C. Thomas Shay fonds: MSS 155, PC 162 (A1999-82, A2001-31)

C. Thomas Shay

An Inventory of C. Thomas Shay's Papers, Correspondence at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections

Inventory prepared by Vladimira Zvonik (A.01-31), inventory for (A.99-82) not available. 
Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba
Elizabeth Dafoe Library, Winnipeg, MB, R3T 2N2
(2001)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2003)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

• July 26, 2005 - Mss 155 - A.01-31, A.99-82 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).

Table of Contents

Collection Summary

Biography of C. Thomas Shay

Scope and Contents of the Papers

Organization of the Papers

Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on Use

Custodial History

Detailed Description of the Collection

A.01-31

Biographical Information

Research Papers

Finances

Correspondence

Conferences 1960-2000

Rafferty 1988-1995

Midea Archaeological Project 1988-1998

Troy Archaeological Project

Jordan Archaeological Project

Eleusis Archaeological Project

Nichoria Archaeological Project

Kommos Archaeological Project

Flood Info

House Info

PC 162 - Photographs, Slides, Negatives

Memorabilia

Posters

Index Cards - Box 45 - 52

A.99-82

University of Manitoba - Courses Taught

Correspondence 1958-1989

University of Minnesota

Miscellaneous

Box 21, 1960-69

Box 22, 1970-78

Box 23, 1970-77

Box 24, 1976-78

Box 25, 1980-89

Box 26, 1970-1989

Box 27, 1980-89

Box 28, 1990-97

Box 29, 1990-98

Box 30, 1970-98

Box 31, 1986

Box 32 Test Questions

Collection Summary

Repository:
C. Thomas Shay fonds
Archives & Special Collections, University of Manitoba

Creator:
C. Thomas Shay

Title:
C. Thomas Shay fonds

Dates:
1953-2001

Quantity:
14.5 m of textual records; 8 boxes of index cards; 495 negatives; 424 photographs; 7 posters

Identification:
Mss 155, PC 162 - A.01-31, A.99-82

Language
English.

Return to Top

Biography of C. Thomas Shay

Dr. Creighton Thomas Shay received his B.A. (1960); M.A. (1965); and Ph.D. (1970) from the University of Minnesota in Anthropology. In 1961-62 he was awarded a Fulbright Scholarship to train and study at the Danish National Museum in Copenhagen.

In 1964, he became an instructor in the Extension Division of the University of Minnesota and the following year was appointed an Assistant Professor at Colorado State University. In 1967, Shay took an appointment as a Lecturer at the University of Manitoba which became an Assistant Professorship in 1970 upon completion of his doctorate. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 1972, a rank he held until his retirement in 1993 when he was made a Senior Scholar of the University.

Dr. Shay has undertaken research in variety of different areas of anthropology over his career focusing much of his research in ethnobotany and paleobotany in Greece, but more importantly in the northeastern prairies and plains of Canada and the United States, in particular Manitoba and Minnesota. He has published extensively in monographs, refereed journals and local publications. Many of these works were co-authored with his wife, Dr. Jennifer Shay, a former Botany professor at the University of Manitoba and recipient of the Order of Canada for her work on environmental causes.

In honour of the contributions that Dr. Shay has made to the University of Manitoba, former students, friends and colleagues established the C. Thomas Shay Scholarship for graduate study in Anthropology in 1993. Dr. Shay was also awarded the Manitoba Prix Award for Heritage Education in 1997. Dr. Shay continues to remain active and his current research interests include human ecology in Western Canada 3000 years ago until 1870; and the human ecology of the Bronze Age in Greece and the Mediterranean.

Return to Top

Scope and Contents of the Papers

The fonds consists of biographical information, correspondence with associates, material from the conferences Dr. C. Thomas Shay attended. The fonds also includes material related to rafferty, Souris Basin Heritage Study; Midea Archaeological Project; Troy Archaeological Project; Jordan Archaeological Project; Eleusis Archaeological Project; Nichoria Archaeological Project; Kommos Archaeological Project. It also contains information about 1996-97 floods in Manitoba and Dr. C. Thomas Shay’s personal experiences during the flood 1997. The fonds also includes the collection of maps, photographs and index cards related to the archaeological projects and research.

Return to Top

Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized in eigthteen series including PC 162 - photographs

• Biographical Info
• Research Papers
• Finances
• Correspondence - Dr. Shay's Associates
• Conferences
• Rafferty
• Midea Archaeological Project
• Troy Archaeological Project
• Jordan Archaeological Project
• Eleusis Archaeological Project
• Nichoria Archaeological Project
• Kommos Archaeological Project
• Flood Info
• House Info
• PC 162 - Photographs, Slides, Negatives
• Memorabilia
• Posters
• Index Cards

Return to Top

Restrictions on Access

Return to Top

Restrictions on Use

Two boxes has been designated confidential

Return to Top

Custodial History

The fonds was donated to the Department of Archives & Special Collections by C. Thomas Shay in 1999 (A.99-82) and in 2001 (A.01-31).

Return to Top

Detailed Description of the Collection

     A.01-31

Return to Top

      Biographical Information

Box
1	The C. Thomas Shay Scholarship - framed May 1, 1993

Box
2	Doctor of Philosophy from University of Minnesota, 1970

Box	Folder
3	1	Degrees Diploma from the Roosevelt High School,1952 BA from the University of Minnesota, 1960 MA from the University of Minnesota, 1965
	2	Diploma Danish Grad School, 1962
	3	Honorary discharge from the US Armed Forces, 1962
	4	Manitoba Naturalists Society Award, 1982
	5	Awards and Achievements President’s Award (Manitoba Naturalists Society), 1985 Certificate of Achievement in Auto Repair Program, 1982
	6	Red River Community College, Business Administration, Research Writing, 1985

Retirement 1993

Box	Folder
3	7	Certificate of Achievement for dedicated service, 1993
	8	Honorary Member of St. Paul’s College
	9	Emma Shay Book Fund
	10	Guest Register, April 5th 1993
	11	Guest Register, May 1, 1993
	12	The C. Thomas Shay Scholarship
	13	Newspaper articles, Congratulation cards and Correspondence
	14	Prix Manitoba Award, 1997

     Membership

Box	Folder
3	15	Society for Environmental History, 1997-2000
	16	Memberships Claire Hall Cambridge Society, 1972-73 Claire Hall Newsletter, 1972-76, 1985/86
	17	Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society of North America, 1975
	18	The Centre for Rupert’s Land Studies at the University of Winnipeg,1999-2000

Box	Folder
4	1	Society for Applied Anthropology in Manitoba, 1998-2000
	2	Memberships Manitoba Historical Society,1997 Canadian Authors Association, 1990’s

     Community Work

Box	Folder
4	3	Urban Information Exchange (Board member), 1976
	4	Community Newspaper – ROAR, 1974-77

Return to Top

     Research Papers

Box	Folder
4	5	Various articles, research papers pt.1
	6	Various articles, research papers pt.2
	7	Research Papers Research Project – Charcoal analysis S.E. Manitoba, 1979 Ethnobotany – Upper Ft. Garry & Red River Settlement, 1980’s
	8	Fisk Site – Lithic Material Spatial analysis, 1982

Box	Folder
5	1	Souris Mouth Posts – Wood and Charcoal, 1984
	2	Plants and People for Prairie Conference, 1985
	3	Historic Ethnobotany Western Canada, 1986
	4	Rafferty Reservoir – Upper Souris River, 1990
	5	Seeds in Archaeological sites, 1990-91
	6	Recent Developments in Paleoecology, 1994

Box	Folder
6	1	Research Fundamental Sclerotia in Archaeological Sites, 1994
	2	Paleoecology of Western Canada, 1995
	3	Review of Pettipas’ Migrations for Manitoba Museum (unpublished), 1996
	4	Heritage Gardening – Fort Whyte Centre, 1998
	5	From Privy Pits to Plants and People for Rupert’s Land Colloquium, 1998
	6	Research Comments on J. Shay’s Project, 1988-2000 also see Box 15 (A.99-82)
	7	Detailed List of Dr. Shay's papers donated to the University of Manitoba Archives, 2001

Return to Top

     Finances

confidential

     Research Finances 1988-2000

Box	Folder
7	1	1978
	2	1988
	3	1989
	4	1990
	5	1991
	6	1992
	7	1993
	8	1994
	9	1995
	10	1996
	11	1997
	12	1998
	13	1999
	14	2000

Box	Folder
8	1	Rafferty 1990
	2	Alameda Dam Project
	3	Conferences - bills
	4	Research Receipts 1998

Personal Finances 1970-1996

Box	Folder
8	5-18	confidential

Return to Top

     Correspondence

Personal Correspondence

Box	Folder
9	1	1962-1969
	2	1971-1976
	3	1982-1989
	4	1990-1996
	5	1997
	6	Get Well Wishes, 1992
	7	Post Cards, Greeting Cards, 1990-1999

Business Correspondence

Box	Folder
9	8	CBC cutback, 1996
	9	"Listening to Youth" forum - report on recommendations, 1995
	10	1990-1994
	11	1995-1996

Box	Folder
10	1	1997
	2	1998
	3	1999
	4	January - June 2000
	5	July - December 2000
	6	1999-2001

     Correspondence - Dr. t. Shay's Associates

Box	Folder
11	0	CV’s, Resumes, Personal info of Dr. T. Shay’s Associates confidential
	1	Advincula, Leonore, 1998-99
	2	Bajer, Robin, 1999-2000
	3	Braekevelt, Liz, 1997-1998
	4	Bridgeford-Read, Michael, 1994-1998
	5	Brueckner, Sara, 2001
	6	Carmichael, Dawna, 1988
	7	Chorney, Jocelyn, 1999-2000
	8	Chotka, A., 1996-1997
	9	Ciriviri-Gjuric, Vera, 1999-2000
	10	Coristne, Pamela, 1991
	11	Coyston, Shannon, 1989-1991
	12	Daftary, Amrita, 1998-1999
	13	Danyluk Donna, 1997-1999
	14	Davidson, Cassie, 1998-2000
	15	Deck, Donalee, 1986-1987
	16	Deck, Donalee, 1988-1991
	17	Desrosiers, Breanne, 2000
	18	Dueck, Lori, 1989-1990
	19	Dyszy, Katarzyna Anna, 2000

Box	Folder
12	1	Finkel, Zoe, 1993
	2	Frazer, Cheri, 1999
	3	Frego, Katherine, 1985-1988
	4	Frego, Katherine - work schedules, computer searches
	5	Fuller, Ann, 1996-98
	6	Grabish, Calla, 1998
	7	Hnasen, Julie, 1980-1981
	8	Hays, Jean-Anne, 2000
	9	Isfeld, Harpa, 1989
	10	Jackson, Robert, 1999-2000
	11	Jezik, Sandra, 1995-1998
	12	Johnson, Sandra, 2000-2001
	13	Jorgenson, Candace, 1993-1994
	14	Jorgneson, Jason, 1995-1996
	15	Jorgenson, Jason, 1997-1998
	16	Joyce, Peter, 2000
	17	Kaletsky, Greg, 1995-1996
	18	Kapinga, Margaret, 1990-1993
	19	Kapinga, Margaret, 1994

Box	Folder
13	1	Kapinga, Margaret, 1995-1998
	2	Klymasz, Andrea, 1988
	3	Kwan, Kok Kheen 2000
	4	Lavalee, Renee, 1996
	5	Lavalee, Renee, 1997-1998
	6	Lewis, Fern, 1995
	7	Malasiuk, Jordi, 1998-1999
	8	Mazer, Nicole, 1990
	9	McDonald, Rodney, 1997-1998
	10	McIntosh, Andrea
	11	McKinley, Val, 1998-1999
	12	McQueen, Ross, 1996
	13	Michaud, Pam, 1996
	14	Mills, Alana, 1988
	15	Morrissette, Paul, 1989-1991
	16	Moulton, Anne, 1992-1994
	17	Myhre, Brian, 1997-2000
	18	Nikou, Goerge, 1999
	19	Nord, Jennifer, 1999
	20	Olensky, John, 1991-1993
	21	Orlandini, Rosa, 1996-1997

Box	Folder
14	1	Parslow, Carla, 1999
	2	Perles, Michelle, 1997-2001
	3	Perry, Jessica, 1999
	4	Perry, Lianne, 1994
	5	Platford, Heather, 1991
	6	Podolsky, Lori, 1996-1999
	7	Powell, Christopher, 1999-2000
	8	Powell, Eddie, 2000-2001
	9	Quirion, Lisa, 2000
	10	Rosin, Leigh, 2001
	11	Sharpe, Laila, 1994
	12	Shwedyk, Edwina, 1999
	13	Spice, Kevin, 1995-1996
	14	Tomac, Anjanette, 1996-1997
	15	Storace, Fleur, 2000
	16	Ventura, Dawna, 1998-2000
	17	Waldner, Jenny, 1999-2000
	18	Waddell, Mike, 1989-1996
	19	Wiest, Monica, 1995-1996

Box	Folder
15	1	Wilson, Cole, 1986-1991
	2	Wilson, Cole, 1992-1999
	3	Wong, Agnes, 1995-1997

Return to Top

     Conferences 1960-2000

Box	Folder
15	4	List of all conferences, their dates and locations, 1960-2000
	5	Conferences 1960-1963 American Anthropological Association, 1960 Plains Conference (20th), 1962 American Anthropological Association (62nd), 1963
	6	Conferences, 1961 American Association of Physical Anthropologists - 1961
	7	Conferences, 1963 Conference on Prehistoric Human Ecology – 1963
	8	Conferences, 1964 Midwest Friends of the Pleistocene, 1964
	9	Conferences, 1965 INQUA (International Quaternary Association), 1965
	10	Conferences, 1967 Meeting on Paleoecology, 1967
	11	Conferences, 1968 Canadian Archaeological Association, 1968
	12	Society for American Archaeology, 1968
	13	Pleistocene and Recent Environments of the Central Plains, 1968
	14	Conferences, 1969 Midwest Friends of the Pleistocene, 1969
	15	Conferences, 1970 Canadian Archaeological Association, 1970
	16	Conferences, 1971 Canadian Archaeological Association, 1971
	17	Conferences, 1972 Canadian Archaeological Association, 1972
	18	Conferences, 1974 American Quaternary Association, 1974
	19	Conferences, 1964-1974 Society for American Archaeology (29th), 1964 American Anthropological Association (64th), 1965 Conference on Environmental Studies of the Glacial Lake Agassiz, 1966 Plains Anthropological Conference (25th), 1967 American Anthropological Association (67th), 1968 International Union for Quaternary Research, 1969 Early Man & Environments in Northwest North America, 1970 Second Midwest Prairie Conference, 1970 American Association of Stratigraphic Palynologists, 1970 Society for American Archaeology, 1973 London Conference: Prehistoric Houses and Settlements in Europe, 1973 Plains Conference (32nd), 1974 Symposium on Primitive Technology and Art, 1974

Box	Folder
16	1	Conferences, 1975 Canadian Archaeological Association, 1975
	2	Anthropology Mini-Conference, 1975
	3	PaleoIndian Life Ways Symposium, 1975
	4	Effect of Man on the Landscape: Lowland Zone, 1975
	5	Conferences, 1976 Joint Plains - Midwest Anthropological Conference, 1976
	6	AMQUA (American Quaternary Association, 1976
	7	Conferences, 1975-1976 Association of Manitoba Archaeologists meeting, 1975, 1976 Canadian Archaeological Association (9th), 1976 Society for American Archaeology (44th), 1976 Prehistory of the North American Sub-Arctic, 1976
	8	Conferences, 1977 Association of Manitoba Archaeologists, Winnipeg, 1977
	9	Conferences, 1978 Canadian Botanical Association, 1978
	10	Conferences, 1979 Canadian Botanical Association, 1979, pt.1
	11	Canadian Botanical Association, 1979, pt.2
	12	Conferences, 1980 Plains Conference, 1980
	13	Conferences, 1977-1980 Canadian Archaeological Association (10th), 1977 American Institute of Biological Sciences (28th), 1977 Plains Conference, 1978 Current topics in Northern Plains – Midwest Archaeology, 1979 International Palynological Conference, 1980 Southeastern Archaeological Conference, 1980

Box	Folder
17	1	Conferences, 1981 Society for American Archaeology, 1981
	2	International Botanical Association, 1981 pt.1
	3	International Botanical Association, 1981 pt.2
	4	Canadian Botanical Association, 1981
	5	Conferences, 1982 Canadian Botanical Association, 1982
	6	Conferences, 1983 VI Symposium: International Workgroup for Palaeoethnobotany, 1983
	7	Paleoecology Field Trip, 1983
	8	Plains Anthropology Conference, 1983
	9	Conferences, 1981-1983 Canadian Archaeological Association (14th), 1981 Plains Conference (39th), 1981 GAC/MAC, 1982 Plains Conference (40th), 1982 Ethnobiology Conference (6th), 1983 Ecological Society of America-Canadian Botanical Association, 1983

Box	Folder
18	1	Conferences, 1984-1989 International Wetlands Congress, 1984 Prairie Conference, 1984 Canadian Archaeological Association (18th), 1985 Canadian Botanical Association, 1988 Canadian Forest History Workshop, 1989
	2	Conferences, 1990 Corn and Culture in the Prehistoric New World, 1990
	3	Conferences, 1991 Medecos VI: International Conference on Mediterranean Climatic Ecosystems,1991 pt.1
	4	Medecos VI: International Conference on Mediterranean Climatic Ecosystems,1991 pt. 2
	5	Conferences, 1992 Plains Conference, 1992
	6	Conferences, 1993 Society of Ethnobiology Conference, 1993
	7	Society for American Archaeology, 1993
	8	IGGP 253 Field Trip, 1993
	9	Manitoba Archaeological Society, 1993
	10	Plains Anthropological Conference, 1993

Box	Folder
19	1	Conferences, 1994 Oneota Archaeology: Past, Present, Future, 1994
	2	Society of Ethnobiology Conference, 1994
	3	Conferences, 1994 American Quaternary Association, 1994 pt.1
	4	American Quaternary Association, 1994 pt.2
	5	Manitoba Archaeological Society, 1994
	6	Plains Anthropological Society, 1994
	7	Conferences, 1993-1994 IGCP 253 Termination of the Pleistocene, 1993 Apala Student Conference, 1994 Canadian Archaeological Association (27th), 1994 The Wildlands Project Prairies Workshop, 1994
	8	Conferences, 1995 Society for American Archaeology, 1995
	9	Conferences, 1996 Forest History Society Anniversary Celebration (50th), 1996

Box	Folder
20	1	Plains Anthropological Society, 1996 pt.1
	2	Plains Anthropological Society, 1996 pt.2
	3	Conferences, 1998 The Centre for Rupert’s Land Studies Colloquium, 1998
	4	North American Prairie Conference, 1998
	5	Plains Anthropological Conference, 1998
	6	Conferences, 1999 Plains Anthropological Conference, 1999
	7	Conferences, 2000 Canadian Botanical Association/ Can. Society of Plant Physiology, 2000
	8	North American Prairie Conference, 2000 pt.1
	9	North American Prairie Conference, 2000 pt.2
	10	Conferences, 1995-2000 APALA Student Conference (5th), 1995 Manitoba Archaeological Society, 1998 Midwest Friends of the Pleistocene Field Conference (46th), 2000

Return to Top

     Rafferty 1988-1995

Box	Folder
21	1	Correspondence, 1988-89
	2	Upper Souris Rafferty – Correspondence, 1984-95
	3	Upper Souris Rafferty – Correspondence, 1996-97
	4	Environmental and Human History of the Upper Souris River Valley, 1993 (Project)
	5	Souris Basin Heritage Study – background, maps, sediments – 1988 (Archives)
	6	Souris Basin Heritage Study – correlations of seeds and other remains, charred seed data (Archives)
	7	Souris Basin Heritage Study – seed tables, means and skewness, correction, data (Archives)
	8	Souris Basin Heritage Study – Rafferty project sample, inventory, computer directory (Archives)
	9	Sourin Basin Heritage Study – report format, lists of tables, figures, jobs, report tables, figures (Reports), 1992-95
	10	Sourin Basin Project – Report Drafts, Oklahoma Draft Report, 1992-95

Box	Folder
22	1	Paleoecological Investigations Report Drafts, 1992-95 pt.1 (Reports)
	2	Paleoecological Investigations Report Drafts, 1992-95 pt.2 (Reports)
	3	Paleoelogical Investigations Report for “Environmental and Human History of the Upper Souris River Valley” (Project)
	4	Souris Basin Heritage Project Site Reports, 1992 – principal components analysis (Projects)
	5	Appendix A – Flora and Vegetation Survey
	6	Appendix B – Inventories of Samples Processed for Plant Remains
	7	Appendix C – Densities/ Concentrations of Plant and Other Remains
	8	Appendix D – Analysis of Soil Indicators
	9	Appendix E-H Appendix E – Charred and Uncharred Seeds Appendix F – Charcoal Analysis Appendix G – Mollusk Shell Analysis Appendix H – Chronology
	9	Appendix I-M Appendix I – Cultural Occupations and Seed Remains Appendix J – Size Distribution of Ratios – Lithics, bone, charcoal Appendix K – Samples from backhoe trench at DiMy-156 Appendix L – Changes in seeds and charcoal over time Appendix M – Site Plan

Box	Folder
23	1	Report Draft, 1991-92
	2	Proposed Paleoenvironmental Studies of the Upper Souris Valley (Status Report), 1990
	3	Paleoecological Investigations in the Proposed Rafferty Dam Area (Interim Progress Report 1989)
	4	Paleoecological Studies Report of Field Investigations, Proposed Rafferty Dam Area, Submitted March 1989 pt.1 (Report Draft)
	5	Paleoecological Studies Report of Field Investigations, Proposed Rafferty Dam Area, Submitted March 1989 pt. 2 (Report Draft)
	6	Paleoecological Studies Report of Field Investigations, Proposed Rafferty Dam Area, Submitted December 1988 (Report Draft)
	7	Paleoecological Studies Report of Field Investigations, Proposed Rafferty Dam Area, Submitted December 1988 (Interim Report Draft)

Box	Folder
24	1	Souris Basin Heritage Study, Summary Report on the 1984-1992, Archaeology Program, compiled by J.T. Finnigan, 1992 (Report Draft)
	2	Souris Basin Heritage Study – Side Reports, 1992 Cymri Pasture Site Omega Site
	3	Faggetter Coulee Mad Dog Site Marsh Edge Site
	4	Ratigan Site
	5	Mondoc Site Tree Site
	6	Jots Site

Box	Folder
25	1	Cowsrest Pass Site Davenport Site
	2	Peg Site
	3	Sequel Site Wilgebusch Site
	4	Excavation Profiles, 1987-91

Return to Top

     Media Archaeological Project 1988-1998

Box	Folder
26	1	Background Reports, Previously Published Reports
	2	Maps
	3	Fauna
	4	Correspondence, 1988-1998 To Dr. Shay, 1989-98
	5	From Dr. Shay, 1988-1998
	6	With Associates, 1991-97
	7	Research Grant Proposal Expenses
	8	References
	9	Rough Notes

Box	Folder
27	1	Field Notes pt.1
	2	Field Notes pt.2
	3	Flora and Vegetation Flora pt.1
	4	Flora pt.2
	5	Soil & Slope Info
	6	Vegetation Survey Forms

Box	Folder
28	1	Vegetation Survey Form computer Versions, pt.1
	2	Vegetation Survey Form computer Versions, pt.2
	3	Vegetation Summary Tables
	4	Vegetation Summary comparison Bar Graphs
	5	Vegetation Ordination
	6	Ethnobotany and Land Use Argolid Land Use
	7	Ethnobotany
	8	Seed Analysis Seed Sample Catalogue, 1989 Field Cat
	9	Seed Forms Identification

Box	Folder
29	1	Seed Identifications M. Kapinga, pt.1
	2	Seed Identifications M. Kapinga, pt.2
	3	Seeds & Other Organic Remains Tables & Graphs
	4	Reports & Chapters Preliminary Reports, 1989, 1992
	5	Paper Presentation, 1993
	6	Draft Report of Bronze Age Agriculture 1994
	7	Report 1995
	8	Tables for Final Report 1998
	9	Draft Report 1997
	10	Draft Final Report Jan. 1997

Return to Top

     Troy Archaeological Project

Box	Folder
30	1	Troy Correspondence, 1976-1981
	2	Research, Tables, Graphs
	3	Report Drafts

Return to Top

     Jordan Archaeological Project

Box	Folder
30	4	Background Material
	5	Correspondence, 1992-1994
	6	Inventory of Seed Samples
	7	Seed Analysis
	8	Report Drafts

Return to Top

     Eleusis Archaeological Project

Box	Folder
30	9	Background – Previously Published Reports
	10	Correspondence to Dr. Shay, 1994-96
	11	Correspondence from Dr. Shay, 1992-97
	12	Seed Analysis
	13	Drafts and Reports

Return to Top

     Nichoria Archaeological Project

Box	Folder
31	1	Correspondence, 1971-88
	2	Maps
	3	Rough Notes
	4	Sample Inventory
	5	Index Cards, Notes, Samples
	6	Charcoal Analysis
	7	Vegetation Survey - Plant Species List
	8	Vegetation Survey - Floral Tables

Box	Folder
32	1	Field Reports Interim Info
	2	Drafts-Modern Vegetation & Fossil Plant Remains Chapter

Return to Top

     Kommos Archaeological Project

Box	Folder
32	3	Background Reports, pt.1
	4	Reports, pt.2
	5	Faunal Reports
	6	Faunal Identifications

Box	Folder
33	1	Correspondence 1976-1984
	2	1985-1988
	3	1989-1990
	4	1991-1997
	5	Kommotion-Publication Meetings
	6	Research Grant Proposals, pt.1
	7	Grant Proposals, pt.2

Box	Folder
34	1	Import Permits
	2	Fields Expenses
	3	Rough Notes
	4	Maps

Box	Folder
Map cabinet	2nd drawer	Maps

Box	Folder
Map cabinet	2nd drawer	Vegetation maps

Box	Folder
34	5	Greek maps: Botanical studies
	6	Kommos special list and habitat info
	7	Flora & Vegetation Flora Plant Lists, pt.1
	8	Flora Plant Lists, pt.2
	9	Flora Tables

Box	Folder
35	1	Soil
	2	Vegetation Survey Data
	3	Vegetation Survey Sites
	4	Vegetation Analysis Ordination
	5	Ethnobotany, pt.1
	6	Ethnobotany, pt.2
	7	Ethnobotany, pt.3

Box	Folder
36	1	Wood Anatomy & Reference Collection Wood Anatomy
	2	Wood & Charcoal Reference Collection, pt.1
	3	Wood & Charcoal Reference Collection, pt.2
	4	Correspondence disposal of Wood & Charcoal Collections
	5	Charcoal and Seeds Charcoal Identification
	6	Charcoal Analysis Tables 1 of 2
	7	Charcoal Analysis Tables 2 of 2

Box	Folder
37	1	Charred Seeds Bronze & Iron Age
	2	Progress Reports & Papers Completed Papers & Presentations 1989-1990’s
	3	Progress Reports 1980
	4	Progress Reports 1982-1983
	5	Progress Reports 1983-1986
	6	Book Chapters Publication Info
	7	References (Drafts)
	8	Botany Chapter Draft 1989

Box	Folder
38	1	Charcoal Bronze & Iron Age Draft Tables, 1991-1992
	2	Charcoal Chapter Drafts 1990’s
	3	Botany Chapter Draft, April 1991
	4	Charcoal Chapter Near Final Draft, April 19915
	5	Iron Age Charcoal Provenience Data
	6	Iron Age Charcoal Chapter Revision, 1991-2000
	7	Iron Age Charcoal Chapter Revision Correspondence, 1998-2000
	8	Iron Age Charcoal Chapter Final Draft 2000
	9	Iron Age Charcoal Draft, 1991-1992

Return to Top

     Flood Info

Box	Folder
39	1	Flood 1996 Dike Construction, Post Flood Activities, Blue Prints, Correspondence, June-October, 1996
	2	Preparations, Survey-notes
	3	Flood Claims and Flood Receipts, Household Receipts, 1996
	4	Household Jobs, Post Flood Activities
	5	Flood 1997 Predictions, notes, news releases
	6	Articles from Globe and Mail, Apr.24-May 9, 1997
	7	Articles from Free Press, Apr. 3-May 17, 1997 pt.1
	8	Articles from Free Press, Apr. 3-May 17, 1997 pt.2
	9	Articles from Free Press, Apr. 3-May 17, 1997 pt.3

Box	Folder
40	1	Recovery – My Flood Story or Memories of the Flood 1997, by Tom Shay, Correspondence
	2	Post Recovery – newspaper articles, notes, flood info
	3	Red Cross, Volunteers
	4	Moving Arrangements, Receipts
	5	Red River Recovery (Newsletter), Sept. 97- Ang. 98
	6	Flood Receipts 1997, Flood Claims 1997
	7	Flood Compensation, Receipts 1998

Box	Folder
41	1	Flood Info Manitoba Emergency Management – Correspondence
	2	Household Recovery – Correspondence
	3	Household Jobs – Post Flood Activities 1996-99
	4	Water levels 1999
	5	Flood Correspondence Kenny, Leo, 1998-2000
	6	Flood Proofing 1997-2000
	7	Flood Claims 1997 – correspondence 1999-2000, notes
	8	International Joint Commission/Province Flood Protection

Return to Top

     House Info

Box	Folder
42	1	243 Harvard 1975-1986, Purchase – Sale
	2	2252 St. Mary’s Land Purchase, House Purchase
	3	Correspondence 1985-86
	4	Plans of House, Land Survey
	5	Land Title, Mortgage
	6	Land Issue with neighbour, 1995 confidential
	7	Cottage Plans, Correspondence, Cottage Deck, 1996
	8	252 St. Mary's Tax Appeal, 1996
	9	Rural Municipality of Richot, St. Adolphe, 1999
	10	Correspondence, Receipts, 1999
	11	Appraisal of the Property 1999
	12	Real Estate Listing, Advertising, Receipts, Correspondence
	13	House Buyout – 2000-2001 Manitoba Conservation, Water Resources Branch Correspondence, Sale

Return to Top

     PC 162 - Photographs, Slides, Negatives

Box	Folder
43	1	Prix Manitoba Award 1997
	2	Dr. Tom Shay’s Retirement Photos
	3	Dr. Tom Shay’s Free Press Photo, 1995
	4	Dr. Tom Shay’s Associates
	5	House – 252 St. Mary’s Flood – Cottage pictures Photos of Riverbank Pictures taken for Tax Appeal
	6	Photos from Lockport Museum (from J. Jargensen’s correspondence)
	7	Midea Air Photos
	8	Midea – Research – Fungal sclerotia in archaeology sites
	9	Kommos - Wood and Charcoal – Reference Collection
	10	Kommos – Vegetation, pt.1
	11	Kommos – Vegetation, pt.2
	12	Kommos – Vegetation, pt.3
	13	Kommos – Vegetation – Iron Age Charcoal
	14	Kommos – Vegetation – Kommos site and environs
	15	Troy Photos & Negatives
	16	Nichoria Archaeological Project – Charcoal Analysis

Return to Top

     Memorabilia

Box
44	In memory of the flood of 1997 – John Lennon: Imagine, 1971 (tape) Dr. Tom Shay’s Retirement Gift, 1993 - “To Tom Shay, Best Wishes on your Retirement, May 1, 1993 Louis & Greg, Haskel & Stan”

Return to Top

Box	Folder
Map cabinet	2nd drawer	Identification of charcoal for Archaeological Association of America, 5 posters Identification of Projectile Points for Delta Marsh for Manitoba Archaeological Society Meeting, 1980’s

Return to Top

     Index Cards - Box 45 - 52

Return to Top

     A.99-82

Return to Top

     University of Manitoba - Courses Taught

Box	Folder
1	University of Manitoba - Courses Taught	76.725 - Prehistoric Human Ecology

Box	Folder
2	University of Manitoba - Courses Taught	76.725 - Prehistoric Human Ecology

Box	Folder
3	University of Manitoba - Courses Taught	76.393 - Crete in the Bronze Age 76.354 - Manitoba Prehistory 76.362 - Archaeological Field Techniques 76.360 - Archaeological Method and Theory 76.392 - Archaeological Analysis 76.394 - Environmental Archaeology 76.398 - Botanical Analysis in Archaeology 76.361 - Archaeological Techniques 76.350 - Peoples of the Arctic

Box	Folder
4	University of Manitoba - Courses Taught	76.738 - Archaeological Techniques 76.794 - Faunal Analysis 76.790 - Ethnological Research 76.744 - Principles of Paleoclimatic Construction 76.703 - Interdisciplinary Seminar 76.739 - Vegetation and Human History of North America 76.727 - Seminar in Anthropological Theory 76.660 - Archaeological Theory 76.631 - North America Prehistory 76.625 - Ethnographic Techniques 76.630 - Arctic Area 76.624 - Ethnological Theory 76.661 - Archaeological Techniques 76.483 - Advanced Paleoethnobotany Reading Course 76.495 - Numerical Archaeology 76.495 (b) - Origins of Agriculture

Box	Folder
5	University of Manitoba - Courses Taught	76.103 - Introduction to Archaeology 76.290 - Introduction to Archaeology 76.250 - Culture, Environment, and Technology

Box	Folder
6	University of Manitoba - Courses Taught	76.261 - Old World Civilizations 76.260 - Old World Prehistory 76.221 - Introduction to Archaeology 76.120/121 - Intro to Anthropology/Human Origins and Antiquity 76.120/122 - Intro to Anthropology/Cultural Anthropology 76.120 - Introductory Anthropology 76.120 - Cultural Anthropology 76.120/121/122 - Study Guide 76.120/121/122 - Instructor's Manual

Box	Folder
7	University of Manitoba - Courses Taught	76.121 - Human Origins and Antiquity

Box	Folder
8	Colorado State University - Courses Taught	S:5 - Introduction to Cultural Anthropology S:7 - Introduction to Prehistoric Archeology S:9 - Beginnings of Mankind S:127 - Cultural Ecology S:130 - Method and Theory of Archaeology S:196 - Prehistory of North America S:198 - Seminar on Cultural Ecology Textbook Order Forms and Notes

Box	Folder
8	University of Minnesota - Course Student	Methods in Archaeology Paleoecology in Itasca Antropology117/118 - Indians of South America Anthropology 202 - Introduction to Research Methods Anthropology 206 - Seminar on Ecology and Culture Anthropology 136 - Middle Plaeolithic Fossils and Cultures Botany 130 - Plant Ecology

Box	Folder
8	Course Assistant	Anthropology 1A - Introduction to Anthropology Anthropology 2A - Cultural Anthropology

Box	Folder
8	Course Taught	Anthropology 90 - Archaeology of North America 22.229 - Introductory Ecology

Box	Folder
8	University of Manitoba - Course Taught	Seminar for a Review and Assessment of Contemporary Research on N.A. Eskimos Miscellaneous Student Papers

Box	Folder
9	University of Minnesota - Course Student	Anthropology 133 - North American Southwest Archaeology Anthropology 185 - Linguistic Anthropology Anthropology 164 - Social Anthropology Anthropology 166 - Primitive Art Anthropology 163 - Economic Activities in Primitive Culture Anthropology ? - Southeast Asia and Oceana Anthropology 220 - Ethnology: Plains Indinas Seminar Anthropology ? - Mesopotamia Anthropology 120 - Ethnology: Peoples and Cultures of Africa

Box	Folder
10	University of Minnesota - Course Student	Geology 118 - Geomorphology Geology ? - Historical Geology Anthropology 117 - Clothing and Adaption/Arctic Anthropology 206 - Domestication of Plants and Animals Anthropology 80 - Ethnology: north America Anthropology 231 - Urbanism Anthropology 220 - Archaeology of the Plains

Box	Folder
11	University of Manitoba - Course Taught	Anthropology 200 - Anthropological Theory: Boas Anthropology 205 - Ethnology: Islam Anthropology 202 - Mythology Anthropology 206 - Anthropological Theory Anthropology ? - Functionalism Anthropology 165 - Culture and Personality Botany 165/166 - Pollen Analysis Anthropology ? - Ancient History Anthropology 132 - Archaeology of Eastern North America

Box	Folder
12	University of Manitoba - Course Taught	Geology 120 - Glacial Geology Geology 176 - Pleistocene History Anthropology ? - Archaeology of North America Anthropology 133 - Southwest Archaeology Anthropology 175 - Human Biology Anthropology ? - Archaeology: Greece and Aegean Bibliographies (3 binders)

Box	Folder
13	University of Minnesota - Course Taken	Ethnobotany (2 Binders) Ethnozoology Ethnobotany and zoology Plant Ecology Paleolithic Human Ecology

Return to Top

     Correspondence 1959-1989

Box	Folder
14	Correspondence - 1958 - 1989 plus one file with no date

Box	Folder
15	1980s and 1990 - Comments on J. Shay's Research Projects Letters of Reference Correspondence - 1990-1998

Box	Folder
16	Correspondence with Associates

Return to Top

     University of Minnesota

Box	Folder
17	Master's Thesis Research

Box	Folder
18	Ph.D. Dissertation Research, Plus one file Masters Research

Return to Top

     Miscellaneous

Box

19

Archaeological Standards and Forms - Various Provinces Maps - Miscellaneous Bibliographies - Miscellaneous Book Reviews and Notices, Library searches and Correspondence Notes from attended conference presentations 1960s - University of Minnesota - Guest Speakers - Notes 1960s - University of Manitoba - Colloquia Notices and Notes 1970s - University of Manitoba - Colloquia Notices and Notes 1980s - University of Manitoba - Colloquia Notices and Notes 1990s - University of Manitoba - Colloquia Notices and Notes Manitoba Archaeological Society Teaching Articles, Various dates Newspaper, Magazine Articles, Various Dates University of Manitoba - Department of Anthropology - Curriculum Planning 1994 - Proceedings of a Conference Presentation - Canadian Archaeological Association University of Manitoba - Department of Anthropology - Requests for Research Assistants 1993 - Swan Hellenic Cruises 1980 - Lab Renovations - Duff Roblin Miscellaneous Articles

Box	Folder
20	Careerstart	1993 1994 1995 1996

Box	Folder
20	Student Assistants	1989 1988 1989 1990 1991

Box	Folder
20	Finances	1984 1985-86 1989 1990 1996

Box	Folder
20	Scholarship	Book Sale Book Sale Signs Foundations Appeals to Suppliers Fund Raising, List of Donors Celebration 1996 Lists 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998

Box	Folder
20	Retirement	Wine and Cheese - 1993 Surprise Party for J. Shay - 1995 Retirement Party - 1993

Box	Folder
20	Advisee	Gary Dickson Donalee Deck Michael Kelly Timothy Losey Signe Snortland Mike Zywina Martin Magne Geoff Davidson General Forms and Information on Graduate Work

Box	Folder
21	University of Minnesota - Course Taken	Undergraduate Course Taken - Paleolinimology Seminar, 1963 Plant Ecology, Biotic Regions, Date Unknown Undergrad Course Taken - Biology 1-103, General Botany 1958 Undergrad Course Taken - Biology 1-?, Cells and Tissues 1958 Course Taken - Pleistocene Biogeography - 1962 P. Lukens Thesis (partial) on Faunal Analysis Indexes from Science, Scientific America, and Natural History

Return to Top

     Box 21, 1960-69

Box

Folder

21

No Date - Presentation - Arctic and Subarctic No Data - Research - Eastern North America, Mid-west Archaeological Faunas No Date - Conference Presentation (Where ?) Plains Paleoecology No Data - Research - Manitoba Food Plants No Date - Articles, Miscellaneous 1960's - Presentation (University of Minnesota) Danish Prehistory 1960's - Research - Radiocarbon Dating - Notes and Articles 1960's - Research - Autoecology - Notes and Articles No Date - Notes on Forest Regions and Cultures No Date - Research - Nearest Neighbor Analysis, Duck Bay 1967 - Paper Published - Vegetation of Southern Aggasiz 1969 - Research - Seibold Site, North Dakota 1967 - Conference Presentation - (Plains Conference) Introduction to Plains Paleoecology 1963 - Paper Published - A Preliminary Report on the Itasca Bison Site 1963 - Review - Review of Great Lakes Basin

Return to Top

     Box 22, 1970-78

• 1971 - Paper Published - Delta Diggings
• 1970s - Research - Use of Fish in Great Lakes
• 1970s - Paper - Bison Procurement on the Eastern Margin of the Plains: The Itasca Site
• 1978 - Research/Paper - Late Prehistoric Bison and Deer Use in the Eastern Prairie-Forest Border
• 1979 - Research - McAuley Site in East Kildonan
• 1979 - Research - McAuley Site in East Kildonan
• 1973 - Presentation (Seminar to MME) Paleoecology
• 1977 - Research - Lithic Resources in Manitoba
• 197(?) to 198(?) - Proposed - Prehistoric Human Ecology (Ecological Archaeology) Manual (3 Binders, 1 Folder)
• 1970's - Project - Wood Anatomy
• 1977 - Research - Diversity of Plant Remains from Sites in Eastern North America

Return to Top

     Box 23, 1970-77

• 1970's - Manual - Archaeological Lab Manual
• 1970-71 - Project - Churchill River Diversion Project
• 1975 - Conference Presentation - (CAA) - Sampling and Processing Small Scale Plant and Animal Remains and Sediments
• 1976-77 - Project - Franchi Cave, Greece
• 1976-77 - Project - Charcoal Analysis Qal'eh-i Yazdigirid, Iran
• 1975 - Research - Prehistoric Fish of the Great Lakes
• 1970's - MSCP Project
• 197(?) - Presentation - Evolution in the Grasslands of the Great Plains
• 1970's - Presentation - Bering Land Bridge Migration Routes, Eurasian Connections
• 1975 - Research/Publication - For Bison Symposium - Prehistoric Bison Utilization on the Plains, Some Preliminary Remarks
• 1977 - Conference Presentation (Research, Paper not presented) (CAA) - The Prehistoric Use of Plants in Eastern North America
• 1970 - Research - Faunal Resources in the Midwest
• 1975 - Red River Site
• 1977 - Research - North America Food Plants
• 1970 - Paper/Research - Survey of REcent Pollen Spectra in Manitoba
• 1974 - Research - Southern Manitoba Pollen Research (Round & Moose Lake)
• 1973-74 - Research - Paleobotany (Aggasiz) Thief River Falls
• 197(?) Conference Presentation - Early Man in Glaciated Eastern NA
• 1977 - Research - Lithic Resources in Manitoba
• 1977 – Research, Diversity of Plant Remains from site in Eastern North America

Return to Top

     Box 24, 1976-78

• 1976-78 - Research - Prehistoric Fire Ecology in SE Manitoba

Return to Top
 

     Box 25, 1980-89

• 1989 - Paper - Woodland Subsistence
• 1985 - Paper - Life At Upper Fort Garry
• 1984 - Research - Analysis of Vegetation and Plant remains from the Mondrian Tree Site
• 1986 - Paper Published - Prairie Marshes in Western Canada
• 1981 - Paper Published - Manitoba's Edible Wild
• 1982 - Research - Faunal Analysis
• 1988 - Research - Trace Element Analysis of Plant Remains From Archaeological Sites
• 1980 - Paper Published - Spatial Analysis of Lithic Debris from the Fisk Site

Return to Top

     Box 26, 1970-1989

• 1985 - Report - Analysis of Charcoal from Two Sites in Portugal
• 1985 - Report - Analysis of Plant Remains from Fort Garry
• 1987 - Paper Published - Post Fire Performance of Phragmites Australis
• 1981 - Research/Consulting - Nipawin Hydroelectric Project
• 1986 - Report - Analysis of Wood and Seeds from the Jamestown Mounds
• 1985 - Conference Presentation - (CAA) The Wood Economy of the Red River Settlement
• 198(?) - Comment on the Role of Paleonology in Archaeology by VM Bryant Jr.
• 1981 - Presentation - Landscape Presentation
• 1987 - Research - Porcupine Hills
• 1970s-80s - Research - Computer Mapping
• 1986 - Research - European Ethnobotany in North America
• 1982 - Paper Published - The Prairie Forest Border
• 1984 - Publication Review - After the Ice Age
• 1980 - Research - Sampling Cultural Variability in the Middle Arhaic of the Midwest
• 1980 - Research - Minnesota Plant Communities
• 1980 - Paper/Presentation - Fish Paper
• 1985 - Research - Kavousi Project
• 1982 - Conference Presentation - (AAA) Snowshoes and Canoes
• 1987 - Public Presentation - Archaeology and Botany in Greece
• 1988 - Public Presentation - (Entomological Society of Manitoba) An Evening in Greece
• 1989 - Public Presentation - (Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature) The Third Eye

Return to Top

     Box 27, 1980-89

• 1986/86 - Project - Kef Zoura - Algerian Charcoal Analysis
• 1980 - Research - Aspect of Ethnobotany of Midwestern North America: The use of nut trees
• 1989 - Paper - Perspectives on the Late Prehistory of the Northeastern Plains
• 1985 - Paper Published - Late Prehistoric Selection of Wild Ungulates in the Prairie Forest Transition
• 1980 - Research - Food Plants of Manitoba
• 1987 - Research - Bell Site Vegetation Survey
• 1980s - Paper - Aspects of Fur Trade Ethnobotany in Western Canada
• 1980s - Project - Mille Lacs

Return to Top

     Box 28, 1990-97

• 1991 - Paper/Research - The Quantification of Wood Charcoal Remains from Archaeological Sites
• 1990 - Project - South Indian Lake Biomass
• 1994 - Paper - The Occurrence of Fungal Sclerotia in Prehistoric and Historic Sediments
• 1990s - Project - Analysis of Plant Remains from Jordan
• 1990s - Project - Vegetation Science
• 1994 - Research Comments - on Guide to North Dakota Historic Sites
• 1997 - Workshop - (Manitoba Museum of Man and Nature) Ethnobotany
• 1992 - Project - Yugoslavia Seeds
• 1992 - Project - Pollen Counts for Health Science Centre Dr. A. Becker
• 1994 - Workshop - Manitoba Forestry Association Fork's Forestry Workshop
• 1993 - Conference Presentation (SAA) - The Uses of Plants during the Late Prehistoric Period in the Northeastern Plains
• 1994 - Public Presentation - St. Norbert Community
• 1990 - Public Presentation - (University Woman's Club) People and Plants in Bronze Age Greece
• 1990 - Report - Examination of Vegetation at a Grave Site

Return to Top

     Box 29, 1990-98

• 1990 - Review - Current Ethnobotany in Canadian Journal of Archaeology
• 1990 - Paper/Research - Ethnobotany of the Northern Plains
• 1990s - Paper - On the Evolution of Plant Gathering: The Survival of the Evidence
• 1990 - Research - Water Screen and Flotation Sample Collection Procedures
• 1991 - Paper - Seeds in Archeological Sites: Considering the Natural Seed Rain
• 1992 - Paper/Presentation - Seeds as Symbols: Reconstructing the Diet and Life in the Red River Settlement
• 1990s - Paper/Research - Food Plants of the Plains
• 1996 - Review - Schoenwetter's Palynological Evidence for an Early Woodland Ritual Meal
• 1998 - Presentation (Rupertsland Colloquium) - From Privy Pits to Plants and People

Return to Top

     Box 30, 1970-98

• General Granting Information
• 1970 - Univ. of Manitoba Research Grants Committee - Paleobotanical Studies in the Lake Agassiz Basin
• 1977 - Northern Studies - Archaeological Survey of the Swan River Valley
• 1978 - SSHRC (Univ. of Manitoba) - Stone Technology at a Late Prehistoric Site at Northwestern Manitoba
• 1981 - St. Paul's College - Analysis of Plant Remains from Kommos, Crete
• 1982 - St. Pauls College - Lithic Technology in Northwestern Manitoba
• 1982 - Sabattical Leave Grant
• 1982 - Univ. of Manitoba Research Board - Analysis of Plant Remains from Upper Fort Garry
• 1983 - St. Paul's College - Analysis of Plant Remains from Upper Fort Garry
• 1984 - St. Paul's College - Analysis of Plant Remains From Kommos, Crete
• 1985 - Manitoba Heritage Foundation - Analysis of Plant Remains from Upper Fort Garry
• 1985 - St. Pauls College - Analysis of Plant Remains from Upper Fort Garry
• 1986 - St. Paul's College - Plant REmains from Late Prehistoric Sites
• 1986 - Canadian Plains Research Centre - Travel Grant
• 1986 - SSHRC - Past Ethnobotanical of Southern Manitoba and Adjacent Areas
• 1987 - Northwest Area Foundation - Mille Lacs Lake Project Joint Research with University of Minnesota
• 1987 - SSHRC - Prehistoric Ethnobotany of the Canadian Prairies
• 1987 - Granting Foundation Unknown - Plant Remains from Sites in Southern Manitoba
• 1987 - St. Paul's College SSHRC - Trace Element Analysis of Plant Remains
• 1988 - Univ. of Manitoba SSHRC - Trace Element Analysis of Plant Remains
• 1988 - Richardson Foundation - Prairies, Plants and People
• 1989 - SSHRC - Prehistoric Ethnobotany of Western Canada
• 1989 - Richardson Foundation - Prairie, Plants and People
• 1989 - Manitoba Heritage Foundation - Paleobotanical Studies at the Forks
• 1989 - Sabattical Leave Grant for July 1, 1989 - June 30, 1990
• 1990 - Manitoba Heritage Foundation - River History and Human History at the Forks
• 1990 - Univ. of Manitoba SSHRC - The Bronze Age Paleobotany of Midea, Greece
• 1990s - Private Funding (Sheila Henry) - Plants and People in the Canadian Prairies
• 1991 - Richardson Foundation - People and Plants: The Past Ethnobotany of Southern Manitoba
• 1991 - St. Paul's College - Past Ethnobotany of Southern Manitoba and Adjacent Areas
• 1991 - Univ. of Manitoba SSHRC - Paleobotanical Studies in Greece
• 1991 - Access to Archaeology Program - Public Awareness of Environmental and Human History
• 1991 - Manitoba Heritage Foundation - River History and Human History at the Forks II
• 1992 - Manitoba Heritage Foundation - Past Ethnobotany of southern Manitoba and Adjacent Areas
• 1992 - SSHRC - The Green Plan (Joint Project)
• 1992 - National Geographic Society - Bronze Age Agriculture on the Argos Plain, Greece
• 1992 - Richardson Foundation - River History and Human History at the Forks
• 1992 - Careerstart
• 1993 - Sask. Heritage Foundation - Environmental and Human History of the Upper Souris River Valley
• 1993 - Manitoba Heritage Foundation - Forest History
• 1993 - Manitoba Heritage Foundation - The Analysis of Small-Scale Remains in Archeological Sites
• 1993 - American Philosophical Society - The Forest History of Southern Manitoba
• 1994 - The Dr. M. Aylwin Cotton Foundation - Forms
• 1994 - National Geographic Society - Bronze Age Agriculture on the Argos Plain
• 1994 - Wener-Gren Foundation - Bronze Age Agriculture on the Argos Plain, Greece
• 1994 - Institute of Aegean Prehistory - Bronze Age Agriculture on the Argos Plains, Greece
• 1994-95 - Northwest Area Foundation - Ethnobotany of the Northeastern Plains
• 1995 - Heritage Grants Advisory Committee - Book on Past Ethnobotany of southern Manitoba
• 1995 - Institute of Aegean Prehistory - Bronze Age Agriculture on the Argos Plains
• 1997 - Richardson Foundation - Plants and People: Past Ethnobotany of Southern Manitoba and Adjacent Areas
• 1997 - Institute for Aegean Prehistory - Guidelines
• 1997 - Heritage Grants Advisory Committee - Early Plant Use in Southern Manitoba
• 1997 - Univ. of Manitoba SSHRC - Pre-European Culture and Agriculture in Southern Manitoba
• 1998 - Richardson Foundation - Lesson Plans on the History of Maize

Return to Top

     Box 31, 1986

• 1986 - Research (Chapter) - The Little Circle
• University of Manitoba Grade Books and Class Lists
• Plant Sample Cards

Return to Top

     Box 32 Test Questions

Return to Top