LibGuides: HSL Librarians & Assistants Toolkit: Carol C

Point of Care Tools

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
UpToDate LexiDrug This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
VisualDx This link opens in a new window

Getting Articles

Patient Education from the Libraries

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
UpToDate LexiDrug This link opens in a new window
CPS This link opens in a new window

Proxy Base URL

This is the proxy base URL:
http://proxycheck.lib.umanitoba.ca/libraries/online/proxy.php?
[Use for links in RICH TEXT Content Items in LibGuides or for e-mailing links to clients.]

Permalinks @ UML

Databases

Favourites

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.PubMed Search Help

MEDLINE (Ovid)

EMBASE This link opens in a new window EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database that provides access to up-to-date information from international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.Embase Search Help
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window CINAHL® with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 603 journals indexed in CINAHL. This database also provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL® with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. CINAHL Search Help
Scopus This link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari. Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.Scopus Search Help
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window Web of Science is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface. Components include:BIOSIS Citation Index (2010-present)BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)Current Contents Connect (1998-present)Data Citation Index (1900-present)Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)MEDLINE® (1950-present)Preprint Citation Index (1991-present)ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index (1637-present)SciELO Citation Index (1997-present)Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)Zoological Record (1864-present) Web of Science Search Help

Best of the rest

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a quarterly updated electronic database containing systematic reviews and other information that will assist in making diagnostic, treatment and other health care decisions. It is the most comprehensive source of references for those with an interest in evidence-based health care. The Cochrane Library consists of four main databases.
JBI (via OvidSP) This link opens in a new window Please Note: Effective July 26, 2024, this resource has made changes and upgrades to their website. It will continue to be available to the University of Manitoba Libraries. The Joanna Briggs Institute is multi-source information service supporting evidence-based healthcare practice in nursing, midwifery, medicine, and allied health. The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Evidence-Based Practice (EBP) database provides access to a variety of documents, including: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports. Users must create a free personal account in order to access the following EBP tools via Ovid: * SUMARI (System for the Unified Management, Assessment and Review of Information) * PACES (Practical Application of Clinical Evidence System)JBI Search Help
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) This link opens in a new window Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) is a free bibliographic database provided by EBSCOhost. Subject coverage includes librarianship, libraries, cataloguing, classification, bibliometrics, information retrieval, information resources, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA provides indexing and abstracting for books, academic journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and trade publications.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1806-presentThis database is published by the American Psychological Association and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more.PsycINFO Search Help
ulrichsweb.com (Ulrich's Periodicals Directory) This link opens in a new window A database of publishing information for journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and monographic series worldwide. Key information about each title includes a description of its subject matter, refereed status, title history, alternative titles, ISSN, language, frequency, publisher, other media formats, abstracting and indexing sources, and cost. Links to tables of contents, article abstracts.
Journal Citation Reports (InCites) This link opens in a new window Journal Citation Reports provides citation data for journals in science, technology and the social sciences. JCR can be used to identify the most frequently cited journals or those with the highest impact (Journal Impact Factor). JCR is split into two editions: JCR Science Edition and JCR Social Sciences Edition, and each annual edition contains the previous year’s publication data.

Librarian

Carol Cooke

she / her / hers

Email Me

Contact:

Rm 226, Brodie Centre, Bannatyne Campus

Neil John Maclean Health Sciences Library
727 McDermot Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3E 3P5

204-583-6959

Subjects: Health Sciences, Medicine