The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
Call Number: Mss 72, Mss 73, Mss 195 (A.89-31, A.04-18)
Title: J. Edgar Rea fonds.
Dates: 1958-1987.
Extent: 1.46 m of textual records.
Biographical sketch: Ed Rea, Professor of History at the University of Manitoba, received a B.A. and an M.A. at the University of Manitoba and his Ph.D. at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, where he was born and raised. Rea was the author of The Winnipeg General Strike (1973), Parties and Power: An Analysis of Winnipeg City Council 1919-1975 (1976), and other books and had published a large number of professional articles, particularly on western Canadian history and national politics. Dr. Rea passed away in 2003.
Custodial history: The fonds was donated to University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections by J.E. Rea in 1989 and by his estate in 2004.
Scope and content: The first component of the fonds, MSS 72 - Research Papers in Manitoba History Collection, contains 203 unpublished student research papers submitted to Professor Rea by his leading students between 1968 and 1987 on the broad subjects of Manitoba and western Canadian history. Topics include Manitoba and Winnipeg biographies, Manitoba provincial and Winnipeg municipal politics, labour history, ethnic history, social history, business history, Native history, agriculture history, educational history, fur trade history, Red River Settlement history, women's history, and medical history.
The second component of the fonds, MSS 73 - Winnipeg Labour History Interview Collection, contains transcriptions of ten oral histories conducted by Brian McKillop and Paul Barker in 1969-1970 with prominent Winnipeg political, labour, and social leaders of the 1920's and 1930's. These include an interview with Stanley Knowles, C.E. Simonite, Michael Harris, Mitch Sago, Tom Green, Fred Tipping, Gloria Queen-Hughes, Chester King, Norman Penner, and Marshall J. Gauvin.
The third component, MSS 195 - Harry Crowe Affair Research Collection, contains research material related to the Harry Crowe Affair (1958/59), and one on the University of Manitoba Land Grant. There are also three student papers in the collection.
Restrictions: Restrictions on students' papers may apply. Copyright restrictions also apply.
Accruals: No further accruals are expected.
Finding aid: Printed finding aids are available in the Archives reading room and on-line finding aids are available at the links below: