The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of His Research Paper Collection at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Deborah Prokopchuk
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1991)
Table of Contents
Scope and Contents of the Papers
Detailed Description of the Collection
Ed Rea, professor of history at the University of Manitoba, received his B.A. and M.A. at the University of Manitoba and his Ph.D. at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, where he was born and raised. Rea is the author of The Winnipeg General Strike (1973), Parties and Power: An Analysis of Winnipeg City Council 1919-1975 (1976), and other books and has published a large number of professional articles, particularly on western Canadian history and national politics.
Scope and Contents of the Papers
This collection contains 203 unpublished student research papers submitted to Professor Rea by his leading students between 1968 and 1987 on the broad subjects of Manitoba and western Canadian history. Topics include Manitoba and Winnipeg biographies (43), Manitoba provincial and Winnipeg municipal politics (28), labour history (16), ethnic history (15), social history (10), business history (9), Native history (7), agriculture history (7), educational history (7), fur trade history (5), Red River Settlement history (5), women's history (4) and medical history (4).
This collection is organized into 2 series
This collection appears to have been left in order in which it arrived in Archives & Special Collections. Hence, the essays from Box 1 to the first half of Box 7 are arranged alphabetically, by author. I have designated this group of essays as Series 1. The essays in the second half of Box 7 to Box 9 are arranged in no apparent order. Therefore, I have designated them Series 2.
Julianna Trivers, September 2002
There are no restrictions on access to this collection.
Copyright restrictions apply.
Ed Rea Interview Collection (MSS 73)
Donated by Prof. Rea, 1991.
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 |
Ahlgren "History of Royal Winnipeg Ballet--The Early Years--1939", 1973
|
| 2 | Artibise "Alexander Logan--Paragon of Boosterism", [19-?] | |
| 3 | Barber "Class Conflict in Winnipeg Civic Politics", 1970 | |
| 4 | Balan "The Formation of the Ukrainian Canadian Committee, 1938-1940", [19-?] | |
| 5 | Butcher "Rev. Dr. Salem Bland... 1903-1919", 1970 | |
| 6 | Borgfjord "William Ivens and Labor Church, 1918-1927" [19-?] | |
| 7 | Dewalt "Suburban Growth, Urban Decline... of the Central City in Winnipeg... 1945-1980",1981 | |
| 8 | Donaldson "Strike, 1945-1950", 1977 | |
| 9 | Drewniak "Red River Flood of 1950", 1982 | |
| 10 | Gawron "Winnipeg Typographical Union in 1935", 1986 | |
| 11 | Frederick "Statistical Analysis of Selkirk Avenue Business District, 1900-1940", 1973 | |
| 12 | Ginsberg "Split of Jewish Community, 1914-1939", 1976 | |
| 13 | Goeres "Unemploment Relief in Winnipeg, 1921-1932" 1978 | |
| 14 | Gooden "Winnipeg City Politics, 1934-1937", 1973 | |
| 15 | Goldberg "Louis St. George Stubbs: A Judicial Rebel" [19-?] | |
| 16 | Guinn "Donald Smith's Impact on Winnipeg, 1870-1879", 1977 | |
| 17 | Guinn "Donald Smith's Impact on Winnipeg, 1870-1879", 1977 | |
| 2 | 1 |
Guinn "Donald Smith's Impact on Winnipeg, 1870-1879", 1977
|
| 2 | Hosgood "Grain Dealers of Winnipeg, 1874-1914", [19-?] | |
| 3 | Huber "Winnipeg Board of Control, 1907 to 1918", [19-?] | |
| 4 | Huber "Mayorlty Candidates of Winnipeg, 1915 to 1930", 1985 | |
| 4 | Huber "Winnipeg's Age of Plutocracy, 1901-1914", 1971 | |
| 5 | Irvine "Fred Dixon, Winnipeg Labor, 1905-1914", 1978 | |
| 6 | Johnston "Winnipeg Labor and Rise of One Big Union", 1973 | |
| 7 | Jarco "Alexander Logan as Mayor of Winnipeg, 1879-1884", [19-?] | |
| 8 | Jones "Geographical and Occupational Mobility in Winnipeg", [19-?] | |
| 9 | Krentz "Tom Sharpe, Winnipeg's 22nd Mayor, 1904-1906", 1977 | |
| 10 | Lemay "James Ashdown, Mayor of Winnipeg, 1907-1908", [19-?] | |
| 11 | MacFarlane "Women's Suffrage in Manitoba, 1907-1916", 1972 | |
| 12 | Ledohowski & Mark "Armstrong's Point, 1880-1920", [19-?] | |
| 13 | Mathis "Child Welfare in Winnipeg, 1891 to 1916", 1978 | |
| 14 | Morgan "Unemploment Relief/Depression", n.d. | |
| 15 | O'Gorman "Winnipeg Civic Elections of 1919 & 1920", 1970 | |
| 16 | Palmer "Christmas in Winnipeg, 1930-1934", 1970 | |
| 17 | Pettipas "Margaret Scott and the Margaret Scott Mission, 1904-1943", 1970 | |
| 18 | Phillips "Real Wages and the Winnipeg General & Sutcliffe Strike", n.d. | |
| 18 | Phillips "Seymour Farmer: Power Politics", n.d. | |
| 19 | Pitlet "Seymour Farmer, Mayor of Winnipeg, 1923-1924", 1977 | |
| 3 | 1 |
Pirie "Rev. A.E. Smith", 1973
|
| 2 | Pybus "John Queen, Socialist Mayor, 1934-1942", 1977 | |
| 3 | Riley "Elections During Werb's Tenure", 1972 | |
| 4 | Rodrigue "Typhoid Epidemic, Winnipeg-1904-1906", 1970 | |
| 5 | Rostecki "Winnipeg Boom Years, 1880-1885", 1974 | |
| 6 | Sprague "Bi-polar Radicalism in Winnipeg, 1908-1921", n.d. | |
| 7 | Stapleton "William Evans, Mayor of Winnipeg 1909-1911", 1977 | |
| 8 | Swain "Rationalism/Marshall Gauvin", 1973 | |
| 9 | Taylor "Youth Work and Juvenile Justice in Winnipeg, 1885-1914", 1978 | |
| 10 | Tiechko "Ukrainian National Federation, 1928-1945", 1978 | |
| 11 | Abel "Arthur Meighen and Portagae La Prairie", 1979 | |
| 12 | Albi "Manitoba Government Telephones", n.d. | |
| 12 | Albi "Sir Rodmond Roblin", n.d. | |
| 13 | Ackerman "William Ivens", n.d. | |
| 14 | Bourvon "Royal Canadian Rifles", n.d. | |
| 15 | Budnick "Rural Manitoba's Image of the City", 1977 | |
| 16 | Carpenter "Deportation of Immigrants During the Depression", 1973 | |
| 17 | Chipman "Brackman Liquor Commission", 1972 | |
| 18 | Clark "Metis Land Grant in Manitoba", 1986 | |
| 19 | Clarke "Manitoba and the Early Phases of Ayslum System, 1871-1886", 1974 | |
| 20 | Comeault "Archbishop Langevin, Schools & Politics in Manitoba 1895-1915", 1970 | |
| 21 | Cooper "Industrial Workers/One Big Union", 1972 | |
| 21 | Cooper "Red Light District of Winnipeg, 1903-1910", 1970 | |
| 4 | 1 |
Curtin "Trade Union Movement in Manitoba in 1930's, 1974
|
| 2 | Daschuk "Grain Growers and the Failure of the Homebank", n.d. | |
| 3 | DeBeer "Flin Flon Strike, 1934", 1973 | |
| 4 | Denton "Abolition of Bilingual Schools in 4 Manitoba in 1916", 1973 | |
| 5 | Dick "1936 Provincial Election", 1975 | |
| 6 | Dowsett "Vernacular Architecture of 3 Ethnic Groups", n.d. | |
| 7 | Doyle "Duncan McRae Pioneer Stonemason at Red River, 1813-1898", 1977 | |
| 8 | Dyck "Mennonite Isolationism with Special Reference to 1874-1922", 1974 | |
| 9 | Eckert "Political and Economic Struggle for Dominance in the Electrical Industry... 1912",1973 | |
| 10 | Ens "Migration of Red River Metis 1835-1890", 1988 | |
| 10 | Ens "Manitoba Legislation and Alienation of Metis Lands", 1980 | |
| 11 | Hart "Public Health Nursing Service", 1973 | |
| 12 | Gregoire "Portage La Prairie 1881-1883", 1973 | |
| 13 | Grover "1927 Provincial Election", 1970 | |
| 14 | Grover "English Catholic Church/Social Issues in, Winnipeg, 1915-1920", 1975 | |
| 15 | Holenski "Thomas Herman Johnson (1870-1927) - Educator, Lawyer, Legislator", n.d. | |
| 16 | Hryniuk "French Catholic Missionary Work Among the Ukrainians in Manitoba, 1897-1912: Success or Disaster?", 1977 | |
| 17 | Hutchison "Joseph Royal: His Years as a Franco-Manitoban:, 1973 | |
| 18 | Irvine "Fred Dixon, The Winnipeg Labour Movement, and Alternatives to Socialism 1905-1914", 1978 | |
| 19 | Johnson "Care of Insane in Manitoba, 1870-1886", 1973 | |
| 20 | Johnson "Decline of Norris Liberal Government and the 1920 Manitoba Provincial Election", 1975 | |
| 21 | Kidd "Winnipeg and Labour: The Aftermath of the General Strike", 1970 | |
| 22 | Land "A Rural Woman's Manitoba, 1930-1945", 1973 | |
| 5 | 1 |
Lee "The Role of Women in the Red River Settlement: 1811-1830", 1978
|
| 2 | Loewen "Blumenort: A Distinguishable Frontier Community, 1874-1910", 1982 | |
| 3 | Lucas "The United Farmer of Manitoba and the 1922 Provincial Election", 1973 | |
| 4 | Luchak "Minority Reaction to Manitoba Politics 1910-1920: The Ukrainian Canadians",1975 | |
| 5 | Mackenzie "Macdonald, Norquay and Western Demands the Hudson Bay Railway", 1985 | |
| 6 | Mailhot "Union Point Case: 1911", 1979 | |
| 7 | Martynowych "The Ukrainian Socialist and Working-Class Movement in Manitoba, 1900-1918", 1973 | |
| 8 | Maurice "Demographic Influences at York Fort, 1714-16: Cultural Disruption", 1969 | |
| 9 | Maydaniuk "1942 Plebiscite Campaign in Manitoba and its Results", 1973 | |
| 10 | McClung "Portrait of My Mother (Nellie McClung)" by Mark McClung, 1975 | |
| 11 | McCormick "The Dissolution of Coalition: Roblin's Rise to Leadrship, 1949-54", 1970 | |
| 12 | McFarland "Gimli By-Election, 12 May 1913 and Subsequent Events", 1973 | |
| 13 | McKenzie "Boundary Question Manitoba and its Political Implications", 1970 | |
| 14 | McKillop "Sir John Christian Schultz, 1840-1896", 1979 | |
| 15 | Mitchell "South Central Manitoba", 1971 | |
| 16 | Neufeld "San Antonio Gold Mines Ltd. and the Town of Bissett", 1976 | |
| 17 | Nowazek "1922 Provincial Election", n.d. | |
| 6 | 1 |
O'Brian "Robert McDonald: A Biographical Study from 1829-1860", 1972
|
| 2 | Off "Nellie McClung: A Social and Political Interpretation of Manitoba, 1888-1914", 1970 | |
| 3 | Ollinik "Manitoba Provincial Police", n.d. | |
| 4 | Owen "Trade in Red River Settlement, 1835-1868", 1980 | |
| 5 | Owram "Conspiracy and Treason: The Red River Rebellion From an Expansionist Perspective", 1977 | |
| 6 | Owram "George Bryce and the Emergence of the Manitoba School' of History", n.d. | |
| 7 | Pannekoek "Anglican Churches and the Disintegration of Red River Society, 1818-1870",n.d. | |
| 8 | Parson "Fullerton Commission", 1973 | |
| 9 | Payment "Joseph Dubuc et les Developpements Politiques au Manitoba, 1870-1885",1973 | |
| 10 | Pearn "Role of St. Boniface in the Winnipeg General Strike", 1970 | |
| 11 | Peitsch "Manitoba Mennonites and the Differences Between the East-West Reserves",1975 | |
| 12 | Penner "Pro-German and Pro-Nazi Sentiment in Manitoba from 1929 to 1939", 1970 | |
| 13 | Phillips "Easternizing Manitoba/Changing Economy", 1987 | |
| 14 | Pilon "French Element in Red River Colony to 1870", 1972 | |
| 15 | Potyondi "Minnedosa and the Achievement of Metropolitan Status, 1870-1906", n.d. | |
| 16 | Prout "Manitoba Conservative Party 1922-27", 1975 | |
| 17 | Render "Development of Commercial Aviation in Western Canada--Canadian Airways Ltd.", 1982 | |
| 18 | Rider "Joseph Dubuc and Mar-Amable Girard", 1976 | |
| 19 |
Schrofel "Dafoe on the Immigrant Question: 1901-1919", 1972
|
|
| 20 | Soloman "1932 Provincial Election", 1970 | |
| 21 | Spigelman "Bilingual Schools Manitoba and their Abolition, 1916", 1970 | |
| 22 | Stanton "People of Bloodvein River", n.d. | |
| 23 | Stefanson "Coalition of 1932", n.d. | |
| 24 | Thompson "Manitoba Reform Movement, 1910-1915", 1968 | |
| 25 | Thor "Religious Controversy in New Iceland", 1978 | |
| 26 | Treichel "Ku Klux Klan Comes to Manitoba", 1974 | |
| 27 | Treichel "KKK in Manitoba?", 1972 | |
| 7 | 1 |
71Turnbull "Development of Provincial Social Welfare Policy in Manitoba, 1916-1970", 1975
|
| 2 | Underhill "What then is the Manitoban this New Man?", 1970 | |
| 3 | Venier "Development of German Population... Emphasis on the 1930's", 1972 | |
| 4 | Welch "Mrs. Campbell and the I.O.D.E., 1912-1922", n.d. | |
| 5 | Wiebe "Development of Winnipeg Parks System, 1892-1945", 1974 | |
| 6 | Wilkins "Social Thought/N. McClung and Emily Ferguson Murphy", 1977 | |
| 7 | Wilmot "Alexander Morris and the Creation of the Office of Premier", 1978 | |
| 8 | Wiseman "Manitoba C.C.F. 1943-59", 1979 | |
| 9 | Wieler "Mayor Richard Deans Waugh of Winnipeg", 1977 | |
| 10 | Wolfe "Mayor Charles F. Gray", 1977 |
| Box | Folder | |
| 7 | 11 |
Trivett "Strike at Griffin Steel", 1982
|
| 12 | Treble "F.E. Cornish, 1874", 1977 | |
| 13 | Tinsley "Political Life and times of John Queen", 1972 | |
| 14 | Ahlgren "1935 Federal Election on the Prairie", 1974 | |
| 15 | Bercuson "Recent Developments in Prairie Historiography", n.d. | |
| 16 | Breen "Calgary Post World War II/ Petroleum Industry", n.d. | |
| 17 | Brennan "Wooing the Foreign Vote Saskatchewan 17 Politics... 1905-1919", 1978 | |
| 18 | Cameron "Financial Institutions and the West", 1973 | |
| 19 | Campeau "White Man's Burden 1870-1900", 1982 | |
| 20 | Cherwinski "Organized Labor in Agriculture/The Saskatchewan Experience, 1905-1970",1978 | |
| 21 | Child "C.C.F. in British Columbia, 1932-1938", 1974 | |
| 22 | Courville "Conservatism of the Saskatchewan Progressives", 1974 | |
| 23 | Epp "World War II/Western Canada Mennonite Relief Committee | |
| 24 | Flanagan "From Indian Title to Aboriginal Rights", 1984 | |
| 25 | Phillips "Political Economy of Vernon C. Fowke", n.d. | |
| 26 | Province/Saskatchewan "Crow's Nest Pass Agreement and Grain Rates/Transportation Policy", 1960 | |
| 27 | Friesen "Political Transition in Manitoba 1870-79", n.d. | |
| 27 | "Socialist Party and Western Canadian Labor", n.d. | |
| 28 | Goossen "Church Missionary Society... Its Debt to the HBC, 1821-1870", 1974 | |
| 8 | 1 |
Honsa "5 Ethnic Groups in Prairie Provinces", 1974
|
| 2 | Jaenen "Ruthenian Schools in Western Canada, 1897-1919", n.d. | |
| 3 | Kerr "Wholesale Trade on Canadian Plains in the Late 19th Century", 1975 | |
| 4 | Knatla "Marriage, Customs, Laws and Litigation, 1800-1870", 1978 | |
| 5 | Lingard "Western Farm Journals and the World, 1918-1930", 1977 | |
| 6 | Makohonuk "Class Conflict in the Saskatchewan Coal Fields, The 1932 Strikes", n.d. | |
| 7 | Martynowych "Ukrainian Catholic Clericalism 1900-32", 1974 | |
| 8 | McCarthy "Religion and Language in the Schools of the N.W.T., 1875-1905", n.d. | |
| 9 | McCombe "Co-operative Commonwealth Federation/ 1945 Election", 1977 | |
| 10 | McNaughton "Violet McNaughton: Forgotten Women/ Canada's Feminists", n.d. | |
| 11 | Morton/Wright "The Bonus Issue 1919-21", n.d. | |
| 12 | W.L. Morton "Bibliography of W.L. Morton's Major Works, 1937-1976" | |
| 13 | Painchand "French Canadian Historiography and Franco-Catholic Settlement in Western Canada, 1870-1915", 1978 | |
| 14 | Palmer "Nativism in Alberta, 1925-1930", 1974 | |
| 15 | Pampallis "Origins of the Worker's Unity League and its Impact on Canadian Labour", 1978 | |
| 16 | Parker "Constitution and Regina Riot", 1978 | |
| 17 | Phillips "National Policy and the Development of the Western Canadian Labour Movement", n.d. | |
| 18 | Phillips "Dependency Theory/Staple Model", n.d. | |
| 19 | Rutley "Radicalism Among B.C. Miners at the Turn of the Century", 1973 | |
| 20 | Sanders "The Queen's Promises", 1984 | |
| 21 | Sloan "Role of Natives in Fur Trade..., 1784-1807", n.d. | |
| 22 | Smith "James Gardiner-Political Leadership in the Agrarian Community" [19-?] | |
| 23 | Thomas "Writing of Canadian History: The West", 1978 | |
| 24 | Thomas/Clarke "Garrison Mentality and the Canadian West", n.d. | |
| 25 | Thompson "Great War and Western Canadian Reform", 1972 | |
| 26 | Titley "Hayter Reed and Indian Administration in the West", 1985 | |
| 9 | 1 |
Turnbull "Provincial Initiatives in Health Insurance in Western Canada, 1920-1940", n.d.
|
| 2 | Ward "Western Historiography", 1978 | |
| 3 | Treichel "Manitoba and Saskatchewan KKK/ Comparison... of the Late 1920's", n.d. | |
| 4 | MacDonnell "Ralph Connor/Myth of Canadian West", n.d. | |
| 5 | Lussier "Government Takeover of Bell Telephone", n.d. | |
| 6 | Abel "Manitoba Government Owned Grain Elevators", 1978 | |
| 7 | Mailhot "Newcombe Report", 1978 | |
| 8 | Nicolas "Seven Sisters Affair", 1978 | |
| 9 | Sono "Claims/Insurrection at Red River, 1869-1870", n.d. | |
| 10 | Epp "Fullerton Charges", 1978 | |
| 11 | D'Aubin "Social Vice in Winnipeg, 1910", n.d. | |
| 12 | Bourdon "Macdonald Will Case", n.d. | |
| 13 | Mathis "Impairement on University of Manitoba Funds", 1978 | |
| 14 | Barber "Liberal/NDP/Conservative Leadership Conventions", 1970 | |
| 15 | Sprague "Government Lawlessness in Administration of Manitoba Land Claims, 1870-1887", n.d. | |
| 16 | Sprague/Frye "MS Materials for Economic and Demographic History of Red River Settlement", n.d. | |
| 17 | Ackerman "William Ivens", n.d. | |
| 18 | Sprague/Wilcock "Becoming Political in Winnipeg", n.d. | |
| 19 | Comeault "Archbishop Langevin/Schools and Politics in Manitoba, 1895-1915", 1970 | |
| 20 | Denton "Abolition of Bilingual Schools in Manitoba in 1916", 1973 | |
| 21 | Morgan "Unemployment Relief in... Winnipeg.... Depression", n.d. | |
| 22 | Chipman "Bracken Liquor Commission", 1972 | |
| 23 | Palmer "Christmas in Winnipeg 1930-34", 1970 | |
| 24 | Tinsley "Political Life of John Queen", 1972 | |
| 25 | Gooden "Winnipeg City Politics, 1934-37", 1973 |