LibGuides: Chemistry: Physical Properties

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

Elizabeth Dafoe Library
(204) 290-4266 (mobile)

Subjects: Biosystems Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Tutorials

How to Find Physical Property Data This tutorial provides a basic overview of how to find physical property data.
How to Search for Chemical Substances This tutorial provides a basic overview on how to search for chemical substances in databases.

Physical Property Information

The resources listed below contain a wide variety of properties for chemical substances. Properties such as melting points, boiling points, density, solubility are examples of the type of information that can be found in these resources.

CAS Common Chemistry
This database includes close to 500,000 chemical substances of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes. Compounds are selected from the CAS Registry database (included in SciFinder). The database is provided by CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free database that includes chemical data from a variety of open databases, private individuals and chemical supplier catalogues. It includes predicted and experimental values. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Since the data is not reviewed before it is added to the database there is the possibility of errors in the information. Registered users with curation rights can review and remove erroneous data or mark it for master curation. Users can also post comments on a record – a Master curator will then review these comments and try to resolve any issues raised.
Combined Chemical Dictionary
Please Note: Users are advised to clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource, until further notice.

The Combined Chemical Dictionary includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds including analytical reagents, carbohydrates, inorganic and organometallic compounds, natural products, organic compounds and natural products.
The Combined Chemical Dictionary is a part of the CHEMnetBASE service and contains all those records published in:
•Dictionary of Organic Compounds
•Dictionary of Natural Products
•Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
•Dictionary of Drugs
•Dictionary of Analytical Reagents
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Please Note: Users are advised to clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource, until further notice.

This handbook is a classic reference source for chemistry. It includes a wide array of data for chemistry and includes physical property information for inorganic and organic compounds. The data is also critically reviewed.
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Please Note: Users are advised to clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource, until further notice.

This carefully edited database contains physical properties for more than 300,000 organic compounds. This database is included in the Combined Chemical Dictionary as well. You can use this dictionary if you only need to search for information on organic compounds.
Kaye and Laby Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants
The information contained in Kaye and Laby is no longer being updated but you can access an archived version at this link.

Knovel This link opens in a new window
Knovel includes e-books in Chemistry and Chemical Engineering in addition to engineering resources. Knovel has a Property Search option that allows users to search for a variety of materials and substances and limit to a particular physical property.

Merck Index
The Merck Index is an authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. The index also includes information on over 500 named organic reactions.

Merck Index How to Video

NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry Web Book contains property data on a large number of organic compounds and a few common inorganics. This resource is maintained by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Polymers: a Property Database
Please Note: Users are advised to clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource, until further notice.

This database includes physical properties for a very wide range of polymers, both synthetic and natural.
Properties of Organic Compounds
Please Note: Users are advised to clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource, until further notice.

Properties of Organic Compounds contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.
PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database that focuses on providing biological activity information of chemical substances. Data is collected from various authoritative sources and then compiled into the Compound database. PubChem also includes laboratory chemical safety data.
WebElements Periodic Table
Includes different properties for elements in the periodic table.

Saftey Data Sheets

ChemWatch (Safety Data Sheet database) This link opens in a new window
SDSs provide important information including the handling, storage, and first aid measures associated with a particular chemical. ChemWatch is an online database used at the UM to access SDSs in our inventory. If you cannot find your chemical of interest in ChemWatch, contact the Environmental Health and Safety Office (EHSO) at EHSO@umanitoba.ca for assistance. For more information about Hazardous Materials, Chemical Safety, and Student Safety, see the EHSO webpage: https://umanitoba.ca/environmental-health-and-safety/hazardous-materials/chemical-safety

MSDS Sites

Spectra Information - Online Sources

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is a comprehensive index to chemical literature. It searches for journal articles and chemical patents. Chemical property information, chemical structures, chemical reaction searching and chemical suppliers are also available. To locate spectra, do a substance search and then click on the substance record. Look for Experimental Spectra. SciFinder-n is available to current students, faculty, and staff at the University of Manitoba.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
The NIST Chemistry Web Book contains property data on a large number of organic compounds and a few common inorganics. This resource is maintained by the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Includes IR, Mass, UV/Vis, Vibrational and Electronic spectra.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
SDBS is a free site organized by National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan. Includes EI-MS, NMR, FT-IR, Raman and ESR spectra.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free database that includes chemical data from a variety of open databases, private individuals and chemical supplier catalogues. It includes predicted and experimental values. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Since the data is not reviewed before it is added to the database there is the possibility of errors in the information. Registered users with curation rights can review and remove erroneous data or mark it for master curation. Users can also post comments on a record – a Master curator will then review these comments and try to resolve any issues raised.
Properties of Organic Compounds
Properties of Organic Compounds contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures.
Includes mass spectral peaks and intensities and peak values for NMR, IR, Raman and UV/Vis.
Sigma-Aldrich
Provides access to many NMR, IR & Raman spectra.
SpectraBase
A free online spectral repository from John Wiley & Sons. Includes organic compounds, inorganic compounds, polymers and more. Includes spectra for NMR, IR, Raman, UV-Vis), MS. Full spectra can be viewed by creating a free account.
PubChem
PubChem includes mostly small molecular but some larger molecules like nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides and chemically-modified macromolecules are also listed. There are more than 300,000 chemicals that have spectral information. Spectral information comes primarily from the NIST/EPA/NIH Mass Spectral Library, the Hazardous Substances Data Bank, the Human Metabolome Database and SpectraBase.
NMRShiftDB
NMRShiftDB is an open-source, open-access application. Search for NMR spectra, structures and properties of organic compounds. Also allows users to search for spectrum prediction and submission of NMR shift datasets for peer review.

Spectra Information - Print Sources

Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra
QD 96 N8 P68 1983 (5th Floor)
Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra
QD 96 I5 P67 1981 (5th Floor)
Aldrich Library of ¹³C and ¹H FT NMR spectra
QD 462.85 A44 1993 (5th Floor)
Sadtler Standard Spectra Collection
(Proton NMR) 539 .N964 Num/Mol.Wt. Index (3rd Floor)
Sadtler Handbook of Infrared Spectra
QC 453 S73 1978 (5th Floor)
Also available as an E-Book
Atlas of Spectral Data and Physical Constants for Organic Compounds
QD 257.7 G7 1975 (5th Floor)
Encyclopedia of Spectrometry and Spectroscopy
E-Book

Indexes to Physical Property Sources

Several specialized handbooks and data compilations exist in addition to the well-known handbooks like the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Below are some resources that can help you find out which handbooks might have the data that you need. Some of the books listed may not be available at the University of Manitoba Libraries.

ThermoDex - ThermoDex was created by the Maillet Chemistry Library of the University of Texas at Austin. It contains records for printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances.

Vanderbilt University Libraries Physical and Chemical Properties - This site indicates books and handbooks that contain specific physical and chemical properties. Not all of the resources will be available at the University of Manitoba Libraries. Search for the name of the resource using the Libraries' search to locate it at the University of Manitoba.

Simon Fraser University's Physical & Chemical Properties Finder - This site indicates books and handbooks that contain specific physical and chemical properties. Not all of the resources will be available at the University of Manitoba Libraries. Search for the name of the resource using the Libraries' search to locate it at the University of Manitoba.