LibGuides: Medical Student Toolkit: Clinical Skills

Clinical Skills (CS)

Clinical Skills (CS) Textbooks

Recommended Handbooks (Optional)

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Available electronically in the Library Collection. It includes video content such as OSCE Clinical Skills videos designed to help students test clinical reasoning skills.

Communication

Calgary-Cambridge Guide to the Medical Interview - Communication Process

The Medical Interview by Cole SA, Bird J
ISBN: 9780323052214
Publication Date: 2013
Available in the Library Collection via ClinicalKey.

Supplemental Books

Clinical Methods by H. Kenneth Walker; W. Dallas
Call Number: WB 290 L959c 1987
Publication Date: 1990
Electronic textbook available in the Library Collection via the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Also available in print in the Library's collection.
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition by Leonard G. Gomella
ISBN: 0071602828
Publication Date: 2022
Electronic textbook available in the Library Collection via Access Medicine. Appropriate for Clerkship and Residency.
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination by Richard F. LeBlond; Donald D. Brown; Manish Suneja; Joseph F. Szot
ISBN: 9781260134872
Publication Date: 2020
Electronic textbook available in the Library Collection via AccessMedicine.
Handbook of Clinical Skills: A Practical manual by Balu H. Athreya
Publication Date: 2010
Electronic textbook available in the Library Collection via Ebrary
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method, Fourth Edition by Robert C. Smith; Auguste H. Fortin; Francesca C. Dwamena; Richard M. Frankel; Brenda L. Lepisto
ISBN: 9781259644627
Publication Date: 2018
Available electronically in Library Collection via AccessMedicine.
The Patient History by Mark Henderson; Lawrence Tierney; Gerald Smetana
Publication Date: 2012
Electronic textbook available in the Library Collection via AccessMedicine.
The Rational Clinical Examination by David Simel; Drummond Rennie; Robert Hayward; David L. Simel
Call Number: WB 200 R236r 2009
Publication Date: 2008
Electronic textbook available in the Library Collection via JAMA Evidence. Also available in print in the Library's collection.
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination by Jane W. Ball; Joyce E. Dains; John A. Flynn; Barry S. Solomon; Rosalyn W. Stewart
ISBN: 9780323761833
Publication Date: 2022
Available electronically in the Library Collection via ClinicalKey.

Physical Examination Videos

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Available from the library collection. It includes video content such as OSCE Clinical Skills videos designed to help students test clinical reasoning skills.

System Specific Examination Resources

The R.A.L.E.® Repository - Respiratory Sounds
Presents digital recordings of respiratory sounds heard with a stethoscope during auscultation of a patient's chest in health and disease.