Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Comparative Law: Case Law

CanLii
CanLII offers free public access to Canadian case law and legislative materials. Every province and territory is represented.


The Supreme Court of Canada Decisions (Lexum)
This collection contains Supreme Court of Canada judgments dating back to 1875 and judgments in leave applications since 2006.


Federal Court of Appeal Decisions
View Federal Court of Appeal decisions dating back to 1988. The decisions are available in both official languages.

Justia
Access American case law from every judicial branch in the country. This includes the United States Supreme Court, the Federal Court division and various state-level courts.


FindLaw
FindLaw provides access to American case, legislation and various state-level resources.


Legal Information Institute (Cornell University)
Cornell's Legal Information Institute (LII) provides access to U.S. case law from every judicial level in the country.


Google Scholar
When using Google Scholar, choose “case law”, select court(s), and search by citation, case name, or keyword.

BAILII (British and Irish Legal Information Institute)
Provides the most comprehensive set of British and Irish primary legal materials freely available online. There are over 50 case law databases, covering both courts and major tribunals.


CommonLII
This database contains case law from the English Reports from the period 1220 - 1873.

Africa

AfricanLII (African Legal Information Institute)

Kenya Law Reports

LesothoLII (Lesotho Legal Information Institute)

SierraLeanoLII (Sierra Leone legal Information Institute)

SafLII (Southern African Legal Information Institute)

SwaziLII (Swaziland Legal Information Institute)

ULII (Uganda Legal Information Institute)


Asia

AsianLII (Asian Legal Information Institute)

HKLII (Hong Kong Legal Information Institute)

LII of India (Legal Information Institute of India)

SUPLIS (Supreme Court Judges Library)


Europe

Curia
Free resource that contains the official case-law reports of the Court of Justice of the European Union.

 

EUR-Lex
Free resource that provides access to EU case law, treaties, legislation, international agreements, and other public documents dating back to 1951.

 

Droit.org (Institution Français d' Information Juridique)

Italian Institute of Legal Information Theory and Techniques

Juristiches Internetprojeckt Saarbrücken (German)


Oceana

AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute)
Free access to Australian and New Zealand court decisions dating back to the turn of the 20th century.

 

BarNet Jade
Free resource for finding recent Australian case law. 

 

NZLII (New Zealand Legal Information Institute)
Similar to AustLII but with a focus on New Zealand case law.

 

PacLII (Pacific Islands Legal Information Institute)
Covering jurisdictions such as American Samoa, Fiji and the Marshall Islands.

Liaison Librarian

Matthew Renaud's picture
Matthew Renaud
Contact:
E.K. Williams Law Library
(204) 474-6371
Subjects:Law