LibGuides: Chemistry: Articles/Databases

Document Delivery

Do you need an article or book that is not available at the University of Manitoba Libraries?

You can place a document delivery request and the Libraries will obtain it from another library for you. This is a free service for students and faculty at the U of M.

For more information see the Libraries' Access Materials website (under Request from another institution).

Searching for journal articles? Start here

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window SciFinder is the most comprehensive resource for locating chemistry journal articles. It can also be used to locate chemical patents and conference papers.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science™ Core Collection is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Coverage dates back to 1900, and content is updated weekly. Components include:Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Book Citation Index-Science (2005-present)Book Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Sciences & Humanities (1990-present)Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)Index Chemicus (1993-present)Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present) Web of Science Search Help
Scopus This link opens in a new window Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari. Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.Scopus Search Help
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.PubMed Search Help
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.

Journal Collections

American Chemical Society Publications: Journals & Magazines This link opens in a new window Please Note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage for more information. Journals in this aggregation are made available through the Canadian Research Knowledge Network (CRKN), previously Canadian National Site Licensing Project (CNSLP). Full text of ACS journals can be searched by title or author, or by selecting a journal from the list to find a specific reference.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Ejournals This link opens in a new window Please Note: For open access publishing consideration: UML may have an institutional discount with this publisher for article processing charges (APCs). Consult the following library webpage for more information. An online database of journals from the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Find a specific article

Option 1: Enter the article title into the Libraries' One Stop Search box. If you do not find the article or do not have an article title go to option 2.

Option 2: Go to the Advanced Search page. Click on the Search Citation option on the top right corner of the screen. Enter the journal name and preferably the volume, issue and page number to link to a specific article.

MSDS Information

CCINFO CHEMINFO, MSDS This link opens in a new window Please Note: This resource is no longer provided by EHSO. Access still available only for free content. CCINFO is an occupational health and safety resource. CCINFO includes several databases which contain factual data about various chemical substances. The OSH References collection covers journal articles dealing with occupational health and safety issues.
See ChemWatch database for SDSs.

Physical Property Databases

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window Please Note: Users are advised to clear their browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource. CHEMnetBASE contains the electronic versions of several core chemistry handbooks which contain physical property data.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window SpringerMaterials is the world's largest resource for physical & chemical data in Materials Science. It includes more than 250,000 substances & material systems, 3,000 properties and 1,200,000 literature citations.

Librarian

Maureen Babb

Email Me

Contact:

(431)294-7986

Subjects: Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Chemistry, Genetics, Microbiology, Statistics