Newspapers | Primary Sources |Government Publications - Political Studies

Go To:

Use the links below to jump to a section:

Newspaper Indexes

Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844
Hill Times Online
Winnipeg Free Press Archives This online database contains pages from the Winnipeg Free Press and all its earlier titles, such as the Manitoba Free Press. These pages, dating back to 1874, are fully searchable. Microfilm copies of the Winnipeg Free Press from 1932 to approximately 3 months ago are available in the Elizabeth Dafoe Library. Older versions of the paper under its previous names are also available on microfilm.

Canadian Major Dailies This link opens in a new window Canadian Major Dailies offers access to the full text of articles, columns, editorials, and features from 20 major Canadian newspapers. Newspapers include the Winnipeg Free Press, Globe and Mail, Toronto Star, National Post, Ottawa Citizen, Calgary Herald, Montreal Gazette, and Edmonton Journal. Coverage varies, usually from the 1980's to the present, though not all are full text. Most newspapers have a two day delay, the Winnipeg Free Press and the Globe and Mail are updated daily.
Manitobia This link opens in a new window An initiative of the Manitoba Library Consortium to gather and make accessible historically significant Manitoba documents and publications. Find information about the early development of the province and its people, including a newspaper archive, first-hand accounts from letters, memoirs and diaries, drawings, maps and photos. Topics include the founding of Manitoba, the Winnipeg General Strike, Immigration and more.
New York Times Historical (1851-2020) This link opens in a new window The New York Times Historical (1851-2020) offers full page and article images of every page of every issue, with searchable full text.
Times (of London) Digital Archive 1785-2011 This link opens in a new window The Times (of London) Digital Archive is a text searchable, full-image online archive of every page published by The Times from 1785-2011. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
- This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-2012) This link opens in a new window The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue, including digital reproductions of every page.
Washington Post Historical This link opens in a new window The Washington Post (1877-2007)--additional year of content added annually, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Primary Sources

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1945-present The Digital National Security Archives consists of declassified documents dealing with U.S. foreign policy and intelligence and security issues in the 20th and 21st centuries. Each collection contains a diverse range of documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, and confidential letters.
Foreign Relations of the United States This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1861-1988 This series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, it begins with Abraham Lincoln's administration in 1861 and concludes with Ronald Regan in 1988. Also included are related books and Code of Federal Regulations title 22 (Foreign Relations) in its entirety.

House of Commons (UK) Parliamentary Papers

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window Hein Online is a database of full-text collections of legal journals, texts, cases, statutes, regulations, treaties, and other materials. Primarily US content, with some Canadian and international coverage. Content is in the original page-image (PDF) format, ensuring the authenticity of the original hardcopy document. Content includes historical and current materials.
Mass Observation Online This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1937-1965 Mass Observation Online provides content for the study of Social History in the modern era. It contains original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass-Observation organization, together with printed publications, photographs and interactive features.

Government/Official Publications - Canada

United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window This site reflects the activities of the Treaty Section of the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs. It includes the full-text of multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, with participating countries, communications and entry into force. The database also includes treaty resources such as registration and publication checklists, handbooks, training, and treaty events.
World Constitutions Illustrated This link opens in a new window A database that traces the constitutional and political development of every country in the world. It includes the current constitution for every country in its original language and an English translation, as well as substantial constitutional histories for many countries. It also includes constitutional periodicals, books, other related works such as the World Fact Book, links to scholarly articles and online resources, and bibliographic references.

Political Studies: Newspapers | Primary Sources |Government Publications

Go To:

Newspaper Indexes

Primary Sources

Government/Official Publications - Canada

Political Studies: Newspapers | Primary Sources |
Government Publications