Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Métis Nation. More

Comparative Law: Online Resources

Foreign Law Guide
Provides information on sources of foreign law and legal systems, including complete citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources. Coverage for 190 jurisdictions. 


World Constitution Illustrated (HeinOnline)
Includes historic and current constitutions in the original language and in English translation. Provides government information, references to books, articles, bibliographic references and web sites. 


Foreign and International Law Resources Database (HeinOnline)
This database includes a collection of international law publications, including international yearbooks and periodicals, international tribunal/judicial decisions and other significant works related to foreign and international law.


Oxford Reports on International Law
Provides decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts and tribunals. Case reports can be searched by title, subject, keywords and jurisdiction.


LegiGlobe
LegiGlobe présente, en français, sur l’internet, les systèmes juridiques dans le monde. Le fonds éditorial de lancement regroupe environ 150 présentations juridiques d’États et des dizaines de notes de droit comparé.

LegalTrac
LegalTrac indexes more than 1,400 titles, including major law reviews, legal newspapers and international legal journals. Includes selective full text.


Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL)
(available only to individuals with WestlawNext Canada accounts)
The ICLL indexes over 200 Canadian secondary sources, including journals, monograpghs, essays in edited collections and legal commentary.

TIP: Search topically within the ICLL by entering: "comparative law" AND [name of country]

Legal Journal Index
(available only to individuals with WestlawNext Canada accounts)
This resource indexes articles from legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe, as well as journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the EU and its Member States. Coverage is from 1986 until the present.

TIP: To access the Legal Journal Index, click on the International tab, select United Kingdom, then under Journals, select the Legal Journal Index.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline)
A multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. The Index also provides coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the UK, Canada and Australia. 

Guide to Law Online (Law Library of Congress)
Provides an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. Select Guide Index to display a list of individual countries' legislation, courts, etc.


GlobaLEX (NYU School of Law)
Provides guides to legal research under headings for Comparative Law, Foreign Law and International Law. Select UPDATE next to the desired guide to view the most recent content.


Country-by-Country Guide to Foreign Law Research (Yale Law School)
Organized by Yale's Lillian Goldman Law Library, this resource provides links to various research guides and databases for the listed countries.


World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
This collection is maintained by several legal research institutes around the world. It includes a list of countries with links to their respective courts, case law, government, and legislation websites


Commonwealth Legal Information Institute (CommonLII)
Offers information on Commonwealth and common law jurisdictions


JuriGlobe - World Legal Systems (University of Ottawa Faculty of Law)
This research guide provides a multilingual information data bank containing general information relating to the different legal systems in the world.


Comparative Criminal Procedure (University of Chicago)
This research guide lists selected English-language resources on comparative criminal procedure with a focus on journal articles, book chapters, and treatises covering comparative criminal procedure generally, criminal procedure in multiple jurisdictions, and specialized research topics in comparative criminal procedure.

Liaison Librarian

Matthew Renaud's picture
Matthew Renaud
Contact:
E.K. Williams Law Library
(204) 474-6371
Subjects:Law