Social Work Thompson and Distance Education Library Guide: Getting Started

This database should be the first place you start your search. It covers areas/topics in social work, human services, social welfare, social policy and community development.

This is a major sociology database that covers topics in sociology, and many areas in social work. This should be the second place you search after Social Services Abstracts.

This is a smaller database that focuses on topics in social work, including theory and practice, along with social issues and problems. This is a good place to search after Social Services Abstracts and Sociological Abstracts.

If your topic is focused on children, adolescents, or families this is a good place to search for those topics. It covers current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through to the age of 21.

This database focuses on topics related to children and family studies. It covers topics in human development, social welfare and human ecology.

Social Work Online is a multimedia resource that combines video—documentaries and client demonstrations—with relevant text content to illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners.

A searchable database of streaming video files on psychotherapy. Designed for teaching, training, and education, the database features demonstrations and counseling sessions with participants on a host of therapeutic topics. Videos are searchable by therapeutic approaches, therapeutic issues, expert therapists, population, and titles.

A library of mental health simulation videos, Symptom Media’s films provide viewers with visual guideposts to better understand mental health diagnoses and decrease the stigma for those facing psychological issues. The collection includes the DSM 5 and ICD 10 Guided Video collection.

Access selected videos on Kanopy, an on-demand streaming video service. Students and staff may recommend that the University of Manitoba Libraries consider acquiring Kanopy videos that will support their research and/or academic work.

CAMPUS is the online media portal of the National Film Board of Canada, containing documentaries, animated films, interactive productions, and short films in English and French.