LibGuides: Finance: Home

Go To

Click the links below to jump to sections:

Best Bet Databases for Finance

This is a list of selected resources that fall under Finance. For a full list of business-related resources, go to the Resources page. For a full description of the resource, hover over the icon.

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Complete® is a comprehensive business database. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers numerous full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage provides researchers with insight into companies and business trends around the world.
Bank of Canada This link opens in a new window
The Bank publishes a variety of periodicals for general and specialist audiences. Bank of Canada Review- A quarterly publication featuring articles related to the Canadian economy and to central banking, with summary statistical tables. FinancialSystem Review- A detailed review of developments in the financial system and an analysis of policy directions in the financial sector. Published twice a year.

Bloomberg Professional Service Contact the Financial Lab Advisor, Jack (Meng) Jiang (Meng.Jiang@umanitoba.ca) for assistance.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals, including Harvard Business Review, California Management Review, Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Review, Industrial & Labor Relations Review, Journal of Management Studies, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing, and many others.
Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Financial Markets Research Centre (CFMRC) Summary Information Database includes: daily and monthly Toronto Stock Exchange trading information about specific securities; information on price adjustments such as dividends, stock splits, recapitalizations, etc.; information on daily and monthly index levels; as well as selected other financial markets information. The database is divided into two parts: common equities and preferred equities.
Centre for Research in Security Prices - (CRSP) This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP), a financial research center at the Graduate School of Business at The University of Chicago, was established with the commitment to create the finest tools for tracking, measuring, and analyzing data. CRSP maintains the most comprehensive historical data files on the market. The unparalleled accuracy of the data files have made them a staple of academic and commercial research since 1960.

Electronic Municipal Market Access (EMMA) Service of the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board. EMMA provides key information about U.S. municipal securities, free of charge. Portions of EMMA data provided by Standard & Poor’s Securities Evaluations, Inc., CUSIP Service Bureau & American Bankers Association.

Global Economic Monitor This link opens in a new window
Global Economic Monitor is a portal for analysis of current economic trends and for economic and financial indicators. It provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Exchange rates, equity markets, emerging market bond indices, consumer prices, high-tech market indicators, industrial production and merchandise trade are updated daily.
Government Finance Statistics This link opens in a new window
Government Finance Statistics (GFS) database contains detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries. Subannual GFS are available through the online application relating to International Financial Statistics (IFS).
International Debt Statistics This link opens in a new window
Produced by the World Bank, IDS focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing and advanced economies. Includes time series indicators from 1970 - 2016 and pipeline data for scheduled debt service payments on existing commitments to 2024.
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
International Financial Statistics is produced by the International Monetary Fund. It includes country tables, world tables, commodity prices and an "economic concept view." Topics covered include: exchange rates, government finance, interest rates, international transactions, money & banking, national accounts, prices and production. Data can be viewed or exported into a variety of formats.

IIROC: Investment Industry Regulatory Organization of Canada

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Components include:
- USA Company Database
- International Company Database

Penn World Tables
The University of Groningen maintains the Penn World Table (PWT), a widely used data set for international comparisons containing consistent measures of economic aggregates and prices across nations and over time.

PrivCo The Private Company Financial Database This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.
TSX eReview This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 2016 - present

TSX eReview provides coverage of market, trading and corporate events for Toronto Stock Exchange listed companies: (1) Market highlights and statistics; (2) Securities highlights; (3) Stock list changes; (4) Corporate actions; (5) Terms and conditions; (6) Trading information; (7) Index information.
TSX Venture Exchange eReview This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 2016 - present

TSX Venture eReview is a monthly digest of trading activity and corporate information for companies listed on the TSX Venture Exchange (including NEX). Each issue covers market and corporate data, including: (1) Trading data; (2) Market movers; (3) Listings changes; (4) Financings; (5) Index information.

Top Journals in Finance

This is a selective list of key journals available through the UM Libraries. For additional titles, contact the subject librarian.

Resources for Finding Company Financials

Tools and tips to assist in finding a company's financials:

Bloomberg Professional Service
No remote access via the UM Libraries. Contact the Financial Lab Advisor, Jack (Meng) Jiang (Meng.Jiang@umanitoba.ca) for access and assistance.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Components include:
- USA Company Database
- International Company Database
PrivCo The Private Company Financial Database This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is a source for business and financial research on major privately-held companies as well as private M&A deals and funding rounds. Content includes private firm valuations, venture capital funding, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and company research.

Resources for Finding Beta and Financial Ratios

Tools and tips to assist in finding beta values and ratios:

Bloomberg Professional Service
No remote access via the UM Libraries. Contact the Financial Lab Advisor, Jack (Meng) Jiang (Meng.Jiang@umanitoba.ca) for access and assistance.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Mergent Online provides data for U.S. and international public companies, both active and inactive. Features allow you to compare companies and export data. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies. Company coverage includes: history; mergers, acquisitions, disposals; joint ventures; business; property; subsidiaries; officers and directors; news reports; long-term debt; bond ratings; capital stock and more.

Components include:
- USA Company Database
- International Company Database

Company Rankings

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Fortune 500 company rankings are accessible by typing "Fortune 500" in search box and selecting appropriate publication date(s). Global 500 rankings are also available and be accessed using the term "Global 500".

Canada's 50 Best Managed Companies (Deloitte)
Access current list by clicking "Best Managed Winners" and then "Meet Our New Winners".

Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) This link opens in a new window
Financial Post 500 (FP500) company rankings are accessible by typing "FP500" in search box and selecting appropriate publication date(s).

Forbes lists
Lists include: The Global 2000, Canada's Best Employers

Ask a Librarian

Image: White text on blue background with round thought bubbles Text: Ask Us

Business Librarian

Afra Bolefski

Email Me

Contact:

To make an appointment, email or use the Schedule Appointment button.

Subjects: Accounting, Actuarial Studies, Business Administration, Business Analytics, Finance, Marketing, Supply Chain Management