The University of Manitoba campuses are located on original lands of Anishinaabeg, Cree, Ojibwe-Cree, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the National Homeland of the Red River Métis. More
An Inventory of His Winnipeg Labour History Interview Collection at the University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Inventory prepared by Deborah Prokopchuk
University of Manitoba Archives & Special Collections
Winnipeg, Manitoba
(1991)
Finding aid encoded by Julianna Trivers (September 2002)
Finding aid converted by Justin Fuhr (July 2016)
Finding aid written in English.
Ed Rea, professor of history at the University of Manitoba, received his B.A. and M.A. at the University of Manitoba and his Ph.D. at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, where he was born and raised. Rea is the author of The Winnipeg General Strike (1973), Parties and Power: An Analysis of Winnipeg City Council 1919-1975 (1976), and other books and has published a large number of professional articles, particularly on western Canadian history and national politics.
Scope and Contents of the Papers
MSS 73 contains transcriptions of ten oral histories conducted by Brian McKillop and Paul Barker in 1969-1970 with prominent Winnipeg political, labour, and social leaders of the 1920's and 1930's. These include an interview with Stanley Knowles, C.E. Simonite, Michael Harris, Mitch Sago, Tom Green, Fred Tipping, Gloria Queen-Hughes, Chester King, Norman Penner, and Marshall J. Gauvin.
This collection is organized into 1 series
There are no restrictions on access to this collection.
Copyright restrictions apply.
Ed Rea Research Papers in Manitoba History Collection (MSS 72)
Donated by Professor Ed Rea, 1991.
Detailed Description of the Collection
| Box | Folder | |
| 1 | 1 |
Interview of Stanley Knowles, M.P. by Brian McKillop, 14 June 1969
(16 pages). Topics: Jacob Penner; Lewis St. George Stubbs |
| 2 |
Interview of C.E. Semonite by Paul Barber, January 1970
(33 pages). Winnipeg City Alderman for twenty-seven years, 1929-1956. Topics: Civic Election Committee and Winnipeg Municipal Politics, 1929-1956 |
|
| 3 |
Interview of Michael Harris by Brian McKillop, 24 June 1969
(15 pages). Early ethnic and labour reporter for the Free Press from 1929 to 1960. First Ukrainian Canadian (Hrushka) to join the staff of Free Press. Topics: Jacob Penner; Lewis St. George Stubbs; Winnipeg Unrainian Union/Labour Leaders; Winnipeg Municipal Politics |
|
| 4 |
Interview of Mitch Sago by Brian McKillop, May 1969
(240 pages). Editor of the Ukrainian Canadian. Topics: Jacob Penner; Winnipeg Labour History; 1919 Winnipeg Strike; Ukrainian Immigrants |
|
| 5 |
Interview of Tom Greene by Paul Barber, January 1970
(24 pages). Journalist. Topics: Civic Election Committee; Winnipeg Municipal Politics; 1919 General Strike |
|
| 6 |
Fred Tipping Interview by Paul Barber, January 1970
(20 pages). Topics: Citizens League of Winnipeg; General Strike of 1919 |
|
| 7 |
Interview of Gloria Queen-Hughes by Paul Barber, January 1970
(16 pages). Topics: Civic Election Committee |
|
| 8 |
Interview of Chester King by Brian McKillop,1970
(9 pages). Labour Leader; Machinist. Topics: Jake Penner; Communism in Winnipeg; Labour in Winnipeg |
|
| 9 |
Interview of Norman Penner by Brian McKillop, 6 June 1969
(20 pages). Son of Jacob Penner. Topics: Jacob Penner; Communist Party |
|
| 10 |
Interview of Marshall J. Gauvin by Brian McKillop, 9 October 1969
(28 pages). Topics: Gauvin, Marshall |