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2N2
 
Creator:
J.B. Rudnyc'kyj
 
Title:
J.B. Rudnyc'kyj fonds
 
Dates:
1790, 1834-1853, 1880, 1913-1991
 
Quantity:
7.95 m of textual records and other material
 
Identification:
MSS 198, MF 25, PC 187, TC 110 (A.04-97)
 
Language:
English; Ukrainian

Return to Top


Biography of J.B. Rudnyc'kyj

Jaroslav Bohdan Rudnyc'kyj was born on November 28, 1910 in Peremysl', Ukraine. He was the second of three children of Anthony and Julia Rudnyc'kyj. In 1929, J.B. Rudnyc'kyj registered in the Faculty of Arts at the University of L'viv and began studying Slavic languages and literature. He received his first M.A. Degree in 1934 and received his second M.A. in Polish Philology in 1936. Rudnyc'kyj acquired his Ph.D. degree in 1937. He travelled to Berlin in 1938 to become the technical editor of a comprehensive Ukrainian-German Dictionary . While in Berlin, Rudnyc'kyj was active in writing and lecturing and managed to finish his work on the dictionary, despite being arrested by the Gestapo in 1939 and confined to his home and workplace for a number of years.

Following this success, Rudnyc'kyj accepted an offer to teach in Prague at Charles University in 1941. It was in Prague that he began his life's work, An Etymological Dictionary of the Ukrainian Language , and is where he met and married his wife, Maryna (Lala) Antonovych in 1943. The couple fled Prague prior to the occupation of the city and settled in Rorhrbach, Germany where their first son, Zdan, was born. A daughter, Inka, was born in 1951 in Winnipeg. Rudnyc'kyj continued to write and lecture in a number of academic settings, including the Ukrainian Free University in Munich and Heidelberg University

Due to the devalued German currency, the Rudnyc'kyj's were close to bankruptcy and decided to emigrate to Winnipeg in 1949. Rudnyc'kyj became a "cultural worker" for the Ukrainian Cultural and Educational Centre, started a lecture tour, and assisted in the formation of a Canadian branch of the Ukrainian Free Academy of Sciences - UVAN. In 1949, Rudnyc'kyj was hired by the University of Manitoba as the first professor of Slavic Studies and was instrumental in the formation of the Department of Slavic Studies, including acquiring an extensive collection of Slavic library books, publishing Slavic textbooks, and conducting fundraising campaigns.

Rudnyc'kyj remained an active participant in national and international conferences and assisted in the formation and administration of several organizations, including the Canadian Association of Slavists (CAS), Canadian Linguistic Association (CLA), and Canadian Institute of Onomastic Sciences (CIOS). In 1956, Rudnyc'kyj was appointed special consultant to the Library of Congress in Washington to conduct a survey of and make recommendations for the further development of its Ukrainian holdings. He was also appointed by Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson to the Royal Commission on Bilingualism and Biculturalism in 1963 and served until 1971

Graduate instruction in the Department of Slavic Studies was achieved in the late-1950s and Rudnyc'kyj served as the Department's Head until his retirement in 1977. In addition to Rudnyc'kyj's scholarly work, he also served on the boards of several cultural institutions, including the Winnipeg Public Library, Manitoba Citizenship Council, and various Ukrainian institutions. Dr. Rudnyc'kyj died in Montreal, Quebec on October 19, 1995.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The textual material in the fonds pertains to J.B. Rudnyc'kyj's personal and professional life. This material includes correspondence, notes, receipts, minutes,agendas, programs, publications, maps, papers, essays, exams, galley proofs, drafts, financial ledgers, index cards, and posters primarily relating to Rudnyc'kyj's career as an educator, academic scholar, and author in the fields of linguistics and onomastics, as well as his organizational affiliations and his personal life. The microfilm collection consists of thirty-five reels of J.B. Rudnyc'kyj's library and other literary works. The photograph collection contains twenty-six photographs, primarily including photographic reprints of literary works. The fonds also includes one audio-cassette of a Radio-Canada International Ukrainian language broadcast in which J.B. Rudnyc'kyj discusses his involvement in the Bilingual/Bicultural Commission.

Return to Top


Arrangement of the Papers

This collection is arranged into eleven series: Personal, Correspondence, Organizational Affiliations, Academic, Research Notes and Writings, Publications, Index Cards, Oversize Posters, Microfilm, Photographs, and Tapes. The Academic series consists of two sub-series: Ukrainian Catholic University of St. Clement and University of Manitoba. The Research Notes and Writings series consists of seven sub-series: An Etymological Dictionary of the Ukrainian Language , Old Church Slavic Etymological Dictionary , Old Church Slavic - Greek Dictionary by T. Lynaught, German-Ukrainian Dictionary , Onomastics, Library of Congress (U.S.) Survey of Ukrainian Holdings , Linguistic Rights and Linguicide , and Structural Changes in Canadian Slavics. The Publications series consists of eight sub-series: Dissertations, Academic Papers, Manuscripts, Newspaper Clippings, Journal Articles and Bulletins, Academic Conferences, Academic Institutions, Miscellaneous, and Uncut Facicles.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Numerous files have been classified "Confidential" because they contain personal information. The use of these files is restricted to those researchers who have made successful applications to view the records in accordance with the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. All other records are available for use.

Return to Top


Related Materials

A previous accession of material (A.91-53) was acquired by the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections and is stored in the Rare Book Room (RBR PG 34 R845 1991). Another accession (A.99-36) was acquired by Archives & Special Collections and has not been processed. Library and Archives Canada also features an extensive collection of material relating to J.B. Rudnyc'kyj.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The material was donated to the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by Library and Archives Canada in 2004.

Return to Top


 

Detailed Description of the Collection

Personal, 1913-1991 ]
Box Folder  
1 1 Alexander Rudnyc'kyj, 1979 
  2 C Student History - Zdan Rudnyc'kyj, 1964-1967 [Confidential]
  3 Receipts, 1949-1974
  4 Miscellaneous, 1969-1970
  5 Miscellaneous, 1991, n.d.
  6 Certificates of Participation for Course in Higher Learning in Winnipeg, 1913
  7 Resolution and Petition, re: Bilingual School in Manitoba, 1916
  8 Correspondence, re: Appraised Value of Gregory Bozhak Reminiscences and Discussions on Kuban's Inclusion in Ukraine, 1979 [Confidential]
  9 Biographical Reminscences of Gregory Bozhak - re: Carpatho Ukraine, 1939
  10 Biographical Reminscences of Gregory Bozhak - re: Ukrainian National Republic Army (1919), 1970
  11 Biographical Reminscences of Gregory Bozhak, 1969-1973
  12 Biographical Reminscences of Gregory Bozhak, 1969
  13 Biographical Reminscences of Gregory Bozhak, n.d.
  14 Biographical Reminscences of Gregory Bozhak, 1970
  15 Kuban's Inclusion in Ukraine, 1945-1978

Return to Top


Correspondence, 1953-1983
Box Folder  
1 16 Notes, re: Linguistics, n.d.
  17 Correspondence, 1958-1977
Box Folder  
2 1 Miscellaneous, 1957-1983
  2 Miscellaneous, 1971-1974
  3 Miscellaneous, 1972-1974
  4 Ukrainian Community Life in Winnipeg, 1953-1954

Return to Top


Organizational Affiliations, 1947-1977
Box Folder  
2 5 Canadian Library Association, 1960-1973
  6 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting - Program, 1973
  7 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting - Publications, 1973
  8 Lord Selkirk Community Committee and Resident Advisors - Minutes, Agendas, Newsletters, and Correspondence, 1971-1973 (File 1 of 2)
Box Folder  
3 1 Lord Selkirk Community Committee and Resident Advisors - Minutes, Agendas, Newsletters, and Correspondence, 1971-1973 (File 2 of 2)
  2 Lord Selkirk Community Committee, 1973-1974
  3 Miscellaneous Associations, 1960-1976
  4 Second United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names - Agendas and Items, 1972
  5 Second United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names - Papers to be Presented by Canadians, 1972
  6 Second United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names - Publications and Maps, 1971-1972
Box Folder  
4 1 Second United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names - Publication, 1972
  2 United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names - Publications, 1967
  3 United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names - Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names - Publication, 1967
  4 Ukrainian Canadian Committee - Winnipeg, 1954-1976
  5 Ukrainian Free Academy of Sciences (UVAN) - Correspondence, 1947-1976
  6 Ukrainian Free Academy of Sciences (UVAN) - Correspondence, 1958-1976
  7 Ukrainian Free Academy of Sciences (UVAN) - Correspondence, 1966-1967
  8 Ukrainian Free Academy of Sciences (UVAN) - Miscellaneous, 1956-1974
  9 Ukrainian Free Academy of Sciences - Passbooks, 1972-1977
  10 Ukrainian Free University - Correspondence, 1977

Return to Top


Academic, 1939-1977
Ukrainian Catholic University of St. Clement, 1976
Box Folder  
4 11 Students' Papers, 1976
University of Manitoba, 1939-1977
Box Folder  
4 12 Correspondence, 1939-1977
Box Folder  
5 1 Correspondence, 1944-1974
  2 Correspondence, 1953-1976
  3 Correspondence, 1953-1977
  4 Correspondence, 1962-1977
  5 Correspondence, 1965-1976
  6 Correspondence, 1950, 1971-1977 [Confidential]
  7 Correspondence, 1970-1975
Box Folder  
6 1 Correspondence, 1970-1977
  2 Correspondence, 1970-1977
  3 Correspondence, 1971-1975
  4 Correspondence, 1971-1977 [Confidential]
  5 Canada Council - Correspondence, 1975-1976 [Confidential]
Box Folder  
7 1-3 Dean of Arts - Correspondence 1971-1977
  4 Interdepartmental Correspondence, 1951-1976 [Confidential]
  5 Interdepartmental Correspondence, 1973-1976 [Confidential]
  6 Other Universities - Correspondence, 1966-1976
  7 St. Andrew's College - Correspondence, 1974-1977
  8 Slavic Department - Correspondence, 1945-1977
  9 Newsletters and Correspondence, 1967-1973
Box Folder  
8 1 Newsletters, 1968-1973
  2 Research and Other Grants, 1974-1976
  3 Travel and Exchange Grants, 1974
  4 Class Lists, 1973-1974 [Confidential]
  5 Student History - Nicholas Brych, 1968-1973 [Confidential]
  6 Student History - Kathleen Geminder, 1973-1974 [Confidential]
  7 Student History - Valerie Hatten, 1973-1975 [Confidential]
  8 Student History - Stephan Jarmus, 1970-1974 [Confidential]
  9 Student History - Andrew Koshelanyk, 1969-1974 [Confidential]
  10 Student History - Michael Kosjar, 1974 [Confidential]
  11 Student History - John Melnyk, 1969-1973 [Confidential]
  12 Student History - John Muchin, 1967-1972 [Confidential]
  13 Student History - Zoya Prichodko, 1967-1975 [Confidential]
  14 Student History - Hermann Rempel, 1967-1970 [Confidential]
  15 Student History - Tamara Salzberg, 1968-1973 [Confidential]
  16 Student History - Lawrence Sosnowich, 1967-1969 [Confidential]
  17 Student History - Lawrence Yanchynski, 1970-1974 [Confidential]
  18 Course Notes, 1963
  19 Textbook and Supply Orders; Students' Papers, 1951-1974 [Confidential]
  20 Students' Minutes and Essays, 1953-1962 [Confidential]
Box Folder  
9 1 Thesis, Papers, and Minutes, 1971-1977
  2 Essays of Students of J.B. Rudnyc'kyj, 1974 [Confidential]
  3 Various Essays of University Students on Ukrainian Themes, 1976 [Confidential]
  4 Academic Examination Questions and Thesis Approvals, 1953-1978
  5 Examination Translations, 1957-1963 [Confidential]
  6 Exam Questions on Russian Language Course, 1959, 1961
  7 Students' Exams and Papua New Guinea Research Application, 1969-1976 [Confidential]
  8 Computer Register Exams, 1972-1974 [Confidential]
  9-10 Students' Exams, 1972-1976 [Confidential]
Box Folder  
10 1 Students' Tests and Exams, 1976 [Confidential]
  2 Students' Exams and Papers, 1976 [Confidential]

Return to Top


 

Research Notes and Writings, 1926-1982
An Etymological Dictionary of the Ukrainian Language, 1954-1982
Box Folder  
10 3 Handwritten Notes - A-B, 1961-1962 (Folder 1 of 5)
  4 Handwritten Notes - A-B, 1961-1962 (Folder 2 of 5)
  5 Handwritten Notes - A-B, 1961-1962 (Folder 3 of 5)
Box Folder  
11 1 Handwritten Notes - A-B, 1961-1962 (Folder 4 of 5)
  2 Handwritten Notes - A-B, 1961-1962 (Folder 5 of 5)
  3-5 Handwritten Notes - L-M (Proto-Slavic Element - Mrs. Dinnerman, 1966 (v-ix)), 1966
Box Folder  
12 1 Handwritten Notes - H-IA (Proto-Slavic Element in Ukrainian Language - Mrs. L. Dinnerman, 1966-1967), 1966-1967
  2 Handwritten Notes - R-S, n.d.
  3 Handwritten Notes - R-U, n.d.
  4 Handwritten Notes - H-Ch, n.d. (Folder 1 of 2)
Box Folder  
13 1 Handwritten Notes - H-Ch, n.d. (Folder 2 of 2)
  2-4 Handwritten Notes - D, O-P, n.d.
  5-6 Typed and Handwritten Notes - V, n.d.
Box Folder  
14 1 Handwritten Notes - V, n.d.
  2 Handwritten Notes and Galley Proof - IE, 1974
  3 Handwritten Notes - ZH, 1976
  4 Typed and Handwritten Notes - V, n.d.
  5 Typed and Handwritten Notes - V, n.d.
Box Folder  
15 1 Typed and Handwritten Notes - V, n.d.
  2 Typed and Handwritten Notes - G, n.d.
  3 Typed and Handwritten Notes - G, n.d.
  4 Typed and Handwritten Notes - G, n.d.
  5 Typed and Handwritten Notes - G, n.d.
  6 Typed and Handwritten Notes - G, n.d.
  7 Typed and Handwritten Notes - G, n.d.
  8 Typed and Handwritten Notes - G, n.d.
  9 Typed and Handwritten Notes - G, n.d.
  10 Typed and Handwritten Notes - G, n.d.
Box Folder  
16 1 Galley Proof - G, n.d.
  2 Galley Proof - G, n.d.
  3 Galley Proof - G, n.d.
  4 Galley Proof - ZH, n.d.
  5 Handwritten Notes - ZH, Z, n.d.
  6 Handwritten Notes - ZH, Z, n.d.
  7 Handwritten Notes - K, n.d.
  8 Handwritten Notes - K, n.d.
  9 Handwritten Notes - K, n.d.
  10 Handwritten Notes - K, n.d.
  11 Handwritten Notes - Z, n.d.
Box Folder  
17 1-4 Handwritten Notes - Part 17-21, Z-P, n.d.
  5 Handwritten Notes - P-R, n.d. (Folder 1 of 2)
Box Folder  
18 1 Handwritten Notes - P-R, n.d. (Folder 2 of 2)
  2 Handwritten Notes - S-T, n.d.
  3-4 Handwritten Notes - U-', n.d.
  5 Typed Notes - K, n.d.
  6 Typed Notes - L-M, n.d.
  7 Typed Notes - N-O, n.d.
Box Folder  
19 1 Typed Notes - P, n.d.
  2 Typed Notes - R, n.d.
  3 Typed Notes - S, n.d.
  4-5 Typed Notes - T-IA, n.d.
  6 Handwritten Notes - Entire Alphabet, 1962 (Folder 1 of 3)
  7 Handwritten Notes - Entire Alphabet, 1962 (Folder 2 of 3)
Box Folder  
20 1 Handwritten Notes - Entire Alphabet, 1962 (Folder 3 of 3)
  2 Handwritten Notes - Addenda, Corrigenda, n.d.
  3 Notes and Drafts, n.d.
  4 Notes, 1965-1967
  5 Notes, 1968-1970
  6 Drafts: Cover - Pg. 528, n.d.
Box Folder  
21 1 Drafts: Pg. 529-656, n.d.
  2 Drafts: Pg. 676-752, n.d.
  3 Drafts: Pg. 753-816, n.d.
  4 Drafts: Pg. 817-912, n.d.
Box Folder  
22 1 Drafts: Pg. 913-1008, n.d.
  2 Drafts: Pg. 1009-1127, n.d.
  3 Drafts: "Ukrainian Etymological Dictionary," 1942
Box Folder  
23 1 Index to Volume I, by O. Woycenko and F. Bogdan, 1977
  2 Handwritten Notes, Clippings, and Reviews, 1955-1973
  3 Financial Ledgers, 1955-1971
  4 Correspondence, Orders, and Receipts, 1954-1978
  5 Correspondence and Orders, 1962, 1974-1977
  6 Correspondence and Orders, 1962-1977
  7 Correspondence, Orders, and Receipts, 1965-1977
  8 Correspondence and Orders, 1966-1977
Box Folder  
24 1-2 Miscellaneous, 1967-1982
Old Church Slavic Etymological Dictionary, 1975-1976
Box Folder  
24 3 Handwritten Notes - a, 1975-1976
  4 Handwritten Notes - b, 1975-1976
  5 Typed and Handwritten Notes - v, 1975-1976
  6 Typed Notes - g, 1975-1976
  7 Typed Notes - d, 1975-1976
  8 Typed Notes - e, 1975-1976
  9 Typed and Handwritten Notes - z, 1975-1976
  10 Handwritten Notes - i, 1975-1976
Box Folder  
25 1 Handwritten Notes - g-k, 1975-1976
  2 Handwritten and Typed Notes - l, 1975-1976
  3 Typed and Handwritten Notes - m-n, 1975-1976
  4 Handwritten Notes - o, 1975-1976
  5-7 Handwritten Notes - p, 1975-1976
Box Folder  
26 1 Handwritten Notes - r, 1975-1976
  2-3 Handwritten Notes - s, 1975-1976
  4 Handwritten Notes - t, 1975-1976
  5 Handwritten Notes - t-ü, n.d.
Old Church Slavic - Greek Dictionary , by T. Lynaght, 1980
Box Folder  
26 6 Copy, 1980
German-Ukrainian Dictionary, 1943
Box Folder  
26 7 Galley Proofs, 1943
Box Folder  
27 1 Galley Proofs, 1943
  2 Galley Proofs, 1943
  3 Galley Proofs - N, P-Q, V, 1943
  4 Galley Proofs - M, W, 1943
  5 Galley Proofs - R, 1943
  6 Galley Proofs - L, 1943
  7 Galley Proofs - T, I, 1943
  8 Copies and Rudnyc'kyj Biography, n.d.
  9 Draft, 1943
Box Folder  
28 1 Draft, 1943
 
Onomastics, 1926-1977
Box Folder  
28 2 Formulas, n.d.
  3 Formulas, 1974 [Confidential]
  4 Hancov vs. North Ukrainian Dialects, 1926
  5 Dialectological Notes, 1933-1937
  6 Etymologixation or Literary Device, 1976
  7 "Relative Clauses in Teton Dakota," by R.T. Carter, n.d.
  8 Ukrainian "G" - A Case in Diglossian Phonology, n.d.
  9 Ukrainian Alphabet (Written in St. Boniface Hospital), 1977
  10 4th International Congress of Onomastic Sciences, 1951-1952
  11 Draye, H. - J.B. Rudnyc'kyj and C.I.S.O., 1971
  12 Word Vocabulary of Plants, 1938
  13 About the Name "Ukraine," 1951
Box Folder  
29 1 Velyhorsky, Ivan, Dr. - "The Origin and Meaning of the Name Canada" - also his bibiography, 1954-1955
  2 Names of Slavic Nationalities, 1963, 1966
  3 Computer Programming, 1956, 1971-1977
  4 Place Names - Correspondence, 1937-1958
  5 Place Names - Correspondence, 1963-1976
  6 Place Names - Correspondence, 1966-1975
  7 Place Names - Correspondence, 1975
  8 Place Names - Correspondence, 1949-1957
  9 Gogol's Place Names, n.d.
Box Folder  
30 1 Place Names Locations, n.d.
  2 Street Names - Correspondence - A.C. Roberts, Director of Surveys, re: "Winnipeg Mosaic of Street Names," 1972
  3 Street Names, 1954, 1974
  4 Street Names - Clippings, 1974
  5 Family Names - Vasyl Simovych, 1954
  6 Family Names - Sviatogor, by J.B. Rudnyc'kyj, 1964
  7 Family Names - About the Name Zbaraz, n.d.
  8 Ukrainian Family Names, 1973, 1976
  9 Slovenian Names in Canada, 1977
  10 German Family Names, n.d.
  11 Ukrainian Christian Names, n.d.
  12 Publications - Articles Written on Place Names and Surnames, 1946-1975
  13 Publications - Christensen, B. - Ceremonial Prose, n.d.
  14 Publications - Map of the Languages of Europe by Dr. Aldo Dami, 1951
  15 Publications - Hryczak, Y., Dr. - "Influence of Church and Religion on the Ukrainian Language," n.d.
  16 Publications - Karpenko, O. - About Names, 1975
  17 Publications - Kuryowicz, J., n.d.
  18 Publications - Oxford Heptaglot XVII, n.d.
  19 Publications - "Slavic Terms for God," by J.B. Rudnyc'kyj, 1974
  20 Publications - Schröpfer, J. - Mykene Names, 1914, 1963-1964
Library of Congress (U.S.) Survey of Ukrainian Holdings, 1954-1979
Box Folder  
30 21 "A Guide to the Slavic Collections in the Library of Congress," by B. Gorokhoff (First Draft), 1956(?)
  22 Catalogue Listing, n.d.
Box Folder  
31 1 Catalogue Listing, n.d.
  2 Catalogue Listing, n.d.
  3 Catalogue Listing, n.d.
  4 Correspondence, 1954-1956, 1977-1979
  5 Drafts, 1955-1979
Linguistic Rights and Linguicide, 1967-1968
Box Folder  
31 6 "Linguistic Rights and Linguicide" - Paper Prepared for Human Rights Commission, 1967-1968
Structural Changes in Canadian Slavics, 1956, 1976
Box Folder  
32 1 Structural Changes in Canadian Slavics, 1956, 1976

Return to Top


 

Publications, 1790, 1880, 1913-1987
Dissertations, 1963-1976
Box Folder  
32 2 Bodnarchuk, Dmytro - "Development of the Ukrainian Immigrants in the U.S. Before 1916," 1975
  3 Bryk, Mychajlo - "Oekrainers in Nederland," 1974-1975
  4 Epp, George - "The Educational Policies of Chatherine II of Russia, 1762-1796," 1976
  5 Haydey, Caroline - "Peter Karmansky and his Contribution to the Canadian-Ukrainian Life and Letters," 1976 (Folder 1 of 4)
  6 Haydey, Caroline - "Peter Karmansky and his Contribution to the Canadian-Ukrainian Life and Letters," 1976 (Folder 2 of 4)
  7 Haydey, Caroline - "Peter Karmansky and his Contribution to the Canadian-Ukrainian Life and Letters," 1976 (Folder 3 of 4)
Box Folder  
33 1 Haydey, Caroline - "Peter Karmansky and his Contribution to the Canadian-Ukrainian Life and Letters," 1976 (Folder 4 of 4)
  2 Kubrak, Tamara - "Kulish's Chorna Rada (Black Council): A Study in Bilingual Creativity, 1976
  3 Loeb, Louisa - "The Ukrainian Translations and Interests of Florence Randal Livesay," 1976
  4 Radchuk, Serge - "Ethnic Minorities and the New Canadian Constitution," 1975
  5 Semeniuk, Helen, and Hryhor Luzhytski, 1973
Box Folder  
34 1 Shumska-Moroz, Irena - "Romanticism in Ukraine in Relation to Western Europe," 1975
  2 Sojonky, Audrey Florence - "Ukrainian Canadian Literature - A Critical Survey of Representative Works to 1945," 1963
  3 Udod, Hrykoriy - "Ukrainian Self-Reliance League" (Pages 1-150), 1975
  4 Udod, Hrykoriy - "Ukrainian Self-Reliance League" (Pages 151-Finish), 1975
  5 Wolfe, James Snow (Abstract), 1975
Academic Papers, 1951-1980
Box Folder  
34 6 Berry, James G. - "The Tree of Life - St. Bonaventure," n.d.
  7 Bonvalet, Nicole - "Sir Politik Would-Be: Saint-Evremond premier 'adapteur' français de Ben Johnson," 1975
  8 Bordeaux, Rev. M. - "Religion and Human Rights: The Case of Soviet Ukraine," 1976
  9 Carnes, Ralph - "The Epistemology of Linguistic Relativity," 1967
  10 Carpentier, Paul - "Perspectives on Folklore Studies in French Canada," 1975
  11 Cowan, Wm. - "Proto-Algonquian Consonant Clusters in Montagnais," 1975
  12 Dialect Geography and Toponymics, n.d.
  13 Driedger, Leo - "Ukrainian Identity in Winnipeg and Structural, Social and Individual Factors in Language Maintenance in Canada,"  1976
  14 Escure, Genevieve - "Deletion Processes in Language Change" (Notes), 1975
  15 Esterhill, Frank - "Interlinguistics: Some Historical Perspectives," 1974
  16 Foldway, Laszlo - "A Method of Etymological Analysis of Languages," 1977
  17 Henderson, M. Carole - "Ethnic Folklore Studies in Canada: A Survey," 1975
  18 Hewson, J. - "The Micmac Internal Plural" (Notes), 1975
  19 Hobart, C.W., W.E. Kalbach, J.T. Borhek, and A.P. Jacoby - "Persistence and Change: A Study of Ukrainians in Alberta," n.d.
  20 Holm, W. - "Ukrainian Modernism," 1977
  21 James, William C. - "A Voyage Into Selfhood: Hugh MacLennan's The Watch that Ends the Night ", 1975
Box Folder  
35 1 Jones, C.M. - "The Name of God in the French Songs of Geste," n.d.
  2 Jones, Pauline A. - "Discussant's Comments on J.W. Berry's Paper: Language, Culture and Cognition in Canada," 1975
  3 Kess, J.F. - "Assimilation and Change of Slovene Names," 1975
  4 Kirkconnell, W. - "The Role of the Ethnic Press," n.d.
  5 Kleiner, I. - "Man in Marxist-Leninist Philosophy," 1976
  6 Kymasz, Robert B. - "Luchak's Easter: Synopsis, Notes and Transcriptions," n.d.
  7 Klymasz, R. - "Ukrainian Folklore in Canada: The Big Put-Down," 1977
  8 Korybanyc, M - Notes on J.B. Rudnyc'kyj's lecture "Language Rights of Minorities," n.d.
  9 Kysilewsky, V.J. - "Destructive Impulses and their Results," n.d.
  10 "Les Transformations de la Theologie Quebecoise, 1940-1973: Premier Resultats d'une Recherche en Cours," n.d.
  11 Lupart / Pelletier - Notes, 1975
  12 Malycky, A. - "The Linguistic Assimilation to Ukrainian in the U.S.S.R., n.d.
  13 Miscellaneous, 1951-1976
  14 Miscellaneous, 1967-1976
  15 Miscellaneous, 1977-1980
  16 Miscellaneous, 1977-1980
  17 Paterson, Morton - "Divine Encounter in Blewett," 1975
  18 Pelletier, G. - Canada Ethnic Press Federation, 1972
  19 Pinczuk, Jaroslav R. - "Canadian Immigrant Language Patterns, 1961-1971," 1976
  20 Sosin, G. - Uncensored Poems / Songs of Soviet Magnitizdat, 1974
  21 Students' Papers, n.d.
  22 Swain, Merrill - "Social Factors in Second Language Learning and Bilingualism: Response to R.C. Gardner," 1975
  23 Synge, J. - "Oral History and Research on Ontario Family Patterns in the Early 20th Century," 1975, n.d.
  24 Tarnawecky, I. - "Ukrainians in North America," 1977
  25 Tarnawecky, Iraida - "Work on an Old Church Slavic Etymological Dictionary," n.d.
  26 Verdoodt, A. - "Linguistic Situation in German-Speaking Belgium," 1974
  27 Watts, Kathryn MacLean - "The Functions of Social Conflict Within Calgary's Polonia," 1976
  28 Wiebe, H.D. - "Problems in Language Teaching," 1975
  29 Wood, Richard E. - "Word-Class and Inflection in Esperanto," 1974
Manuscripts, 1790, 1927-1977
Box Folder  
36 1 Anderson, Roger B. - "The Teller in the Tale" (Pages 1-100), 1974
  2 Anderson, Roger B. - "The Teller in the Tale" (Pages 101-200), 1974
  3 Anderson, Roger B. - "The Teller in the Tale" (Pages 201-Finish), 1974
  4 Barida, M. - "Iconography of the Holy Wisdom Chapel," 1972
  5 Borushenko, Oksana - "100th Anniversary of Emsk Decree," 1976
  6 Breuer, Otto Z. - "Slovak Nationalism," 1963
  7 Copy of 1701 Manuscript in Old Church Slavic, n.d.
  8 Doroshenko, Prof. D. - "Ukrainian Historiography," 1946
  9 Georgacas, D. - "Byzantine," 1975
  10 Georgacas, D.J. - "Ichthyological Terms for the Sturgeon and Etymology of the International Terms Botargo, Caviar and Congeners (A Linguistic, Philological, and Culture-Historical Study)," 1975 (Folder 1 of 3)
  11 Georgacas, D.J. - "Ichthyological Terms for the Sturgeon and Etymology of the International Terms Botargo, Caviar and Congeners (A Linguistic, Philological, and Culture-Historical Study)," 1975 (Folder 2 of 3)
Box Folder  
37 1 Georgacas, D.J. - "Ichthyological Terms for the Sturgeon and Etymology of the International Terms Botargo, Caviar and Congeners (A Linguistic, Philological, and Culture-Historical Study)," 1975 (Folder 3 of 3)
  2 Georgacas, D.J. - "Turkish Ichthyonyms and Fishing Terms of Greek Origin," 1976
  3 "Guérios Etymological Dictionary of Names and Surnames," 1975
  4 Haril, S. - "Hariliada," 1927-1939
  5 Hordynsky, S. - "The Poem on Varstati," 1949
  6 Karmanskyj, P. - "Wandering Through the Centuries," 1930, 1974
  7 Kordiuk - "Geography of Ukraine," n.d.
  8 Kulcjckyj, O. - "Ukrainian Philosophical Dictionary," 1974
  9 Lisovyi, Iurii - "Scythians - A Historical Study," 1959
  10 Lisovyi, Iurii - "The Three Barons," 1970
  11 Lystopaol, M. - "Place Names of Ukraine," n.d.
  12 "Manifest", 1790
  13 Mickiewicz, A. - "Episodes in Pan Tadeuszu (in Polish)" and by J.B. Rudnyc'kyj (in English), n.d.
  14 Mikus, Prof. J.A. - "Slovakia - A Political Reality in Central Europe," 1975
  15 Oles, O. - "Kurchata," n.d.
  16 "Poetical Catalogue," n.d.
  17 "Reading Materials for Ukrainian Students in Public Schools of Manitoba," 1975
  18 Rudnyc'kyj, J.B. - Various, 1945-1947
  19 Rudnyc'kyj, J.B. - "About the Name Galycia," n.d.
  20 Rudnyc'kyj, J.B. - "Florence Randal Livesay," 1953
Box Folder  
38 1 Shteppa, P. - "An Aid to the Dictionary of Foreign Terminology," 1967
  2 Shteppa, P. - "Dictionary of the Barbarismes in Ukrainian," n.d.
  3 Slyalls, S. - "Toum of Botelka," 1957
  4 Stankevich, I. - "Dialect of Pskov," n.d.
  5 Sukhodol's'kyj, A. - "Khmara," n.d.
  6 "The Tales of Ihor," 1970 [Confidential]
  7 Ukrainian Lamentations, 1942
  8 United Nations Association in Canada (Winnipeg Branch) - "Submission to the Joint Parliamentary Committee on Immigration,"1975
  9 Vles, M. - "Velers," 1971, n.d.
  10 Vyhovskyj Reestra 1649, n.d.
  11 Wilcher's Franko, 1977
  12 "Writings of Slavists from the Petrograd Public Library," n.d.
  13 Zyla, Volodymyr - Writings Relating to the Works of Ivan Franko, n.d.
  14 Derszhavyn, Volodymyr - "Existentialism of Jean-Paul Sartre and Dostojyevsky," n.d.
Newspaper Clippings, 1913-1980
Box Folder  
38 15 Aften posten - Sweden, 1957
  16 The Australian Ukrainian Day Special, 1974
  17 Canadian Farmer , 1960
  18 Chas , 1946-1948
  19 Donnerstag - Germany (Article), 1958
  20 Donnerstag (Germany) and Winnipeg Free Press - J.B. Rudnyc'kyj Articles, 1957-1958
Box Folder  
39 1 Eye of the World - Montreal, 1950
  2 Literary Academic Supplement to New Times , 1938
  3 The Nationalist , 1940
  4 The New Pathway - Winnipeg, 1958
  5 Novyi Chas , 1936-1937
  6 Novyj Shlakh - Travel to Scandinavia, 1957-1958
  7 Our Life , 1946-1947
  8 Pu-Hu - Augsburgh, 1947
  9-10 Pu-Hu , 1947-1948
  11 Shliakh Molodi , 1936
  12 Soviet Ukraine , 1952
  13 Svoboda , 1952-1953(?)
  14 Today , 1947
  15 Ukrainian News , 1947, 1971
  16 Ukrainian Tribune , 1947-1948
  17 Ukrainian Voice - Winnipeg, 1978
  18 Ukrainske Slovo - Argentina, 1971
  19 Ukrainskyj Wisnyk - Berlin, 1944
  20 Winnipeg Free Press - Nina Paranyuk, 1957
  21 Winnipeg Free Press , Winnipeg Tribune - re: J.B. Rudnyc'kyj's Appointment to Slavic Department, 1949
Box Folder  
40 1 Donnazar, S. - re: Simplified Alphabet, 1976(?)
  2 Huslystyi, K.H. - Ukrainian Ethnogenesis, 1960
  3 Izhyk, Scmen - review of "Ukrainian" conversational and grammatical, Level 1 , 1973
  4 Krasnyikyi, S. - re: Ukrainian Diaspora, 1977
  5 Kravchenko, B. - re: Ukraine ca. 1917-1918, 1977
  6 Lutsiv, Luke - "Olga Kobylians'ka" (17 part series), n.d.
  7 Lyman, L. - re: Russian Name, 1975(?)
  8 Rudnyc'kyj, J.B. - "From Ukrainian Philology," 1960
  9 Rudnyc'kyj, J.B. - re: Ukrainian Lexicography, 1963(?)
  10 Savaryn, P. - re: Child of Church, 1977(?)
  11 Zanger, Pat - re: Evelyn Hinz, n.d.
  12 Australia, 1975-1976
  13 re: Bilous Sisters, 1958
  14 re: Cossacks in Canada, 1975
  15 re: Alan Dundas and Psychoanalytic Semiotics, 1975
  16 Miscellaneous, 1913-1976
  17 Miscellaneous, 1937-1952
  18 Miscellaneous, 1949-1980
  19 Miscellaneous, 1951-1974
  20 Miscellaneous, 1951-1974
Box Folder  
41 1 Miscellaneous, 1954-1978
  2 Miscellaneous, 1957
  3 Miscellaneous, 1957-1960
  4 Miscellaneous, 1975-1976
  5 Miscellaneous - Photocopies, 1974-1978
  6 Montreal Papers, 1964-1969
  7 re: Michael Palij, 1953-1974
  8 Travel to Scandinavia, 1955-1957
  9 Ukrainian Newsmagazines, 1948, n.d.
  10 re: U.S.S.R. Minorities, 1970
Journal Articles and Bulletins, 1880, 1915-1980
Box Folder  
41 11 Numerically Anotated - #1-20, 1944-1972
  12 Numerically Anotated - #21-40, 1941-1974
  13 Numerically Anotated - #41-60, 1957-1977
Box Folder  
42 1 Numerically Anotated - #61-80, 1942-1976
  2 Numerically Anotated - #85-102, 1928-1977
  3 Bloomfield, M.W. - Literary Theory and Criticism, 1968
  4 Canadian Comparative Literature Association, Comparative Literature in Canada , 1975
  5 Canadian Scene , 1971-1972
  6 Canadian Scene , 1972
  7 Chervona Kalyna , Visnyk - New York, 1951
  8 Cohen, Gerald - "On Semantic Differentiation," 1974
  9 Delaney, G.F. - Review of Community Names of Alberta , 1974
  10 Doroshenko, Natalia - "In Canada," 1948-1951
  11 Dr. B.P. - S J - "Ukrainian Catholic Church" (in German), 1976
  12 Drahomaniv, M., 1880
  13 Duravetz, George - "The Importance of Ukrainian in Canada," 1970
  14 Holm, W. - "Similarities, Parallels and Differences Between Luckyj and Przybyszewskyj," 1977
  15 Horbach, Oleksa - Various Writings, 1962
  16 Hryczak, E. - "Influence of Church and Religion in the Ukrainian Language," n.d.
  17 Hryczuita, M. - "Stephan Vasylchenko," 1968
  18 I.K. - "Ukrainian Orthodox Seminary," 1975
  19 Kanee, Sol - "On the Ideal Canadianism," 1974
  20 Kazdoba, K. - "The Ukraine in 1930," 1965
  21 Klymasz, R. - "The Ethnic Joke in Canada Today," 1970
  22 Kubijovych, V., 1971
  23 Kupranet, O. - "Father Dr. Vasyl Laba - The Rector for the Spiritual Seminary at the Monastery," 1975
  24 Kupranet, O. - "Viking Origins of the Name 'Rus'," 1976
  25 Leon Sills Newsletter, 1978-1979
Box Folder  
43 1 Leon Sills Newsletter, 1978-1979
  2 Lunt, Horace G. - Old Church Slavonic Glossary, 1959
  3 Miscellaneous, 1950-1968
  4 Miscellaneous, 1951-1978
  5 Miscellaneous, 1954-1976
  6 Miscellaneous, 1956-1970
  7 Miscellaneous, 1956-1976
  8 Miscellaneous, 1956-1980
Box Folder  
44 1 Miscellaneous, 1961-1977
  2 Miscellaneous Bulletins, 1952-1973
  3 Native Language #1-17, 1933-1934
  4 Native Language #18-30, 1934-1935
  5 Native Language #31-42, 1935-1936
  6 Native Language #43-54, 1936-1937
  7 Native Language #55-68, 1937-1938
Box Folder  
45 1 Native Language #69-80, 1938-1939
  2 Office of the Minister of Man Power and Immigration, 1976
  3 Oseli UPV (München), 1948
  4 Slavytuch, Y. - Onomastics - Ukrainian Names in Alberta, 1973, 1976
  5 Sociolinguistics Newsletter , 1976
  6 Stoczky-Saml, Roman - "Ukrainian Language in the Soviet Ukraine," 1967
  7 Svane, E. - Linguistics - "The Case for Esperanto," 1968
  8 Sukhobokov, O. - "Babas of Ukraine," 1972
  9 Superanskai, A.V. - Onomastic Theory, 1973
  10 Tonybee, A. - On the Ukraine, 1915, 1976
  11 Ukrainian Publications, 1969-1980 [Confidential]
  12 Ukrainian Publications, 1974-1976
  13 Ukrainian Workers Association, n.d.
  14 Vernadsky, G. - The Origin of Russia, 1955
  15 Wachowicz, Ruy Christovam - "Abranches: Parõquia Da Imigração Polonesa - Um Estudo De Histõria Demogrãfica," n.d.
  16 Zapytnyk , Ukrainska Vilna Acadeia - Augsburg, 1946
  17 Zuk, Radoslaw - "Development of Ukrainian Culture," 1977
  18 Zyla, Wolodymyr - Various Articles, 1962
  19 A-Ba, 1938-1972
Box Folder  
46 1 Ba-Bo, 1946-1974
  2 Br-Ca, 1940-1976
  3 Ca-De, 1931-1975
  4 De-Dr, 1934-1978
  5 Ei-Hi, 1951-1975
Box Folder  
47 1 Ho-In, 1936-1977
  2 In-Kl, 1950-1971
  3 Kl-Ku, 1924-1976
  4 Ku-Ma, 1950-1969
  5 Ma-Na, 1950-1973
Box Folder  
48 1 Na-Ox, 1941-1969
  2 Pa-Ra, 1930-1975
  3 Ra-Rudnyc'kyj, 1939-1978
  4 Rudnyc'kyj, 1946-1978
  5 Rudnyc'kyj, 1944-1976
Box Folder  
49 1 St.-Sl, 1952-1975
  2 So-Th, 1932-1976
  3 Ti-Uk, 1930-1973
  4 Uk-We, 1941-1976
  5 We-Z, 1951-1977
Academic Conferences, 1953-1976
Box Folder  
50 1 Canadian Linguistic Association, 1975
  2 Institut International D'Etudes Europeenes, "A. Rosmini" (Abstracts), 1969
  3 Miscellaneous, 1953-1976
Academic Institutions, 1956-1977
Box Folder  
50 4 "Ukrainian Studies Courses at Canadian Universities," 1977
  5 Miscellaneous, 1956-1975
  6 Miscellaneous, 1961-1976
  7 Miscellaneous, 1970-1976 [Confidential]
Miscellaneous, 1937-1987
Box Folder  
51 1 Books in Polish or Relating to Poland, 1960, 1974-1975
  2 Byliny Folk Songs, n.d.
  3 English Publications, 1951-1978
  4 English Publications, 1957-1980
  5 English Publications, 1959-1976
Box Folder  
52 1 English Publications, 1969-1980
  2 Language, 1973-1974, 1987
  3 Lecture Tours, 1971-1974
  4 Museum Galleries and Exhibits, 1967-1974
  5 Onomastics Material, 1937-1949
  6 Programs, Pamphlets, and Brochures, 1951-1975
  7 Theatre, 1967-1972
  8 Travel, 1978-1981
  9 Ukrainian Publications, 1969-1977
Box Folder  
53 1 Unsorted Articles, 1974-1975
  2 Unsorted Articles, 1974-1975
  3 Unsorted Articles, 1974-1975
  4 Unsorted Articles, 1974-1975
  5 Unsorted Writings, 1948-1953
  6 Unsorted Writings, 1955-1957
  7 Unsorted Writings, 1966, n.d.
  8 Unsorted Writings, n.d.
  9 Varied Printed Material, 1938, 1947
  10 Varied Printed Material, 1944-1948
  11 Varied Printed Material, 1944-1948
Box Folder  
54 1 Varied Printed Material, 1946-1947
  2 Varied Unsorted Articles Written by Various Authors, 1959, n.d.
  3 Varied Unsorted Articles Written by Various Authors, n.d.
  4 Varied Unsorted Articles Written by Various Authors, n.d.
  5 Various Themes, 1955-1974
  6 Various Themes, 1955-1977
  7 Various Themes, 1957-1974
Box Folder  
55 1 Various Themes, 1957-1974
  2 Various Themes, 1963-1972
  3 Various Themes, 1966-1974
Uncut Facicles, 1957-1962
Box Folder  
55 4 Rudnyc'kyj, J.B. - Canadian Place Names of Ukrainian Origin , 1957
  5 Rudnyc'kyj, J.B. - Etymological Formula with Especial Reference to Slavic , 1962
  6 Rudnyc'kyj, J.B. - From My Canadian Diary, 1949-1959 , n.d.
  7 Rudnyc'kyj, J.B. - From My Scandinavian Diary , n.d.
  8 Zyla, W.T. - Contribution to the History of Ukrainian and Other Slavic Studies in Canada , 1961

Return to Top


Index Cards, 1983, n.d.
Box  
56 Meanings of Personal Names - A-H, n.d.
Box  
57 Meanings of Personal Names - H-P, n.d.
Box  
58 Meanings of Personal Names - P-Z, n.d.
Box  
59 Etymological Dictionary of the Ukrainian Language Bibliography; Slavic Index to Trautman BSW; Abbreviations and Literature; Geographical Names; Abbreviations; Personal Names with References; n.d.
Box  
60-61 Cossack Surnames, 1983

Return to Top


Oversize Posters, 1955-1975
Box  
62 Oversize Posters, 1955-1975

Return to Top


Additional Material
Box Folder  
63 1 Lektsii z porivnial'noi hramatyky slov'ians'kykh mov by J.B. Rudnyc'kyj, ch.1 1948 (includes research notes)
  2 Ukrains'kyi nimets'kyi slovnyk (excerpts) by Z. Kuzela and J. Rudnyc'kyj, 1942-47 (includes correspondence)
  3 J. B. Rudnyc'kyj's prayer book "Khvalim hospoda: molytovnyk dlia ukraintsiv", 1945 (includes an announcement of Natalia Rudnytsky Chaplenko's death, October 18, 1953)
  4

Z podorozhi na Mal'tu, 1962 r. by J.B. Rudnyc'kyj, n.d.

(includes newspaper clipppings and research notes)

  5 Ukrains'ka mova ta ii hovory by J.B. Rudnyc'kyj, 1965 (annotated)
  6

Volodymyr Ikir's book: Zhyttia (annotated) 1975

(includes newspaper clippings and correpondence)

Return to Top


MF 25 - Microfilm Collection, n.d.
Box  
1
  • #1 - Liturgical Parchment in Slavonic - Mt. Sinai, n.d.
  • #2 - Book of Names - Slavonic - Mt. Sinai, n.d.
  • #3 - Old Church Slavonic(?), n.d.
  • #4-32 - Rudnyc'kyj Library (Dictionaries), n.d.

Return to Top


PC 187 - Photograph Collection, 1834-1853, 1946-1955, n.d.
Box Folder  
1 1

Miscellaneous, ca. 1946, n.d.

(3 photographs)

  • #1 - Serhii Domazar and his sailboat, ca. 1946
  • #2-3 - Unidentified Reception Attendees, n.d.
  2

Photographic Prints of Literary Material, 1834-1853, 1955, n.d.

(23 photographs)

Return to Top


TC 110 - Tape Collection, 1980
Box  
1
#1 - Radio-Canada International Ukrainian Language Program - re: J.B. Rudnyc'kyj and the Bilingual/Bicultural Commission, 1980

Total running time - 18:37

Program aired August 1980

Return to Top