Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Click the links below to jump to sections:
Key Data & Statistics databases and websites
This is a list of selected resources that contain data and/or statistics. For a complete list of data and statistics resources, go to the Statistics and Data LibGuide.
Africa Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
ADI Online provides a comprehensive collection of data on Africa available. It provides all those interested in Africa with a focused and convenient set of data monitoring development programs and aid flows in the region.
Balance of Payments Statistics This link opens in a new window
Balance of Payments Statistics summarizes, for a specific period, the economic transactions of an economy with the rest of the world. It reports total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world as well as capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities.
Bank of Canada This link opens in a new window
The Bank publishes a variety of periodicals for general and specialist audiences. Bank of Canada Review- A quarterly publication featuring articles related to the Canadian economy and to central banking, with summary statistical tables. FinancialSystem Review- A detailed review of developments in the financial system and an analysis of policy directions in the financial sector. Published twice a year.
Canadian Census Analyser This link opens in a new window
The Canadian Census Analyser provides access to a variety of commonly requested Canadian Census data and documentation, produced by Statistics Canada. It includes Profile data at several levels of geography, and for several censuses, in some cases going back to 1961. It also provides access to the Census Individuals public use microdata files, and the Postal code conversion file. Users can create subsets and then output the results in a variety of formats.
CANSIM II This link opens in a new window
CANSIM stands for Canadian Socio-economic Information and Management System. It is a database of current and historic time series, produced by Statistics Canada. A CANSIM time series consists of a number of observations for a given concept or variable at regular time intervals. There are millions of time series in this database. CANSIM time series cover a broad spectrum of social and economic aspects of Canadian life, including: agriculture, construction, demography, education, and more.
China Data Online This link opens in a new window
China Data provides comprehensive and updated information on China's economic development at national, provincial, city, county, and industrial levels and includes the following databases:
Monthly Industrial Data
Yearly Industrial Data
Statistics on Map
Current Index to Statistics Database This link opens in a new window
The Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is a bibliographic index of publications in statistics, probability, and related fields. It includes data from approximately 160 core journals, 1,200 additional journals in related fields, and 11,000 books. The bulk of the content in CIS is from 1975-2017.
Direction of Trade Statistics This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1947-1959 (annual), 1960-present (monthly/quarterly)
The Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS) presents, for most member countries of the International Monetary Fund, current figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports disaggregated according to their most important trading partners. Area and world aggregates showing trade flows between major areas of the world are presented as well.
EIU - Economist Intelligence Unit Industry Briefing This link opens in a new window
Please Note: You will be prompted to read and accept the Terms & Conditions before accessing this resource.
Industry Briefing provides five-year forecasts and news analysis for six key industries, from telecommunications to consumer goods, along with relevant background information. Industry Briefing covers up to 69 economies that account for more than 95% of world output and trade. The forecasts are based on the latest data and in-depth analysis of sectoral trends.
Government Finance Statistics This link opens in a new window
Government Finance Statistics (GFS) database contains detailed annual statistical data on revenue, expense, transactions in assets and liabilities, and stocks of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors as reported by member countries. Subannual GFS are available through the online application relating to International Financial Statistics (IFS).
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Users must create their own MyData account in order to access this database.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. Their data archive contains hundreds of thousands of files of research in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
International Financial Statistics is produced by the International Monetary Fund. It includes country tables, world tables, commodity prices and an "economic concept view." Topics covered include: exchange rates, government finance, interest rates, international transactions, money & banking, national accounts, prices and production. Data can be viewed or exported into a variety of formats.
ODESI This link opens in a new window Please Note:
Best viewed with Chrome or Firefox.
If you require PUMFs, please contact the Data Librarian Cody Fullerton
ODESI is a web-based data exploration, extraction, and analysis tool. Users can search for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets held in a growing number of collections, then tabulate and analyze results online.
Passport This link opens in a new window Access limited to:
UM Students, Faculty and Staff
For improved performance, clear browser history (cache, cookies) before accessing this resource.
Passport GMID is a global market information database and analysis tool containing data and reports across all industries, countries and consumers. The University of Manitoba's subscription includes:
- Articles from country and consumer analysts
- Consumer lifestyles reports
- Country and consumer statistics
- Country profiles
- Country briefings
- Dashboards (visualization enhancements that reflect the data contained in the database)
- Future demographic reports
- Passport Industrial (Canada only)
Penn World Tables
The University of Groningen maintains the Penn World Table (PWT), a widely used data set for international comparisons containing consistent measures of economic aggregates and prices across nations and over time.
SDA@CHASS (Survey Documentation and Analysis) This link opens in a new window
UT/DLS: Microdata Analysis and Subsetting provides interactive access to selected microdata files via Berkeley's software SDA (Survey Documentation and Analysis), maintained by Computing in the Humanities and Social Sciences (CHASS) at the University of Toronto.
-among and within datafile variable-level searching
-analyses: cross-tabulations, comparison of means, correlations, multiple and logistic regression, with all standard measures of significance, direction etc.
-recoding and computing of new variables, including sharing recoded variables with others
-graphic display: bar, pie, line charts
-downloading fixed-field or csv format, subsets or entire datafile, and SAS, SPSS and/or Stata syntax, as well as DDI compliant XML
-Multi-lingual interface and content support
Statista (Trial: November 7 2022 - May 7 2023) This link opens in a new window
Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Charts can be downloaded in PNG, PowerPoint, Excel or PDF formats or embedded in web pages and can be great in papers or presentations.
Statistics Canada – The DLI Collection This link opens in a new window Please Note: The Nesstar database is no longer available. If you require PUMFs, please contact the Data Librarian Cody Fullerton
Survey data can be accessed at Odesi
The Data Liberation Initiative Collection is composed of data produced by Statistics Canada, including microdata files, cd-rom products, spreadsheets and databases. It also includes a link to the DLI Beyond 20/20 Web Data Server, a web based multidimensional table viewer providing access to a variety of aggregate data, including both time series and Census data. Data can be manipulated, subset, and saved into a variety of other formats.
Trade Analyser This link opens in a new window
Trade Analyser provides access to time-series data on imports and exports in the Canadian International Merchandise Trade (CIMT) and World trade databases produced by Statistics Canada, International Trade Division. CIMT coverage is from 1988 - present. World trade coverage is from 1980 - 2005.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
A portal to major United Nations databases and those of several international organizations. Includes statistics compiled by the United Nations statistical system and other international agencies, as well as estimates and projections. Databases cover Agriculture, Education, Employment, Energy, Industry, etc. Replaces UNstats.
WDI Online (World Development Indicators) This link opens in a new window
World Development Indicators (WDI) is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators compiled from officially recognized international sources. It presents current and accurate global development data and includes national, regional and global estimates. Data can be viewed or exported in a variety of formats.
Additional Data & Statistics links
Head, Social Sciences Division