LibGuides: History: Databases

Find Articles

Journal Articles
Search dedicated History databases for peer-reviewed journal articles.

Searching for Articles

Databases can contain peer-reviewed articles from academic journals, primary sources, and more.
Most of the history journals we subscribe to are available through the databases listed below.

There are two different types of databases.

Indexing databases keep a list of articles so you can search what has been written about a topic. However they do not necessarily offer access to the full text of the article. If the full text is not available you will have to search for the article again in the library catalogue to see if we subscribe. (For example: America History & Life, Historical Abstracts, and International Medieval Bibliography)

Full text databases provide access to articles and will allow you to download a copy in pdf format. (For example: JSTOR and Project Muse)

Canada & United States

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
CPI.Q This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window

World History & Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new window
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE Full Database This link opens in a new window

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Europe, incl. Medieval & Classics

Année philologique This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Iter : Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window

Non-Western History Databases

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window