Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the M├ętis Nation. More

J. Edgar Rea fonds: Finding Aid (MSS 195 (A.04-18))

J. Edgar Rea Fonds Finding Aid - MSS 195 (A.04-18)

An Inventory of His Papers at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collection

Inventory prepared by Brian Hubner
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(2005)

Finding aid encoded by Vladimira Zvonik (2005)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English. 

Revision History

  • July 26, 2005 - MSS 195 converted from EAD 1.0 to 2002 by v1to02.xsl (sy2003-10-15).


Collection Summary

Repository:
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections,
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 
Creator:
Ed Rea
 
Title:
Ed Rea fonds
 
Dates:
1958-1990
 
Quantity:
0.125 m of textual material (1 box)
 
Identification:
MSS 195
 
Language
English.

Return to Top


Biography of Ed Rea

Ed Rea, professor of history at the University of Manitoba, received his B.A. and M.A. at the University of Manitoba and his Ph.D. at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, where he was born and raised. Rea is the author of The Winnipeg General Strike (1973), Parties and Power: An Analysis of Winnipeg City Council 1919-1975 (1976), and other books and has published a large number of professional articles, particularly on western Canadian history and national politics.

Return to Top


Scope and Contents of the Papers

The third Rea collection MSS 195 contains research material related to the Harry Crowe Affairs (1958/59), and one on the University of Manitoba Land Grant. There are also three student papers in the collection.

Return to Top


Organization of the Papers

This collection is organized into one series

  • File list

Return to Top


Restrictions on Access

Restrictions on student papers may apply.

Return to Top


Custodial History

Donated by estate of Ed Rea, 2004.

Return to Top


Other Finding Aids

MSS 72, MSS 73

Return to Top


Detailed Description of the Collection

File list
 
Box Folder  
1 1 U of M Land Grant
  2
UMFA Minutes,[ 1958-1959 ]
  3 Crowe Case file #1
  4 Crowe Case file #2
  5 Harry Crowe case file #3 (clippings)
  6 Crowe Case Student Papers

 

Return to Top