Books

Books, including textbooks, e-books, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, are useful for finding specific medical physics information or for learning about broad medical physics topics.

Radiation Oncology

Khan's the physics of radiation therapy (5th ed.) Full Text online at UML. This book is written primarily with the needs of residents and clinical physicists in mind. Therefore, greater emphasis is given to the practice of physics in the clinic. For the residents, the book provides both basic radiation physics and physical aspects of treatment planning, using photon beams, electron beams, and brachytherapy sources. For the clinical physicist, additionally, current information is provided on dosimetry.
Khan's lectures. Handbook of the physics of radiation therapy/ Khan Print edition at NJM
Introduction to radiological physics and radiation dosimetry/ Attix A straightforward presentation of the broad concepts underlying radiological physics and radiation dosimetry for the graduate-level student. Covers photon and neutron attenuation, radiation and charged particle equilibrium, interactions of photons and charged particles with matter, radiotherapy dosimetry, as well as photographic, calorimetric, chemical, and thermoluminescence dosimetry. Includes many new derivations, such as Kramers X-ray spectrum, as well as topics that have not been thoroughly analyzed in other texts, such as broad-beam attenuation and geometrics, and the reciprocity theorem. Subjects are layed out in a logical sequence, making the topics easier for students to follow. Supplemented with numerous diagrams and tables.
The physics of radiology (4th ed.) Johns & Cunningham Print edition at Science
Solutions to selected problems from the Physics of radiology (4th ed.) Full Text online at UML & Print edition at Science
Physics of radiology (2nd ed.) Wolbarst Print edition at Science
The modern technology of radiation oncology : a compendium for medical physicists and radiation oncologists/ Van Dyk Print edition at Science
Radiation Physics for Medical Physicists (2nd ed.) Podgorsak Full Text online at UML This book is intended as a textbook for a radiation physics course in academic medical physics graduate programs as well as a reference book for candidates preparing for certification examinations in medical physics sub-specialities. The book may also be of interest to many professionals, not only physicists, who in their daily occupations deal with various aspects of medical physics or radiation physics and have a need or desire to improve their understanding of radiation physics.
Compendium to radiation physics for medical physicists : 500 problems and solutions/ Podgorsak This book is intended as a supplementary textbook for a radiation physics course in academic medical physics and biomedical engineering graduate programs as well as a reference book for candidates preparing for certification examinations in medical physics sub-specialties. The book may also be of interest to graduate students in physics, chemistry, and various branches of engineering wishing to improve their knowledge and understanding of modern physics and its intimate relationship with radiation physics applied to medicine.
Radiation oncology physics : a handbook for teachers and students/ Podgorsak Print edition at Dafoe
Radiobiology for the radiologist (7th ed.) Hall Full Text online at UML It consists of two sections, one for those studying or practicing diagnostic radiology, nuclear medicine and radiation oncology; the other for those engaged in the study or clinical practice of radiation oncology -- a new chapter, on radiologic terrorism, is specifically for those in the radiation sciences who would manage exposed individuals in the event of a terrorist event.
ICRP Publication 103: The 2007 Recommendations of the International Commission on Radiological Protection Full Text online at UML Annals of the ICRP April 2007; 37 (2-4)
Structural Shielding Design For Medical X-Ray Imaging Facilities/ NCRP 147 The Report addresses the structural shielding design for medical x-ray imaging facilities and supersedes the parts that address such facilities in NCRP Report No. 49, Structural Shielding Design and Evaluation for Medical Use of X Rays and Gamma Rays of Energies Up to 10 MeV, which was issued in September 1976.
Structural Shielding Design and Evaluation for Megavoltage X -and Gamma-Ray Radiotherapy Facilities/ NCRP 151 This Report includes the necessary information for higher accelerating voltages as well as a discussion of the various factors to be considered in the selection of appropriate shielding materials and in the calculation and evaluation of barrier thicknesses.
Principles and applications of radiological physics (6th ed.) Graham Print edition at NJM
Setting up a radiotherapy programme : clinical, medical physics, radiation protection and safety aspects (IAEA)/ Izewska Print edition at NJM
Comprehensive audits of radiotherapy practices : a tool for quality improvement/ IAEA Print edition at NJM The objective of a comprehensive clinical audit is to review and evaluate the quality of all components of the practice of radiotherapy at a cancer center, with a view to quality improvement. The present guidelines provide an audit methodology for multidisciplinary expert teams to initiate, perform and report on such audits
Quality and safety in radiotherapy : learning the new approaches in task group 100 and beyond/ Thomadsen Print edition at NJM
Quality and safety in radiotherapy/ Pawlicki Print edition at NJM
Monte Carlo techniques in radiation therapy/ Verhaegen Print edition at NJM
Physics for radioation protection: A handbook 3rd ed. / Martin

Diagnostic Radiology

Physics of radiology (2nd ed.) Wolbarst Print edition at Science
Review of radiologic physics (3rd ed.) Huda Print edition at NJM
The essential physics of medical imaging (3rd ed.) Bushberg Full Text online at UML & print edition at NJM
Medical imaging signals and systems 2nd ed./ Prince Print edition
Medical imaging physics 4th ed./ Hendee Print edition
Computed tomography : fundamentals, system technology, image quality, applications 3rd rev. ed/ Kalender Full Text online at UML & print edition at NJM
CT imaging : practical physics, artifacts, and pitfalls Full Text online at UML & print edition at NJM
Ultrasound physics and instrumentation 4th ed./ Hedrick Full Text online at UML & print edition at NJM
Guidelines for the safe use of diagnostic ultrasound equipment Prepared by the Safety Group of the British Medical Ultrasound Society Ultrasound May 2010 vol. 18 no. 2 52-59
Medical electrical equipment - Characteristics of digital X-ray imaging devices - Part 1-1: Determination of the detective quantum efficiency - Detectors used in radiographic imaging/ IEC International Electrotechnical Commission IEC 62220-1-1:2015
Introduction to medical imaging physics, engineering and clinical applications/ Smith Full Text online at UML Covering the basics of X-rays, CT, PET, nuclear medicine, ultrasound and MRI, this textbook provides senior undergraduate and beginning graduate students with a broad introduction to medical imaging. Over 130 end-of-chapter exercises are included, in addition to solved example problems, which enable students to master the theory as well as providing them with the tools needed to solve more difficult problems.
Applied medical image processing : a basic course/ Birkfellner Print edition at NJM
Medical image analysis 2nd ed./ Dhawan The most comprehensive reference of medical imaging modalities and image analysis techniques The last two decades have witnessed revolutionary advances in medical imaging and computerized medical image processing.
Physics of mammographic imaging/ Markey Full Text online at UML The primary audience for this book is medical physicists and biomedical engineers; radiologists involved in breast imaging research will also benefit from it. The book is intended to be valuable either for use in a graduate level course or for selfstudy by practitioners. This book characterizes the current role, and future potential, of x-ray-based digital breast imaging. The goal of the text is to provide technical details, but in the context of clinical needs, complementary approaches, and ongoing research, such that the reader will be empowered to identify key areas for future research.
Radiation Exposure and Image Quality in X-Ray Diagnostic Radiology/ Aichinger Full Text online at UML The figures and tables included should enable a medical physicist to: • Calculate the scatter-free characteristic quantities of the primary radiation beam • Estimate patient doses (organ dose, effective dose) • Optimise radiographic and fluoroscopic exposure parameters in relation to the medical indication • Take into account the influence of scattered radiation on image quality and dose
Mathematical foundations of imaging, tomography and wavefield inversion Full Text online at UML

Nuclear Medicine

The essential physics of medical imaging 3rd ed. (ebook)/ Bushberg
The essential physics of medical imaging 3rd ed./ Bushberg Full Text online at UML and print edition at NJM
Nuclear medicine physics/ Pedroso de Lima Print edition at NJM
Physics in Nuclear Medicine 4th ed./ Cherry Physics and instrumentation affect all of the subspecialty areas of nuclear medicine. Because of their fundamental importance, they usually are taught as a separate course in nuclear medicine training programs. This book is intended for use in such programs by physicians, technologists, and scientists who desire to become specialists in nuclear medicine and molecular imaging, as well as a reference source for physicians, scientists, and engineers in related fields.
The physics of radiology 4th ed./ Johns & Cunningham Full Text online at UML and print edition at Science
Positron Emission Tomography: Basic Sciences/ Bailey Full Text online at UML The audience that this is intended for is the scientist, engineer, medical graduate or student who wants to learn more about the science of PET.
Radiation detection and measurement 4th ed./ Knoll Print edition at NJM and Science

Magnetic Resonance

Magnetic resonance imaging : physical principles and sequence design 2nd ed./ Brown Begins with an introduction to fundamental principles, with coverage of magnetization, relaxation, quantum mechanics, signal detection and acquisition, Fourier imaging, image reconstruction, contrast, signal, and noise. The second part of the text explores MRI methods and applications, including fast imaging, water-fat separation, steady state gradient echo imaging, echo planar imaging, diffusion-weighted imaging, and induced magnetism. Lastly, the text discusses important hardware issues and parallel imaging.
In vivo NMR spectroscopy : principles and techniques 2nd ed./ De Graaf Full Text online at UML and print edition at Science
Questions & answers in magnetic resonance imaging 2nd ed./ Elster Print edition at Science
Handbook of MRI pulse sequences/ Bernstein Full Text online at UML and print edition at NJM
MRI : basic principles and applications 4th ed./ Brown Print edition at NJM
Principles of magnetic resonance imaging : a signal processing perspective/ Liang This definitive text will help undergraduate and graduate students of biomedical engineering, biomedical imaging scientists, radiologists, and electrical engineers gain an in-depth understanding of MRI principles. The authors use a signal processing approach to describe the fundamentals of magnetic resonance imaging. You will find a clear and rigorous discussion of these carefully selected essential topics: Mathematical fundamentals Signal generation and detection principles Signal characteristics Signal localization principles Image reconstruction techniques Image contrast mechanisms Image resolution, noise, and artifacts Fast-scan imaging Constrained reconstruction
The essential physics of medical imaging 3rd ed./ Bushberg Full Text online at UML and print edition at NJM
Questions & answers in magnetic resonance imaging 2nd ed./ Elster Print edition at Science
MRI bioeffects, safety, and patient management/ Shellock Print edition at NJM
Reference manual for magnetic resonance safety, implants, and devices 2015 ed. / Shellock

Other Resources

Statistical Methods in Radiation Physics/ Turner This statistics textbook, with particular emphasis on radiation protection and dosimetry, deals with statistical solutions to problems inherent in health physics measurements and decision making. The authors begin with a description of our current understanding of the statistical nature of physical processes at the atomic level, including radioactive decay and interactions of radiation with matter.
Introductory medical statistics 2nd ed./ Mould Full Text online at UML & print edition at Science
Human anatomy 6th ed./ Van De Graaff Print edition at Science
The phantoms of medical and health physics/ DeWerd, editor The design and composition of a phantom are determined entirely by the purpose the phantom is to serve. A phantom that has been developed to evaluate the dose delivered to a patient during radiation therapy treatments will be drastically different from a phantom designed to test the imaging limits of a kilovoltage radiographic system. The purpose of the phantom will dictate the physical design of the phantom, such as the size, shape, composition, and other details of the phantom such as composition. It will also determine whether or not the phantom is to contain dosimeters (for example, TLDs or ion chambers) and what type of other elements would best suit the given situation.
Handbook of anatomical models for radiation dosimetry/ Xu Print edition at NJM
Medical radiation dosimetry : theory of charged particle collision energy loss/ McPartland The intended readership of this book is the research medical physicist, the radiation metrologist, the medical physics graduate student and the medical physicist practising in radiation oncology and diagnostic imaging (including nuclear medicine). The reader is expected to be familiar with nonrelativistic and relativistic quantum mechanics and kinematics, electromagnetism theory, special relativity and advanced mathematics.
Scattering: Scattering and inverse scattering in pure and applied science/ Pike Full Text online at UML This is the first encyclopedic-range work on the topic of scattering theory in quantum mechanics, elastodynamics, acoustics, and electromagnetics. It serves as a comprehensive interdisciplinary presentation of scattering and inverse scattering theory and applications in a wide range of scientific fields, with an emphasis, and details, up-to-date developments.
Introduction to health physics 5th ed. / Johnson & Cember
Data reduction and error analysis for physical sciences 3rd ed. / Bevington & Robinson

Medical Physics

Books