Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Journal Articles
Asian American Drama
Asian American Drama brings together more than 250 plays, beginning with works from the late nineteenth century, with related biographical, production, and theatrical information. This collection includes a theater database, production database, photos, posters, and more.
Black Drama contains a multitude of full text plays written from 1850 to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African Diaspora countries. More than a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays. Each play is extensively indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, ancillary information, a performance database, etc.
Black Drama: Second Edition
Black Drama, in its second Edition, has been expanded. The second edition contains the full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Each play is extensively indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, ancillary information, a performance database, etc.
Drama Online: The Hollow Crown Collection
Please Note: Effective July 14, 2021, this resource has migrated to a new platform; it continues to be available to the University of Manitoba Libraries.
The Hollow Crown Series brings to life Shakespeare’s history plays, covering five generations of medieval struggle, woven with the finest of Shakespeare’s poetry, and filmed in the architecture and landscape of the period. The plays include: Richard II, Richard III, Henry IV, Henry V, and Henry VI.
This critically-acclaimed series features a star-studded cast, including Benedict Cumberbatch, David Tennant, Ben Whishaw, Jeremy Irons, Judi Dench, Hugh Bonneville, and Tom Hiddleston.
Coverage: 8th century - present
Literature Online is a resource for the study and teaching of English literature. It is a fully integrated service that combines the text of literary works (poetry, prose, and drama) with criticism and reference resources. Content also includes scholarly journals covering aspects of literary studies.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography, from the Modern Language Association of America, indexes international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore, and includes citations from journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings.
North American Women's Drama
This collection contains the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present, many of them unpublished, by writers from the U.S. and Canada. Also includes playbills, production photographs and other ephemera.
Titles from BFI Publishing's list of books on film history, theory, national cinemas, genres, film-makers, and stars. It includes titles published in the BFI Screen Guides, World Directors, Film Stars, BFI Silver and International Screen Industries series, as well as essential companions to film studies such as Pam Cook’s The Cinema Book.
Theatre in Context Collection
Covering the Colonial times to the present, this collection provides detailed reference information for theatrical figures, plays, theatres, major productions and production companies in Canada and the United States.
Theatre in Video
Theatre in Video provides access to online streaming videos of theatre in performance, as well as documentaries, interviews and instructional materials relating to theatre.
Twentieth Century North American Drama
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains the full text of plays written from the mid-1800s to the present. Many of the works are rare, out of print, or previously unpublished. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.