Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

Western Region Canadian Association of University Schools of Nursing fonds.: MSS 194 (A2002-62)

Western Region Canadian Association of University Schools of Nursing:

An Inventory of Its Records at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections.

Inventory prepared by Brian Hubner.
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2004)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (February 2005)
Finding aid written in English.

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - Mss 194 (A2002-62) converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Western Region Canadian Association of University Schools of Nursing (WRCAUSN)
 
Title:
WRCAUSN Collection
 
Dates:
1968-1989
 
Quantity:
0.5 m of textual material
 
Identification:
Mss 194 (A2002-62)
 
Language:
English.

Return to Top


Administrative History of Western Region Canadian Association of University Schools of Nursing

WRCAUSN was foounded in 1969 to provide a forum for the concerns of nursing educators in the four western provinces (Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and British Columbia). WRCAUSN is one of the regional branches of the Canadian Association of Schools of Nursing (CASN), but unlike CASN it allows both institutional and individual members. Annual meetings are hosted by an institutional member and the organization is governed by an elected executive (president, vice-president, secretary-treasurer, and members-at-large).

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Records

The fonds consists of the correspondence; minutes; reports; constitution and bylaws; membership lists; and financial statements of the association.

Return to Top


Organization of the Records

These records are organized into five series

  • 1. General Files
  • 2. Minutes
  • 3. Financial
  • 4. Reports
  • 5. Other

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

Written permission of the organization is need to view the records. Please consult with an archivist.

Return to Top


Custodial History

The archival material was donated in 2002 (A.02-62).

Return to Top


Other Finding Aids

A2000-17

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Records

General Files
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
1 1 CAUSN, [1988]
  2 CAUSN, [1986-87]
  3 CAUSN, [1984-85]
  4 CAUSN Conference Planning, [1986]
  5 WRCAUSN, [c. 1960's]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 1 WRCAUSN, [1975-77a]
  2 WRCAUSN, [1975-77b]
  3 WRCAUSN, [1980-83]

Return to Top


Minutes
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
2 4 WRCAUSN, [1981]
  5 WRCAUSN, [1982]
  6 WRCAUSN, [1983 (Feb. & June)]
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 1 WRCAUSN, [1984]

Return to Top


Financial
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
3 2 WRCAUSN, [1985]
  3 WRCAUSN, [1987 (Feb. & June)]

Return to Top


Reports
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 1 Operation "Bootstrap", [1978-81]
  2 Accreditation, [c. 1980's]
  3 Accreditation, [1984]
  4 Nursing Specialization, [1985 & 1988]
  5 Nursing Administration, [1986]
  6 Strategic Planning, [1986]
  7 WRCAUSN Entry to Practice, [1987]

Return to Top


Others
Box Folder                                                                                                                                                                                 
4 8 48 Honorary Life Time Membership Certificates, [ca. 1980s]
  9 CAUSN Information held at UBC School of Nursing

Return to Top