The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
I am happy to come to your class and chat about the research visualization services UML offers and/ or do a software training session. The following list are the sessions I am currently offering on request. Some are also being run as workshops through the GradSteps program, and can be found listed in the Library Calendar.
Foundations literacy sessions are for those whose learners who may not have experienced training in digital tools before. Previously they were listed as the 'Gentle Introduction' sessions.
Data Foundations: GIS Hub at Campus Libraries: Accessing your ESRI License and other mapping tools. (1hr)This session provides an overview of geospatial services at Campus Libraries and how we can support your research visualization. The session will explain how you can access your ESRI account, explore different types of data that can be visualized spatially, and discuss potential solutions for displaying qualitative and quantitative data sets. In this session, participants will:
|
Data Foundations: Managing your digital projects (1hr)This session lays the groundwork for researchers who want to visualize their research and are looking for a practical approach to the project management and data literacy skills needed to be proficient in this area. Attendees will have the opportunity to interact with various visualization software and data types at different stations, and we will end with a hands-on exercise of planning a personal map. By the end of this workshop, participants will:
|
Data Foundations - A gentle introduction to spatial data and mapping (2hrs)This hands-on session provides an overview of spatial data visualization and how it can be used. Attendees will compare various software and data types, become familiar with popular processes that can be used to map data as well as considerations for symbology. The discussion will be centred on visualizing researcher data and include a hands-on exercise creating a personal map. By the end of this workshop participants will:
|
Data Foundations Data Visualization: the good, the bad and the ugly (1hr)This session provides an overview of key concepts in data visualization and focuses on the top ten do’s and don’ts when creating charts and graphics to communicate your research data. Hands-on examples will be used to explore different tools, as well as design considerations for accessibility. By the end of this workshop participants will:
|
Data Foundations: Introduction to data cleaning with OpenRefine (1.5hrs)This hands-on session provides an overview of data cleaning and why it is important. Attendees will be introduced to various data cleaning tools and procedures focusing on textual data. Participants will become familiar with navigating the OpenRefine interface and popular workflows. Voyant will be used to create visualize the data by creating wordclouds to see how different workflows impact the textual dataset. By the end of this workshop participants will:
|
Storytelling literacy sessions are for those whose learners who have the basics of working in a digital environment and are looking for additional software training in specific areas.
Data Storytelling: Finding supplementary data sets for use in GIS (1hr)This session provides an overview of supplementary geospatial data sets and how and why they might be used. Focus will be on the Manitoba and Winnipeg data. Attendees will gain insight into tips and strategies for use in working in various platforms. Discussion will be centered on integrating researcher data with these secondary data sources. By the end of this session participants will:
|
Data Storytelling: Introduction to GIS using ArcGIS Online (1.5hrs (either) )This hands-on session provides an overview of GIS, how it can be used in research. Participants will learn about best practices and guidelines for conducting their own research. Learners will get a hands on opportunity to explore the UML instance of ArcGIS Online and interact with a project. BASIC
INTERMEDIATE
|
Data Storytelling: Introduction to online mapping and ESRI Story Maps (3hrs intensive)This hands-on session provides an overview of data visualization techniques and instructions on how to apply them in ArcGIS Online. Participants will learn about best practices and guidelines for designing effective StoryMaps. Learners will get a chance to go through the entire design process of creating a narrative with their data for a particular scenario using ESRI tools. In this session, participants will:
|
Data Storytelling: QGIS: A gentle introduction to open source GIS software (1.5hrs)This hands-on session provides an overview of Geographic Information Systems (GIS) and how it can be used. Attendees will compare various GIS software and data types, become familiar with navigating the QGIS interface and procedures for adding and symbolizing data. Discussion will be centered on integrating researcher data with secondary data sources. By the end of this workshop participants will:
|
Data Storytelling: Introduction to open graphics tools with Inkscape (1.5hrs)This hands-on session provides an overview of Inkscape and how it can be used to create publication quality maps from QGIS. Attendees will be introduced to various tools and procedures focusing on geospatial data. Participants will become familiar with navigating the Inkscape interface and popular workflows. An example layout will be used to see how different tools can be used. By the end of this workshop participants will:
|
Data Storytelling: Introduction to Dashboards with PowerBI (1.5hrs)This hands-on session provides an overview of data dashboards and popular visualization strategies. Attendees will compare various software and data types, become familiar with navigating the PowerBI interface and procedures for adding and symbolizing data. Discussion will be centered on integrating researcher data with secondary data sources. In this session, participants will:
|
Data Storytelling: Introduction to Infographics with Piktochart (1.5hrs)This hands-on session provides an overview of infographics and tools as well as how they can be used. Participants will learn about best practices and guidelines for designing effective infographics and evaluating them. In the latter part of the session attendees will get a chance to go through the entire design process of an infographic for a particular scenario using Piktochart. In this session, participants will:
|
Data Storytelling: Introduction to Network Visualization with Kumu (1.5hrs)This hands-on session provides an overview of network visualization and how it can be used. Attendees will compare various software and data types, become familiar with navigating the Kumu interface and procedures for adding and symbolizing data. Discussion will be centered on visualizing textual researcher data. By the end of this workshop participants will:
|