LibGuides: Patents &amp; Technology Transfer: Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window Please Note: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index is now available for search in Web of Science. It will continue to be available to University of Manitoba Libraries. Full-text Coverage: restricted to University of Manitoba dissertations and theses, 1929-2014. For 2015 onward, see Mspace Dissertations and theses published since 1980 includes an abstract written by the author.
MSpace This link opens in a new window MSpace is the University of Manitoba's institutional repository, dedicated to collecting, storing, and preserving digital versions of the intellectual output of University of Manitoba faculty, researchers,and students. It contains datasets, undergraduate and graduate theses, historical pamphlets, and other research publications.
Scopus This link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari. Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive interdisciplinary, bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly. Components include:Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)Index Chemicus (1993-present)Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present)

The University of Manitoba Libraries use a proxy server to allow access to licenced electronic resources from off-campus. When you choose a resource that needs to be authenticated you'll be asked for your Library ID and PIN. Here's what they are:

Library ID and Password

Your Library ID is your UMNetID and UMNetID password. Contact the IST Help and Solutions Centre if you need assistance with your UMNetID.

Image: White text on blue background with round thought bubbles Text: Ask Us

Bio-Science Databases

Agricola This link opens in a new window AGRICOLA, produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library, is one of the major indexes providing worldwide coverage of the agricultural literature. It corresponds to the printed index, Bibliography of Agriculture. Ninety percent of the records describe journal articles and book chapters, while the remainder describe monographs, series, microforms, theses, patents, software and technical reports. A few records include abstracts.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window In addition to having all of Biological Abstracts back to 1926, BIOSIS Previews abstracts and indexes information from numerous sources from around the world. BIOSIS Previews indexes virtually every life sciences discipline including traditional biology (botany, ecology, zoology), interdisciplinary subjects (biochemisty, biomedicine, and biotechnology), agriculture, pharmacology, veterinary science, and related areas (instrumentation and methods).
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window Simultaneous user limit: 8 The CAB Abstracts database covers the subject of agriculture in the broadest sense. It includes: agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, animal science, agricultural economics, environmental degradation and remediation, forestry, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation and tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, rural development, soil science and veterinary medicine.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database that provides access to up-to-date information from international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window Simultaneous user limit: 4 The Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA) database is devoted to food science and technology. It covers articles on the basic food sciences, food products and food processes. Thousands of journals are indexed; it also includes information from patents, books, conference proceedings, and legislative papers.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Simultaneous user limit: 1 Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), International Pharmaceutical Abstracts covers hundreds of journals published worldwide. Coverage includes clinical and technical drug information, pharmacy practice, pharmaceutical education, and legal aspects of pharmacy and drugs. Letters, editorials, comments and other items that feature significant pharmaceutical information are included.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window Please Note: Database formerly called Natural Medicines. Natural Medicines is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed. The mission of this collaboration is to provide objective, reliable information that aids clinicians, patients, and others.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1864 - present Zoological Record is a comprehensive index to zoological literature covering all aspects of animal biology, paleobiology, and zoology, focusing on the natural biology of animals (fossil, recent, whole animal, behavioral, environmental, and cellular studies). Publications indexed include professional journals, magazines, newsletters, monographs, books, reviews, and conference proceedings.

Technology and Material Science

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library includes bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text of articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1954. Full text is available for most articles, but full text is not yet available for every proceeding article published before 1991.
Analytical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Analytical Abstracts (also known as Analytical WebBase) is a current awareness and information retrieval service for analytical scientists. Search the worldwide analytical literature conveniently and rapidly, covering the period from 1980 until the latest update.
Compendex Web This link opens in a new window This database abstracts the wide range of all engineering disciplines covering journal articles and conference proceedings with over 2,600 sources world-wide, adding 220,000 annually. The database covers from 1884 to the present and is updated weekly. The Web-based search interface is easy to learn, with access by keyword, author, title words, subject headings, author affiliation, and/or journal title. One can limit by year, discipline or type of document.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1884-present Engineering Village provides a searchable index of engineering literature and patent information. Designed by, and for, the engineering community, the platform offers access to multiple engineering databases, providing peer-reviewed, deeply indexed engineering research content.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window GreenFILE offers research information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
IEEE Xplore: IEEE Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window Please Note: IET Electronic Library (IEL) is now available under IET Journals. The IEEE provides access to the full text of ejournals, ebooks, conference proceedings, and technical standards of: the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) and SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers). Subject areas include electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, bioengineering, and communication technologies, among other growing areas of research.
INIS Database (International Nuclear Information System) This link opens in a new window The INIS database covers scientific literature on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. Subjects include nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation, applications of nuclear science in agriculture and health, and others. The database includes references to journal articles, science and technology reports, conference papers, books, patents, theses, laws, regulations and standards, and web documents.
INSPEC Archive This link opens in a new window Coverage years: 1898-1968 Inspec provides access to scientific literature in electrical engineering, electronics, physics, control engineering, information technology, communications, computers, computing, and manufacturing and production engineering. The database, produced by the Institution of Electrical Engineers, contains over eight million bibliographic records taken from 3,500 scientific and technical journals and 1,500 conference proceedings.
NASA Astrophysics Data System This link opens in a new window The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing millions of bibliographic records in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints, which are searchable through highly customizable query forms.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window Access limited to: UM Students, Faculty, and Staff SciFinder-n, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, is a comprehensive index to the chemical literature. In addition to searching for journal articles, it also indexes the chemical patent literature. Links to full-text patents are included. Chemical property information, chemical structures, and reaction searching are also available.

Technology Transfer Resources

The Journal of Technology Transfer
Comparative technology transfer and society (2003-2009)
International Journal on Software Tools for Technology Transfer : STTT
Northwestern journal of technology and intellectual property: NJTIP
Spinoff (NASA)
Intellectual Property Journal
Managing Intellectual Property
Journal of Intellectual Property
Tulane Journal of Technology and Intellectual Property
Digital Technology Law Journal
Journal of Intellectual Property Law & Practice