Databases | Data Sources - Political Studies - LibGuides at University of Manitoba

Go To

Use the links below to jump to a section:

Key Databases

Canadian Resources

Multidisciplinary Databases

Other Relevant Databases

What's New

How To Guides:

Breuning, Marijke, and John Ishiyama. How to Get Published in the Best Political Science and International Relations Journals: Understanding the Publishing Game. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing Limited, 2021.

The Libraries began subscribing JSTOR Security Studies Collection in August 2019. Here are some sources to explore the Collection:

Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) Handbook is now online from 2010.

Key Databases

This is a list of selected resources for Political Studies. For a full description of the resource, hover over the icon.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1975 - present Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Abstracts cover journal articles and citations, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covering 1991 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change.
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window This archive companion to the Alternative Press Index is a guide to articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage spans 1969 through 1990.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window PAIS International, from Public Affairs Information Service, is an index to literature on political, economic, and social issues of current interest. The database covers the public and social policy literature of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, political science, and other social sciences. Emphasis is on issues that are, or might become, the subject of legislation. Coverage dates back to 1915.
Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection This link opens in a new window The Political Science Collection includes full-text journals published by SAGE and participating societies. It covers such subjects as General Political Science, American Government & Politics, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Political Communication, Peace / Conflict Studies, Presidential Studies, Political Theory / Philosophy, International Relations, and Area Studies. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries).
Peace Research Abstracts This link opens in a new window Peace Research Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to peace and conflict resolution research. Topics include nonviolence, war, international affairs and peace psychology. Updated weekly.

Security Studies - JSTOR Explore a wide range of journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of security studies. This content looks at security studies through a broad lens, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe. Refer to Quick Guide.

Canadian Resources

Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database combines full text and indexed content from all four CBCA database subsets (Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference). Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database includes over 540 periodicals and daily news sources (over 480 of which are Canadian), plus indexing to an additional 1,100 other titles (over 95% Canadian).
CPI.Q This link opens in a new window The Canadian Periodical Index has been a core reference tool for accessing Canadian scholarly and popular periodicals since 1928. The electronic version available on the Articles and Databases menu is published by Gale Research and covers the years 1996, 1997 and 1998. About one third of the articles are full text.
Canadian Publishers Collection This link opens in a new window The Canadian Electronic Library Publishers Collection is a collection of 8,000+ English and French e-book titles from 47 Canadian publishers. Included in these are the major Canadian University Presses, among them the University of Toronto Press, the UBCPress, Les Presses de l’Université du Québec and McGill-Queens University Press. Virtually all the books are authored, edited and produced by Canadians.
LabourSource This link opens in a new window LabourSource integrates labour-related case law, labour arbitration decisions, court decisions, and labour and employment related legislation from all Canadian jurisdictions. Includes access to Canadian Labour Arbitration, Fourth Ed. (Brown & Beatty).
Canadiana Online This link opens in a new window Canadiana Online, provides unified full-text search and access to three major collections of digitized Canadian documentary heritage including: Early Canadian Monographs ; Government Publications ; and Serials, Periodicals, Annuals and Newspapers. These collections bring together all the content in the existing Early Canadiana Online (ECO), and the entire microfiche corpus of the Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions (CIHM). Includes material written in 21 languages including French, English, Latin, Greek, and many First Nations languages (e.g. Micmac, Iroquois, Mohawk, Chipewyan, Nootka, Chinook, Ojibwa).

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a database of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. With content extending over a century, subject areas include area studies, the arts, business & economics, history, the humanities, law, medicine, science & mathematics, and social sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1900 - present A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences, plus selected relevant items from many of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari. Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window Please Note: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index is now available for search in Web of Science. It will continue to be available to University of Manitoba Libraries. Full-text Coverage: restricted to University of Manitoba dissertations and theses, 1929-2014. For 2015 onward, see Mspace Dissertations and theses published since 1980 includes an abstract written by the author.
EBSCOhost Full Text This link opens in a new window EBSCOhost provides indexing and abstracting for thousands of periodicals, in most cases back to 1984. It also contains full text for over a thousand periodicals, in many cases going back to 1990. Many of these periodicals are peer-reviewed journals. Different modules cover academic journals, popular magazines, Canadian magazines, high school magazines, and children's magazines. These can be searched separately or combined.
MSpace This link opens in a new window MSpace is the University of Manitoba's institutional repository, dedicated to collecting, storing, and preserving digital versions of the intellectual output of University of Manitoba faculty, researchers,and students. It contains datasets, undergraduate and graduate theses, historical pamphlets, and other research publications.
Theses Canada This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1926 - present Theses Canada indexes Canadian theses and dissertations held by Library and Archives Canada (Canada's national library), acquired from participating Canadian universities. Any thesis/dissertation not available full-text online can be ordered through interlibrary loan.

EBSCO Free Dissertations - a Library Vendor Projec OpenDissertations.org is an EBSCO project and includes ETD metadata from the British Library’s EThOS Service, the University of Florida, Florida State University, Clemson University, the University of Michigan, Michigan State University, Cornell University and the University of Kentucky. More than 260 libraries are currently participating. The number of higher education institutions participating in this EBSCO project are steadily increasing. As of April 2019, however, few Canadian institutions have joined in the project except UBC and U of Alberta. The project provides a convenient way to access a wide range of theses and dissertations held in institutional repositories.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.

Other Relevant Databases

EconLIT This link opens in a new window EconLIT is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Digital National Security Archive (U.S.A.) "From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time."

Proquest Digitized Newspapers This link opens in a new window The ProQuest Digitized Newspapers contains local and national microfilmed newspapers. The University of Manitoba has access to:New York TimesWall Street Journal

Public Policy: Key Government Sources (University of Toronto Libraries Guide) A guide to governmental and grey literature sources for public policy research prepared by Sam-chin Li, University of Toronto Libraries.
Reports from the Institute for Economics & Peace The Institute's reports provide statistical analysis to understand the complex dynamics of peace and a roadmap for creating a more peaceful feature.
Unpaywall A database of free, open access scholarly articles.
United Nations Dag Hammarskjold The Library at the United Nations. New York.

Liaison Librarian

Benjamin Dueck

He/They

Email Me

Contact:

Welcome! I am happy to support you in your library research at any stage. Connect with me for reference through email or set up an appointment to chat.

AM Location
Rm. 112, Elizabeth Dafoe Library

PM Location
Rm. 119, St. Paul's College

431-293-9482

Subjects: Catholic Studies, Economics, Peace and Conflict Studies, Political Studies, Religion, Theatre and Drama

Political Studies: Databases | Data Sources

Go To

What's New

Key Databases

Canadian Resources

Multidisciplinary Databases

Other Relevant Databases

Liaison Librarian

Ask a Librarian