LibGuides: Medical Student Toolkit: Home

Searching

PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.PubMed Search Help
PubMed Single Citation Matcher This link opens in a new window The PubMed Single Citation Matcher searches the PubMed database, allowing you to easily find a specific article. Fill in any information about a citation or article (e.g., author, title, journal, volume, issue, page) and it will identify matching articles.

Key resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted sources. It delivers the latest medical advances and knowledge from recognized physicians delivered in a digital aggregation with online desktop, PDA, iPod, and MP3 compatible device solutions.You may display, download, or print PowerPoint slides and images for personal and educational use only. Educational use refers to classroom teaching, lectures, presentations, rounds, and other instructional activities, such as displaying, linking to, downloading, printing and distributing multiple copies in both print and electronic format. You may only display, distribute, or otherwise make these images and slides available to students or other persons attending in-person presentations, lectures, rounds or other similar instructional activities presented or given by you. You may modify the content of downloaded PowerPoint slides only for educational use; the source and attribution may not be modified.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Please Note: To view ebook PDFs, users must create a personal account or use a Scopus ID. Please Note: Per publisher policy, ClinicalKey doesn't provide PDFs for all ebook titles. ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. Image use: You may pull figures, images, and tables from ClinicalKey into the ClinicalKey Presentation Maker for use in the creation of internal or external presentations and for training purposes, provided that:all such uses are non-commercialyou obtain third-party permission for using content credited to themeach copy of the presentation carries appropriate credit to the content owner (ClinicalKey Presentation Maker inserts the required citation and copyright statement – do not remove).
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a quarterly updated electronic database containing systematic reviews and other information that will assist in making diagnostic, treatment and other health care decisions. It is the most comprehensive source of references for those with an interest in evidence-based health care. The Cochrane Library consists of four main databases.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window Please Note: Effective December 31, 2023, UpToDate is ending support for the Internet Explorer (IE) browser. Please use the latest version of Edge, Chrome, Firefox, or Safari. Please Note: An app is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play - see the Installation Instructions. App users will be prompted to renew their account every 6 months. See the Renewal Instructions. UpToDate only supports the latest browser versions (Edge, Chrome, Firefox, Opera, Safari). UpToDate is a full-text resource supporting clinical decision-making in the field of internal medicine and its subspecialties. It provides options for diagnosis and management, including the efficacy, doses, and interactions of individual drugs, and includes a section for patients. Content is peer-reviewed and updated every four months. The use of images from UpToDate is permitted in presentations for the purpose of teaching. List UpToDate as the source and use the “Export to PowerPoint” feature to ensure all of the appropriate copyright information is included with the slide. Explicit permission is required to use images for the purpose of publication or in any commercial endeavor.
UpToDate LexiDrug This link opens in a new window Please Note: Database formerly called Lexi-Comp online with AHFS. Please Note: Users may experience issues accessing certain modules, such as Lexi-Interact. If this happens, users are encouraged to clear their cache, try accessing via a different browser, or access using the LexiComp App. If the problem persists, contact the library at healthlibrary@umanitoba.ca We are working with the publisher to have this access issue fixed as soon as possible. Access Restrictions: On-site access is restricted to the Fort Garry and Bannatyne campuses (excluding HSC). Off-campus access is restricted to UM students and faculty. Please Note: The mobile version is only available to select categories of Health Sciences students and faculty due to a limited number of accounts. To register, see the instructions here. LexiComp Online with AHFS is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools, providing clear, concise and actionable drug and clinical information from a variety of resources. All content is unbiased, pharma-free, and updated daily.
VisualDx This link opens in a new window Please Note: Effective February 1, 2025, the University of Manitoba's subscription to this resource will end. VisualDx is a visual clinical support tool and educational resource. It allows you to build a differential diagnosis based on patient findings, sort diagnoses based on likelihood or emergency, compare images side by side, and use clinical pearls to increase confidence in your diagnosis. The images represent multiple ages and skin types and various stages of diseases.

More resources

Family Practice Notebook A rapid access, point-of-care medical reference for primary care and emergency clinicians. Started in 1995, this collection now contains over 6100 interlinked topic pages divided into a tree of 31 specialty books and over 700 chapters.
Medscape Comprises the largest and most current clinical knowledge base available freely to physicians and other healthcare professionals. Nearly 10,000 physician authors and editors contribute . The evidence-based content, updated regularly, provides the latest practice guidelines in 59 medical specialties.

CPS This link opens in a new window Please Note: Exit from the account at the end of your session. Please Note: An app is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play. To register, see the instructions here. Compiled by the Canadian Pharmacists Association, CPS integrates content from CPA's drug and therapeutic publications. It is an authoritative source for prescribing and managing drug therapy at the point of care, providing access to evidence-based, reliable Canadian drug and therapeutic information.
UpToDate LexiDrug This link opens in a new window Please Note: Database formerly called Lexi-Comp online with AHFS. Please Note: Users may experience issues accessing certain modules, such as Lexi-Interact. If this happens, users are encouraged to clear their cache, try accessing via a different browser, or access using the LexiComp App. If the problem persists, contact the library at healthlibrary@umanitoba.ca We are working with the publisher to have this access issue fixed as soon as possible. Access Restrictions: On-site access is restricted to the Fort Garry and Bannatyne campuses (excluding HSC). Off-campus access is restricted to UM students and faculty. Please Note: The mobile version is only available to select categories of Health Sciences students and faculty due to a limited number of accounts. To register, see the instructions here. LexiComp Online with AHFS is a collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools, providing clear, concise and actionable drug and clinical information from a variety of resources. All content is unbiased, pharma-free, and updated daily.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window Please Note: Database formerly called Natural Medicines. Natural Medicines is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed. The mission of this collaboration is to provide objective, reliable information that aids clinicians, patients, and others.
RxFiles This link opens in a new window
To use the RxFiles mobile app, follow these steps:
1. Download the app (available on iOS and Android)
2. While connected to campus WiFi, visit rxfiles.ca on your mobile device.
3. Scroll down to the bottom of the main RxFiles page. Click on “Activate iOS/Android App”. Allow your device to open the RxFiles app.
4. If the first screen of the app asks you to login, hit Cancel. The app should now say “Unlocked from verified IP”. The app will be active for 3 months. After this, you will have to reactivate (start from Step 2).

To get current chart versions, hit the “Check for Updates” button within the app menu. Check for updates periodically. Note – the app features the ongoing updated RxFiles Drug Comparison Charts. Remember there is more information (newsletter, Q&As, trial summaries) on the website.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Please Note: To view ebook PDFs, users must create a personal account or use a Scopus ID. Please Note: Per publisher policy, ClinicalKey doesn't provide PDFs for all ebook titles. ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. Image use: You may pull figures, images, and tables from ClinicalKey into the ClinicalKey Presentation Maker for use in the creation of internal or external presentations and for training purposes, provided that:all such uses are non-commercialyou obtain third-party permission for using content credited to themeach copy of the presentation carries appropriate credit to the content owner (ClinicalKey Presentation Maker inserts the required citation and copyright statement – do not remove).

Health Canada Drug Product Database

Search our library catalogue and resources for books, journals and more.

Library Search This link opens in a new window

Search MedlinePlus for patient education materials.

Looking for the Medline (Ovid) database to search medical journal literature?

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international journal literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.Medline Search Help

Diagnosis

Diagnosaurus

Symptom to Diagnosis by Scott D. C. Stern; Adam S. Cifu; Diane Altkorn
Call Number: Available through AccessMedicine
Publication Date: 2015
The Patient History by Henderson MC et al.
Call Number: Available through AccessMedicine
Publication Date: 2012

VisualDx This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Effective February 1, 2025, the University of Manitoba's subscription to this resource will end.

VisualDx is a visual clinical support tool and educational resource. It allows you to build a differential diagnosis based on patient findings, sort diagnoses based on likelihood or emergency, compare images side by side, and use clinical pearls to increase confidence in your diagnosis. The images represent multiple ages and skin types and various stages of diseases.

Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition by Leonard G. Gomella
ISBN: 0071602828
Publication Date: 2022
Electronic textbook available in the Library Collection via Access Medicine. Appropriate for Clerkship and Residency.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, 7th Edition by Diana Nicoll; Chuanyi Mark Lu; Stephen J. McPhee
Call Number: Available through AccessMedicine
Publication Date: 2017

Exploring Essential Radiology Helps medical students and residents develop their imaging interpretation skills in various modalities as well as various anatomical regions. These modules offer the chance for learners to sharpen their clinical knowledge and diagnostic skills.
Medscape Brief explanation of standard radiologic imaging procedures. Part of the Medscape website.
Radiology Assistant The Radiology Assistant presents peer-reviewed up-to-date articles and cases on common problems in daily radiology practice for radiology residents and general radiologists.
Radiology Info A great website for patients and medical students. Explains how x-ray, CT, MRI, ultrasound, radiation therapy procedures are performed. Addresses what patients may experience and supplies information on how to prepare for a radiological exam. All material on the RadiologyInfo.org website is reviewed and approved by experts in the field of radiology from the American College of Radiology and Radiological Society of North America.
Radiology Master Class

Netter's Introduction to Imaging by Cochard LR et al
Call Number: Available through ProQuest
Publication Date: 2012

Clinical resources

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Available from the library collection. It includes video content such as OSCE Clinical Skills videos designed to help students test clinical reasoning skills.

Trip Pro This link opens in a new window Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to find and use high-quality research evidence to support their medical practice and/or care. Systematic reviews, evidence synopsis, and practice guidelines are among the searchable publication types. Also included are: images, video, patient information leaflets, educational courses, and news.