Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the links below to jump to sections:
Following are links to handouts that can assist you with writing academic paper:
Following is a selection of titles available from the business collection:
Academic Writing for International Students of Business and Economics by
The third edition of Academic Writing for International Students of Business and Economics is written to help international students succeed in writing essays, reports and other papers for their English-language academic courses. Thoroughly revised and updated to reflect issues such as diversity and sustainability, this book is designed to let students and teachers easily find the help they need, both in the classroom and for self-study. The book is divided into five parts, comprising a total of 42 units: The Writing Process Elements of Writing Language Issues Vocabulary for Writing Writing Models New topics in this edition include Writing in Groups, Written British and American English and Reflective Writing. In addition, the new interactive website has a full set of teaching notes as well as more challenging exercises, revision material and links to other sources. Additional features of the book include: Models provided for writing tasks such as case studies and literature reviews Use of authentic academic texts from a range of sources Designed for self-study as well as classroom use Useful at both undergraduate and postgraduate level A complete set of answers to the practice exercises Cross-references across all units Providing a glossary to explain technical terms and written to deal with the specific language issues faced by international students of Business and Economics, this practical, user-friendly book is an invaluable guide to academic writing in English.
The AMA Handbook of Business Letters by
Though the fundamentals of letter writing have remained the same, the way we communicate in business is constantly evolving. Whether it's a formal printed letter or an email, the ability to write effective correspondence is essential for success--no matter what the industry. Containing more than 25 percent new material, The AMA Handbook of Business Letters provides readers with over 370 customizable model letters, divided into categories reflecting various aspects of business, including: * Sales, marketing, and public relations * Customer service * Human resources * Credit and collection * Letters to vendors and suppliers * Confirmations, requests, and replies * Permissions * And many more In addition, the book provides readers with a refresher course in the letter-writing basics, and helpful appendices listing common mistakes in grammar, word usage, and punctuation. Comprehensive--and now extensively updated--this invaluable resource provides professionals with an adaptable template for every conceivable business correspondence need.
Business Writing For Everyone by
"Business Writing For Everyone is an inclusive guide to writing in the workplace. The book takes a process-oriented, storytelling approach to composition: focusing less on genre and more on the decisions that effective business communicators make. Business Writing For Everyone also contains interactive H5P activities for students to test their learning, and activities for further reflection that instructors can use in the classroom or assign as homework."
Publication Date: 2020
Business Writing in the Digital Age by
Natalie Canavor presents a step-by-step system that shows what to say and how to say it, along with practical techniques to improve writing skills. The book builds confidence, and provides a solid foundation that applies to traditional media such as letters and proposals, and also to email, blogs, web sites, social media and PowerPoint. Readers develop tools to keep improving on their own, and to handle new communication channels as they emerge.
Call Number: HF 5718.3 C365 2012
Guide to Managerial Communication by
Directed primarily toward undergraduate or graduate business or communications students, this text also provides practical content to current and aspiring industry professionals. A brief, professional, reader-friendly guide to improving managerial communication. Guide to Managerial Communication is a clear, concise, practical text for cultivating effective written and oral communication in a managerial, business, government, or professional context.
Call Number: HF 5718 .M86 2014
How to Create a Successful Business Plan by
How can all the nuts and bolts of a business be analyzed effectively in one comprehensive model and translated into a business plan? At various points in the life of a business, entrepreneurs will need to take stock of their ideas and plans and reformulate them in business and financial terms. How to Create a Successful Business Plan is about dynamic planning for businesses and provides a structured approach to business planning that focuses on the main components of the business model, while addressing key issues often raised by investors and potential business partners. It gives the company order and structure and helps managers optimize team integration and resources. The book provides a framework in which professionals from a broad range of backgrounds can work together on a successful business plan. Readers will find that the business model is discussed in depth, yet in accessible and easily understood terms.
Call Number: HD 30.28 .G347 2016
The McGraw-Hill Handbook of More Business Letters by
Features more than 300 model letters for business situation - from new product announcements, to responding to a complaint, and to writing a sales promotion letter. This title is aimed at businesspeople for advice on and samples of: the many ways to use voice mail, and e-mail; security guidelines for protecting business information; and more.
Write to the Point by
Thanks to e-mail, voice mail, cell phones, pagers, and the ever-expanding Web, we live in an age of information overload. Although all of these wonders were designed to make communication easier and faster, speed and efficiency have come with a price. Clear business writing has never been more difficult or stressful. Writers are expected to respond quickly to an endless flow of e-mail messages. Readers complain about an increasing lack of clarity, along with an abundance of mechanical errors. Supervisors and managers are bewildered by employees' inability to simply say what they mean along with a lack of appropriate tone and sense of decorum in the written communications they produce. This book presents proven techniques developed in Dr. Iacone's seminars that will enable greater ease, proficiency, and clarity in writing. The conversational, instructional format walks you through the actual stages of the writing process -- from planning and writing the first draft to editing and proofreading. This invaluable handbook also includes helpful guidelines to correct punctuation; lists of often-confused words; and step-by-step procedures for generating effective e-mail, memos, letters, and reports. Book jacket.
To find additional titles, run a Subject search in One Stop Search under the following subjects:
- Business Writing
- Business - Report Writing
- Commercial correspondence
- English language - Business English
- Proposal Writing in Business
General Citation Guides - APA, MLA, Chicago Style
Following are citation guides to assist you in citing sources for your paper:
Need help with citing your paper?
The Writing Tutors from the Academic Learning Centre can also help you to write your references and use the correct citation style for your assignments.
Citing in Business
Following are selected links to assist you with citing specific business resources (eg. Mergent Online):
More Citation Management Tools
Additional Citation Management Tools
Citation management software, also known as reference management software, makes it easy to manage and organize your citations and format bibliographies and footnotes in your papers.
Most citation management tools can help you to:
- import citation information from databases and library catalogs
- collect, organize, and annotate citations
- generate bibliographies and format footnotes or endnotes in a variety of styles
All citation managers have the same basic functions but specific features may vary from program to program. This comparison chart of four citation managers can help you to choose the right product for your work.
Here are a few citation managers of note:
Learn how to get started with our tutorials!
Head, Social Sciences Division