LibGuides: Human Nutritional Sciences: HOME

Journals and Journal Articles

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Scopus has limited functionality with Safari.

Scopus is a multi-disciplinary abstract and citation database which includes journal articles and patents. Scopus also tracks cited references, allowing users to search for subsequently published papers that cite an original research paper.
Scopus Search Help
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
PubMed Search Help
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is an index of scholarly journal articles on sports, fitness, health, and sports medicine studies. Coverage dates back to 1800.

Search help for SPORTdiscus
Practice-Based Evidence in Nutrition This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous user limit: 5

Developed by the Dietitians of Canada, PEN provides access to current and authoritative guidance on food and nutrition. Content includes practice questions, backgrounds, evidence summaries, practice guidance toolkits, client and professional tools and resources, and client handouts.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
EMBASE is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database that provides access to up-to-date information from international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.
Embase Search Help
Web of Science (all databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a comprehensive multidisciplinary bibliographic database with article references from journals, books, and proceedings from sciences and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences, brought together under a unified search interface.

Components include:
- BIOSIS Citation Index (2010-present)
- BIOSIS Previews (1926-present)
- Current Contents Connect (1998-present)
- Data Citation Index (1900-present)
- Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present)
- KCI-Korean Journal Database (1980-present)
- MEDLINE® (1950-present)
- Preprint Citation Index (1991-present)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index (1637-present)
- SciELO Citation Index (1997-present)
- Web of Science Core Collection (1900-present)
- Zoological Record (1864-present)
Web of Science Search Help
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL® with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 603 journals indexed in CINAHL. This database also provides indexing for more than 3,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health and contains more than 2.9 million records dating back to 1981. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL® with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

CINAHL Search Help
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Please Note: Effective December 31, 2023, UpToDate is ending support for the Internet Explorer (IE) browser. Please use the latest version of Edge, Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.

Please Note: An app is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play - see the Installation Instructions.
App users will be prompted to renew their account every 6 months. See the Renewal Instructions.

UpToDate only supports the latest browser versions (Edge, Chrome, Firefox, Opera, Safari).

UpToDate is a full-text resource supporting clinical decision-making in the field of internal medicine and its subspecialties. It provides options for diagnosis and management, including the efficacy, doses, and interactions of individual drugs, and includes a section for patients. Content is peer-reviewed and updated every four months.

The use of images from UpToDate is permitted in presentations for the purpose of teaching. List UpToDate as the source and use the “Export to PowerPoint” feature to ensure all of the appropriate copyright information is included with the slide. Explicit permission is required to use images for the purpose of publication or in any commercial endeavor.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a quarterly updated electronic database containing systematic reviews and other information that will assist in making diagnostic, treatment and other health care decisions. It is the most comprehensive source of references for those with an interest in evidence-based health care. The Cochrane Library consists of four main databases.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Click here to learn how to connect Google Scholar with UM Library resources

Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature such as journal articles, theses, and reports from a subset of publishers, universities, and societies. Google Scholar does not permit unrestricted access to licensed, copyrighted material. You can find citations, but you can't necessarily read the articles.

Books and Policy Discussions

Google Books This link opens in a new window
Google Books is a huge repository of books and magazines. In many cases, access is restricted to certain percentage of the contents, but many older works are fully readable on the screen.

Dietitians of Canada
Food Matters Manitoba
Food Matters Manitoba, a registered charity organization, attempts to engage Manitobans toward healthy, fair, sustainable food for all. It keeps track on establishing a Winnipeg Food Policy Council.
Canadian Nutrition Society
Canadian Nutrition Society/la Société canadienne de nutrition (CNS/SCN) is the leading society integrating disciplines and professions interested in nutrition. We promote nutrition science and education, and advocate for the application of best practice and policies for the promotion of health and the prevention and treatment of disease.
OECD - Food Security and Nutrition
World Health Organization - Nutrition
UN Committee on World Food Security

Human Nutritional Sciences

Contact Information

Capture This for Your Smart Phone

Journals and Journal Articles

Books and Policy Discussions