Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Using encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks--a.k.a. reference sources--can give you a handle on a topic you're unfamiliar with. Use encyclopedias for short excerpts on specific topics, dictionaries to find definitions for words or phrases, and handbooks to provide information on a topic or provide instruction and tutorials.

Encyclopedias

Dictionaries

Penguin dictionary of physics Provides clear and concise definitions for every area of physics--from optics and acoustics to mechanics and electronics, via quantum theory and relativity.
Oxford dictionary of physics Print edition at Science
World of Physics (Eric Weisstein)
Dictionary of pure and applied physics
Gaither’s Dictionary of Scientific Quotations
Glossary of photon science, particle and astroparticle science and HEP-related acronyms and terms

Handbooks

Handbook of radiotherapy physics : theory and practice Print edition at NJM
Handbook of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Principles and Clinical Applications Molecular imaging aims to explore the dynamics of molecules indicative of physiology and disease in a qualitative as well as quantitative manner. New agents and imaging techniques are steadily strengthening as well as refining of their clinical applications.
Handbook of accelerator physics and engineering 2nd ed. This is not a textbook but rather a collection of information useful to professionals in research, design, construction, and operation of accelerators.
Magnetism in medicine : a handbook Print edition at Science
Handbook of magnetism and advanced magnetic materials
Springer handbook of atomic, molecular, and optical physics Full Text online at UML The book gives students, scientists, engineers, and other interested people a comprehensive introduction and overview. It combines introductory explanations with descriptions of phenomena, discussions of results achieved, and gives a useful selection of references to allow more detailed studies, making the handbook very suitable as a desktop reference.
Handbook of photonics for biomedical science/ Tuchin Print edition at Science
Measurement, instrumentation, and sensors handbook: Electromagnetic, optical, radiation, chemical, and biomedical measurement This handbook describes the use of instruments and techniques for practical measurements required in engineering, physics, chemistry and the life sciences. Included is information processing systems, automatic data acquisition, reduction and analysis, operation characteristics, accuracy, errors, calibrations, standards, and their incorporation for control purposes.

Medical Physics

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Encyclopedias

Dictionaries

Handbooks