Medical Physics

Radiation Protection

• Nuclear Safety and Control Act (S.C. 1997, c. 9)
• General Nuclear Safety and Control Regulations (SOR/2000-202)
• Class II Nuclear Facilities and Prescribed Equipment Regulations (SOR/2000-205)
• Nuclear Substances and Radiation Devices Regulations (SOR/2000-207)
• Radiation Protection Regulations (SOR/2000-203)
• Packaging and transport of nuclear substances
• Health Canada Safety Code 35: Safety Procedures for the Installation, Use and Control of X-ray Equipment in Large Medical Radiological Facilities This Safety Code has been prepared to provide specific guidance to large medical radiological facilities where diagnostic and interventional radiological procedures are routinely performed using radiographic, radioscopic or computed tomography equipment.
• ICRP PUBLICATION 60: 1990 Recommendations of the International Commission on Radiological Protection Full Text online at UML Ann. ICRP 21 (1-3), 1991 Superseded by ICRP Publication 103
• ICRP Publication 103: The 2007 Recommendations of the International Commission on Radiological Protection Full Text online at UML ICRP Publication 103 Ann. ICRP 37 (2-4), 2007
• Annal of the ICRP 1999 volume: 29 - present
• NCRP 151 Structural Shielding Design and Evaluation for Megavoltage X -and Gamma-Ray Radiotherapy Facilities Print edition This Report includes the necessary information higher accelerating voltages as well as a discussion of the various factors to be considered in the selection of appropriate shielding materials and in the calculation and evaluation of barrier thicknesses.
• NCRP 147 Structural Shielding Design For Medical X-Ray Imaging Facilities This Report presents recommendations and technical information related to the design and installation of structural shielding for facilities that use x rays for medical imaging. This information supersedes the recommendations in NCRP Report No. 49 (NCRP, 1976) pertaining to medical diagnostic x-ray facilities. It includes a discussion of the various factors to be considered in the selection of appropriate shielding materials and in the calculation of barrier thicknesses.
• NCRP 93 Ionizing Radiation Exposure of the Population of the United States Full Text online at UML This report provides an assessment of the average exposure of members of the United States population from all sources of ionizing radiation.

MRI Safety

• Reference manual for magnetic resonance safety, implants, and devices/ Shellock Print edition at Science
• MRI bioeffects, safety, and patient management/ Shellock Print edition at NJM
• MRI Safety Update 2008: Part 1, MRI Contrast Agents and Nephrogenic Systemic Fibrosis / Shellock & Spinazzi American Journal of Roentgenology. 2008;191: 1129-1139. 10.2214/AJR.08.1038.1
• MRI Safety Update 2008: Part 2, Screening Patients for MRI / Shellock & Spinazzi American Journal of Roentgenology. 2008;191: 1140-1149. 10.2214/AJR.08.1038.2
• ACR Guidance Document on MR Safe Practices: 2013 Because there are many potential risks in the MR environment and reports of adverse incidents involving patients, equipment and personnel, the need for a guidance document on MR safe practices emerged. Initially published in 2002, the ACR MR Safe Practices Guidelines established de facto industry standards for safe and responsible practices in clinical and research MR environments. J. Magn. Reson. Imaging 2013;37:501–530
• Medical Magnetic Resonance (MR) Procedures: Protection of Patients Full Text online at UML The International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection Statement Health Physics. 87(2):197-216, August 2004.
• Health Canada Safety Code 26: Guidelines on Exposure to Electromagnetic Fields from Magnetic Resonance Clinical Systems This document briefly reviews biological effects of various fields used in magnetic resonance devices and provides general guidance on exposure levels to the patient and to the operator.

Resources

• Introduction to health physics 5th ed./ Cember Print edition at NJM
• Physics for radiation protection 3rd ed./ Martin A much-needed working resource for health physicists and other radiation protection professionals, this volume presents clear, thorough, up-to-date explanations of the basic physics necessary to address real-world problems in radiation protection
• Health physics and radiological health 4th ed./ Johnson Print edition at NJM Estimates of radiation doses from various sources of exposure -- Commonly used units, signs, symbols, conversion factors, and constants -- Rules-of-thumb as useful equations -- Standards and guidances for limiting ionizing radiation exposure -- Interaction of radiation with matter -- Exposure and shielding from external radiation -- Neutron production, shielding, and activation -- Radionuclide data -- Radiation measurement instruments -- Patient doses in the healing arts -- Operational health physics -- Bioassay and radiobiological data -- Radiation dosimetry -- Ionizing radiation bioeffects and risks -- Non-ionizing radiation.
• Atoms, Radiation, and Radiation Protection 3rd ed./ Turner Atoms, Radiation, and Radiation Protection offers professionals and advanced students a comprehensive coverage of the major concepts that underlie the origins and transport of ionizing radiation in matter. The work covers the detection and measurement of radiation and the statistical interpretation of the data.
• The modern technology of radiation oncology : a compendium for medical physicists and radiation oncologists/ Van Dyk Print edition at Science
• Radiation detection and measurement 4th ed./ Knoll Print edition at NJM and Science
• Radiation Protection in Medical Physics/ Lemoigne We hope this book will become a reference in radioprotection, addressing an audience of young medical physicists everywhere in the world, increasingly sensitive to radioprotection in their medical physics activities at hospitals and radiotherapy facilities.
• Radiation Protection in Nuclear Medicine/ Mattsson Full Text online at UML The book is aimed for medical physicists, technicians, physicians in nuclear medicine and radiology, radiochemists, engineers, PhD students, radiation protection experts, and others involved in nuclear medicine, radionuclide production, and radiation protection.