Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

John F. Templeton fonds: MSS 262 (A2006-73)

John F. Templeton:

An Inventory of his papersat the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Lewis St. George Stubbs
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
334 Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, Manitoba
(May 2008)

Finding aid encoded by Lewis St. George Stubbs (May 2008)
Finding aid written in English.



Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
334 Elizabeth Dafoe Library
 
Creator:
John F. Templeton
 
Title:
John F. Templeton fonds
 
Dates:
1953-2002
 
Quantity:
1.75 m of textual records
 
Identification:
Mss 262 A.06-73
 
Language:
English

Return to Top


Templeton did postdoctoral work at UCLA (1961-1962), Brandeis University (1962-1964) & the University of London (1964-1967). He joined the School of Pharmacy at the University of Manitoba in 1967. He was made full professor in 1975.

Dr. Templeton's research has been directed toward the structure-metabolism relationships, steroid enzyme inhibition of potential value in the treatment of hormone dependent cancers, and on the cardiotonic structure-activity relationships between the plant cardiac glycosides and hormonal steroids, latterly in relation to an endogenous human steroid equivalent . Dr. Templeton gained an international reputation for his research on the organic and medicinal chemistry of steroids and serves on the editorial board of the journal, Steroids. In 2001 he was given a Doctor of Science by the University of London. In 2002 he was made a Professor Emeritus by the Faculty of Pharmacy.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The fonds is divided into 5 series. They include: Biographical information, articles & papers, course material, research material & student research notebooks.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

The student research notebooks will require permission to copy.

Return to Top


Restrictions on Use

Student research notebooks will require permission to copy.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the Department of Archives & Special Collections in 2006.

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION [2000-2002]
 
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 Biographical information 2000-2002

Return to Top


ARTICLES & LECTURES 1957-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 2 Templeton publications 1957-2006
  3 "Steroids with Cyclopropane Rings" 1981
  4 "Prospertone Derivatives that Mimic the Digitalis Drugs" report by Templeton & F.S. Labella 1992
  5 Paper presented at Armatose Conference in Tahoe City, California 1996
  6 Unpublished paper with Yangzhi Ling & Willson Caetano 1992
  7 "Synthesis & Evaluation of Novel Carbohydrate/Lipid Derivatives with Antimicrobal Activity" Templeton et al. 1999
  8 "Ouabain Protecting Groups: Acetylation & Trialkylsilylation" Templeton et al. 2000
  9 "Investigation of the Deprotection Products of Hexatrimethylsilyoubain" Templeton & Kaminsky 2000
  10 "Regioselective Derivation of Oubain with Trialkysilyl Reagents & Selective Oxidation of the Unprotected Alcohol" Templeton et al in Elsevier 2000

Return to Top


COURSE MATERIAL 1995-2006
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 11 Research notebook outline ca. 1995
  12 Faculty of Pharmacy - draft vision statement 1996
  13 Course outline Medicinal Chemistry II - Pharmacy 46:240 steroid section 1999
  14 Tuberculosis Antimicrobial Acquisition & Coordinating Facility - agreement 2002
  15 Faculty of Pharmacy - Self-Assessment Report submitted to the Canadian Council for Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs 2006

Return to Top


RESEARCH MATERIAL 1953-2001
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 MARL reference articles 1953-1965
  2 Anhydrous Trehalose 1962-1965
  3 MARL - silylation methods 1963-1987
  4 Organic Chemistry research into carbohydrates 1968-1990
  5 MARL project - NMR references 1973-1992
  6 Biliary excretion 1974
  7 Cord Factor 1975-1995
  8 Silane agents 1975-1997
  9 Ouabain references 1977-1998
  10 Pseudo Cord Factors 1979-1980
  11 Trehalose 1980-1999
  12 Research notes 1980
  13 Silylation references 1980-1985
  14 Dimeric steroids 1981-1996
  15 Templeton research notebook 1983
  16 Nuclear magnetic resonance basic 1983-1984
  17 MARL - AmB membranes 1987-1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 Zinc-Hoac reductions in the cortisol series 1987-1998
  2 MAB 39 research 1990
  3 MARL project 1991-1997
  4 Cardiac Steroid Glycosides - U.S. patent 1992-1993
  5 PMAC-HRF/MRC summer research scholarship 1994
  6 Mycobacterial Cell membrane structure 1995-1997
  7 MARL project 1996
  8 Lipid lowering agents 1996
  9 Joanne Ayotte summer student report 1996
  10 Helena Majgier-Baranowska research on ouabain deprivatization 1997
  11 Research for the Faculty of Pharmacy's contribution to the Faculty of Graduate Studies research page 1998
  12 F.S. Labella correspondence 1998
  13 Helena Majgier Baranowska - research & experiments 1998
  14 Research for Ouabain - Silyl paper 1998
  15 NMR tables for silyiated ouabain paper 1999
  16 Ab 42 research 1999
  17 Future research projects 1999
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 Trehalose 1999
  2 Endogenous ouabain research 1999
  3 Possible experiments 1999
  4 Vikrum Serveiya correspondence ca. 1999
  5 Mono-Trilsopropylsilyation of Ouabain research by Alison Lester 1999
  6 Sun screen research material 1999
  7 Heather Benson research 1999
  8 JB 21 research 1999
  9 JB 18 CDCL 3 45 C - research ca. 1999
  10 JB 11 F53 CD 3 another ouabain derivative ca. 1999
  11 Ouabain 1999
  12 TAACF - antimicrobal testing 2001
  13 Ion pair - NMR - hypothesis research 2000
  14 Benzophenone Dimer Synthesis research 2001

Return to Top

STUDENT RESEARCH NOTEBOOKS 1969
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
5 1 Jeffrey Nowatski 1969
  2 Ray Linklater 1971
  3 R.S. Kim 1972-1975
  4 Volkar Paslat 1972
  5 Roberta Kerik 1975
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
6 1 Mohani Singh 1975-1976
  2 Volker Paslat 1975-1977
  3 Dennis F. Mitchell 1976-1978
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
7 1 Carole Chambers 1976
  2 Ken Seaman 1978
  3 C.C. Jackson 1978-1981
  4 Sashi Kumar 1982-1986
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
8 1 Alfred Au 1982
  2 Sashi Kumar 1983-1987
  3 T. H. Zeglan 1983
  4 Jin Ji Chan 1984
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
9 1 Anne Friesen 1984-1987
  2 Azza El Sheikh 1984
  3 Rakesh Gupta 1985-1986
  4 Eun Mee Lee 1985
  5 L. Milosevic 1986
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
10 1 Peter Wong 1986
  2 Rakesh K. Gupta 1986-1987
  3 K. Juravsky 1987-1988
  4 Edmund Yu 1987
  5 T.H. Zeglan 1988-1991
  6 Gregg Eshun 1988
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
11 1 Kathryn Juravsky 1988
  2 Angie Marr 1989
  3 Randy Pituia 1989-1991
  4 Samar 1989
  5 Mark Boehmer 1990
  6 Todd Mereniuk 1991
  7 Helena Majgier-Baranowsky 1991
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
12 1 Helena Majgier-Baranowski 1991-1992
  2 Helena Majgier-Baranowski 1993-1994
  3 Weiyang Lin 1993
  4 Joel Kroeker/Randy Pituia 1993
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
13 1 Weiyang Lin 1993
  2 Willson Caetano 1994
  3 Helena Majgier-Baranowski 1994-1995
  4 Helena Majgier-Baranowski 1995-1996
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
14 1 Helena Majgier-Baranowska 1996-1998
  2 Joanna Ayotte 1996-1997
  3 Thomas Lee 1997
  4 Dr. Jay Radhakrishnan 1997
  5 Allison Lester 1999
  6 Melissa Baker 1999

Return to Top